We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mariquita Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Mariquita Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Mariquita Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised with our hotel! We booked a package through the hotel that included our boat ride to the island. We found it was a great deal, split between the 3 of us. We stayed on the second floor in room 8. Our room was very clean, comfortable. Big enough for us 3 to get dressed up for the night! The staff allowed us to store our baggage in their secure storage area until our room was ready at 3. There was also 2 outdoor patios that we saw, one with a nice view.

We rented bikes as our mode of transportation, and found the distance to beach not bad at all. The only thing is it is up a small hill.

We would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    57
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
79
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

My 2 sisters and niece and I were VERY pleasantly surprised with the rooms and the layout of the Hotel Mariquita, plus it is just a short walk from the hotel to downtown and the beaches. However, we were more than a little unhappy when we woke up around 2 AM, being feasted on by bedbugs. Because the hotel has no system in place to address issues like this during the middle of the night, we spent a pretty miserable night, sitting up in chairs.
While the staff did find us a new room the next day (away from the rest of our party, however), there was no offer of restitution. (We should've asked - but didn't think about it until later.) The staff didn't seem to have much authority one way or the other -- an area on which the hotel could improve.
Still, minus the bedbugs - which may be unavoidable to some degree on the island - we had a great time at the hotel, and would recommend it.
Most rooms do not have views, but there are nice patios overlooking the harbor.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCatalinaIsland, Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2009
Due to the transient nature of the Hotel Business, we are continually on guard against pest invasion of all kinds. Unfortunately, we were exposed to a small infestation, which was contained and immediately professionally treated. We are now completely free from infestation, and have taken new preventative measures to ensure that we are protected from a recurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We went to Avalon knowing that all the accommodations were going to be overpriced. That is what you get for staying in a small town on an island where most people just stay for the day. This place is no different. Unlike most places in Avalon, Casa Marquita did not require a 2 night minimum, which is a plus. The hotel has some charm and has a chill patio on the roof. However the rooms are small for the price you pay. We had an ocean view room, but it wasn't much of an ocean view since we were facing the mountains. The location isn't bad, it's on top of a hill and is not much of a walk from the promenade. With all that said, this is a good crash pad if you are not looking for luxury and don't plan on spending too much time in your room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

They stay was nice, view just ok. Dont' bring other people because the only bathroom is located in the bedroom.
I wouldn't stay in unit 2 unless they have changed the numbers around becuause of a brutal bloody murder of a women in that room. It would freak me out. I watched it on dateline and you can google it. To spooky for me.
Needless to say I was in Las Vegas another time the same night another guy brutally stabbed his girlfriend at Treasure Island then through himself off Hoover Dam after he called the police...both were blood baths. Thank God I was at the Venetian.
I'm sure it happens alot and I guess what we don't know does't hurt us....unless we hear or see ghosts!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We booked this hotel because it was advertised as the newest hotel on the island and it offered several rooms with "full ocean view". We booked the only room with "full ocean view" that had a queen size bed. The hotel is a very long block uphill away from the shops and ocean, we had to walk up four flights of very windy steps to get to our room. The room is clean but very small, just a few feet on each side of the bed small...the "full ocean view" was a large window that faced the mountains, now the view was nice but to see ANY ocean you had to turn your head, with your right cheek very near the window, to face the ocean...this is not a "full ocean view" this is a mountain view...you shouldn't have to go outside your room onto the walkway to see the ocean for the premium we paid for the "full ocean view".

The staff was not very interested in helping or friendly. I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel, and I will not stay here again.

  • Liked — room was clean, small refrigerator in closet
  • Disliked — misleading advertising/small room/unfriendly staff/
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

This is a nice little hotel. Do not expect a lot of luxury but the people at the front desk were very helpful and knowledgeable. I would stay here again. The room is was very basic and just like everything in Catalina in July and August it is overpriced but that is the nature of the business. The tourist season. Room prices drop in September and the weather is still nice so I will probably go back at that time of year to avoid the crowds and high prices.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — prices
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We had the great pleasure of going to Catalina for our friend’s birthday outing a couple weeks ago. My only fear was not finding a decent place to stay because we only had two weeks in which to book. Summers are usually booked up in Avalon so we were really surprised to find any availability. One problem we ran into with most of the available hotels in Avalon was that they wanted a minimum of two nights. There were some places we considered for just one night, but it would have been Friday and we wanted Saturday to be that one night.

