We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long walk but good view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Terado Terrace

Save Saved
You added El Terado Terrace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Avalon
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Long walk but good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place was rather far from the beach/pier than we expected. And it was on top of a hill practically, so I had to take off my heels and walk barefoot because the incline. BUT the room was EXCELLENT! IT had a fully loaded kitchen with pans, utensils, big fridge, glasses, and granite counter tops! They really made it seem like we were in our own little studio apartment on Catalina Island. We found this place through yelp and so glad we decided to stay in our own little studio with a full kitchen AND dining room. The office staff was pretty friendly as well. And the maids made our beds and maintained our rooms pretty well. The only thing I didn't like was that the restroom didn't have ventilation, so there was a lot of steam and extra smells lingered for quite a while. So to solve this, I turned on the kitchen stove fan and it was okay.

Our view of the ocean was pretty good, if we opened the door and blinds. It was kind of far and up on a hill so we were limited of the FULL ocean view. But that was okay because just a few minutes walk down the (rather steep) hill, brought us to the main street.

They even had a nice BBQ and patio set right in front of our room and we got to BBQ our fresh catch of the day! It was lovely. You could even see the farthest stars above from where our room was.

I will definitely consider coming here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an extra pair of COMFY shoes to walk up and down that hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    59
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
84
104
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We've been to catalina a few times before, but never stayed at El Terado Terrace until this time. The hotel is located one block from the beach which was perfect for us because we wanted to relax and be away from all the noise in the main street.
Ivan, the manager gave us a free room upgrade upon check in to a mini suite with a kitchen. The upgrade saved us money because we went to the grocery store and stocked up our kitchen and didn't have to go out for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We felt right at home.
We were there for 4 nights, and every morning we woke up to a beautiful sunrise. Ivan and The staff at the el Terado were very friendly and they always went out of their way to assist us in any way. This will now be our home away from home every time we visit Catalina Island.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I chose El Terado Terrace because I read on Trip Advisor the hotel was "clean" which is a MUST for me. Our room was spotless. The kitchen was well equiped and the staff very friendly. We were sad that our weekend trip ended, we will definately stay at this hotel again; hopefully soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice place, had a kitchenette and everything was clean. Room and bathroom were clean and neat. Ten minute walk from town, and 20 minute walk from the catalina express docks. Went and purchased some grocery's from a Vons express and made our own lunch in our room. Our room faced the ocean, about 300 yrds away but still visible, could hear the seals barking.

Room Tip: Pick the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The El Terado Terrace for the money is the best hotel bar none on Catalina Island. Beyond the title of my review, I'd have to add quiet as this is paramount to a relaxing vacation get-away and that's what El Terado delivered. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Not enough experience to give advice on which room to choose, but ours was awesome as it included a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the El Terado Terrace and had a delightful time. The rooms were clean and management was so friendly. Loved the full kitchen. And the view was gorgeous. The walk up the hill was a surprise, but perfectly do-able. Walking down in heels was not so do-able, so we spent the $8 to take a cab down, but up was no problem. (Heels, in hindsight, probably could have stayed home, anyway!) I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great Hotel for the casual traveller. I was here for business, but the costs of the waterfront Hotels are exorbitant. This Hotel a 3 minute walk to the water is a real gem, low prices, a nice owner Ivan and the personal touches you do not get from the larger Hotels. I would stay here for vacation or business anytime. With it being the off season on Catalina Island, it was great. Thanks Ivan. bbq on the patio or just sit back relax and watch the stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Otel so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Terado Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.