We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but convenient, clean and comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Terado Terrace to your Saves list
El Terado Terrace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet but convenient, clean and comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very happy with our room. The bed was a little squishy but still very comfortable, and we slept very well. The room was very clean, and we loved the kitchen. The hill between the hotel and the main streets of Avalon was a little daunting, but it was great exercise. The building is older so the walls are thin. So, if you have noisy neighbors, its a little annoying. But it didn't last long. The staff was really friendly and very helpful. Overall, we will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Catalina Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    88
    34
    15
    13
See reviews for
102
141
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed in the townhouse 112 and it was great. 2 stories with a full kitchen - downstairs in the living room was a queen sized bed and bathroom - upstairs was 2 bedrooms with 1 queen bed in each and another bathroom. It was clean but showed some signs of aging. For the other prices around Catalina though, this place was great. We would stay here again.

The trek up the hill is a good workout, it really is not that bad.

The staff was all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We checke into the hotel on a sunday at 2. Had called them up to say we might get late. But then nobody attends your phone ( i guess, busy on calls) neither returns the calls (sad). we reached the room n were getting comfortable n had a knock at the room sayin they need to clean up d roo,m.. which I feel could have been done earlier. They r a little stingy with providing toiletteries n coffee pouches, you need to ask if you need extra. Our room was small but cozy n quiet, which was good..... i like the way they have provided the patio furniture. The walk to the hotel is a little steepy, but is less strenous when you take the road from the back door. All in all is worth the money.

Room Tip: I booked 118, which is on the first floor. The room is connected with the adjacent room 119 and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My visit brought me to the island so that I could enjoy riding my mountain bike at the Catalina Gran Fondo, which traversed 55 miles of the island. Yes, buffalo's roam the island as I came across a couple herds, yet if I had to do it again....take the tour. The bus tour also provides views on the other side of the island of stunning beaches and landscape that few see during their visit to Avalon.
El Torado Terrace is situated on the last street off main street, prior to the Casino. Simply take a left and approximately 100 yards up a steep incline you are greeted by one of the nicest hotel staffs I've encountered. I traveled with friends from Canada and they had more questions than I could have imagined and the manager had an answer for everything. Rooms are clean with full refrigerator, stove and microwave. Beds are dated - as is the decor, yet the pricing was in line with the accommodations. Access to restaurants and shops was an easy walk back down the street - yet you can minimize food/water expenses by shopping at either Vonn's express or the larger Vonn's, both of which are close to the hotel. Only downside was the cab ride from the hotel to the ferry dock that cost me $12 for a 5 minute ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

El Terado Terrace is a delightful hotel off the beaten track, yet a quick walk downhill to all the good things in town. It's particularly nice if you are spending time at the Casino ballroom, it's very close. Big nice room, love the kitchenette, well-equipped. Barbecue use on a pretty little patio. The only reason I wouldn't give the place an 'excellent' is that the rooms come with good showers but no tubs. If you are a bath person as I am, that could be challenging. Overall, however, I found it to be clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and very helpful, the patio a very pleasant place to hang out. Ocean View rooms truly do offer an ocean view and have loads of space.

Room Tip: Go for an Ocean View room if you can get it, the light is lovely and you really feel the town of Ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County ca
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed there for my birthday for 2 days April 24 thru April 26, beds very comfortable, nice little kitchen with full fridge, full gas stove, plates etc provided etc. Had the corner unit ocean view, one building below should be demolished, but don't look down, just look at the ocean, and yes it was stated on other reviews on a slight uphill, like 45 degrees angle, but nice and quiet. BBQ on patio you can do your steaks etc., IVAN was mentioned on other reviews, yes he's a really nice guy, and very accomodating manager. From the boat terminals shuttle picks you up and the hotel pays., and we checked in before our time as the room was ready 2 hours before., yes my husband and I would stay there again, nice Ivan., yes went on Catalina Express free they are doing an anniversary with Avalon, got some discounts etc for my day.

Room Tip: corner room was nice next to patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed in several hotels in Avalon, and this was by far the best experience. Rooms are large, comfortable, and clean. Great location and view, and the staff was friendly. For the price, you can't get better on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#15 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#10 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Terado Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.