Casa Mariquita was one of the places with the two night minimum but we didn’t mind too much and focused on our upcoming mini-vacation honoring our friend. She was the one who actually chose Mariquita over the Glenmore Plaza and we were quite pleased. I had read some reviews about noise possibly being a problem at the places right on the main street in Avalon so I was looking forward to being off the main drag. The MacRae was the other property that had availability with so little time to book. (Note - call the chamber of commerce for island availability if you're in a jam)

The booking process was smooth; the receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

When we arrived on the island by ferry from San Pedro (not too far from our home), we had quite a few bags (my diving gear, a cooler with the birthday girl’s cake and our luggage full of clothes) so we opted to grab a taxi with friends (who were staying at the Hotel Mac Rae). If you’re up for a walk, you could definitely have a nice stroll through town from the ferry to the hotel but you don’t want to be lugging the amount of luggage we had. It would be easy with one, relatively small rolling bag and take you…oh, about 10-15 minutes without stopping (but I’m sure you’d stop along the way at any of the great shops on the main drag). The cab for the four of us (with a stop at Mac Rae) cost us $13 ($20 with tip). The hotel is about two and a half longish blocks up from the main street, close enough to get to and from in a jiffy, and far enough to avoid some of the bar/club noise.

Once we checked in to the hotel, a very nice & friendly Asian lady helped us to our room. We loaded up the hotel’s golfcart and she took our bags and my wife up to the room. Very handy because there are a few stairs (we never minded the stairs during our stay). We booked a queen room with a view at the other end of the property. The view was quite nice and the room was very decent. Compact, clean, certainly adequate and comfortable. The Ritz it’s not, but I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. The bathroom was very nice, clean and had a very nice, rather new sink & vanity. We had a small table, two chairs, a closet with a minifridge, ironing board & iron and extra blankets. The air conditioning was awesome. Powerful when we needed it and with it on, we couldn’t hear a thing outside. Our room backed on to a back alley but we never heard any noise back there, which was a good thing because I’m a very light sleeper and appreciate my serenity. The only noise we heard all weekend really was a few couples chatting it up in the patio below us at 8am on Sunday morning. Perhaps they could have chosen a better time to discuss life’s challenges but that’s certainly not the hotel’s fault.

The patio, in fact, was very nice and we enjoyed sitting out there celebrating our friend’s birthday earlier in the evening on Saturday. There are two very nice patios to choose from; and you can see the harbor from them as well.

This was our first time actually staying overnight on the island and we are so happy we had the opportunity to do so. We forget how close the island is and that we can take a vacation like this after a quick little hour and fifteen minute boat ride. Avalon is a great, sleepy little vacation village. It reminds us both of a European coastal village; we just love it.

We spent Friday and Saturday nights celebrating with our friends. We ate at Steve’s Steakhouse on Friday and it was quite good; we’d definitely go again. We opted to eat at Antonio’s on the water instead of the Landing on Saturday night, due to group consensus. Pizza was very good; so was the pasta. And the outdoor patio right on the harbor can’t be beat.

We spent the entire day on Saturday at the Descanso Beach Club and it was AWESOME. Great group of people out on the packed beach but we still found a spot for us and the 6 chairs we rented (and we arrived at 11am). We laid out, went swimming and swore we’d come back Sunday to rent kayaks (but didn’t get a chance). Descanso is great; you can sit and watch the ocean and talk to your friends all day long and the waitstaff are there to get you anything you’d like to drink or eat (including alcoholic beverages…on the beach….just like Europe).

A few things to note: our friends went to Coyote Joe’s without us on Saturday but I had known after reading reviews to avoid that place like the plague. Our friends HATED Coyote Joe’s. We took a couple of them to Mi Casita which was great and our friends said you couldn’t even compare the two. Karaoke at El Galleon is fun and it’s a neat, friendly bar. If you have a lot of bags like we did…definitely opt for the baggage service. Thanks to Casa Mariquita, we were able to leave our bags in the lobby and head into town before our 12:35pm ferry home. For $3/bag, I can’t imagine a better deal out there.

Overall, there certainly may be nicer joints on the island, but then you’d be paying more for it, that’s for sure. We appreciated that Mariquita was available and that we could get a harbor view and that it was comfortable, quiet and clean with decent furnishings for a pretty low cost compared to other places on the island that were $350 and up (we paid $240/night for this room) and here we had to do two nights. Our friends said that our hotel was certainly nicer than the MacRae but they also liked being right on the main street so they were happy with what they got. I’d definitely stay at the Casa Mariquita again and in fact, hope that we might be able to get away again later in September because we loved Catalina so much!

  • Liked — It's just steps from the main drag in Avalon, a great beachy vilage
  • Disliked — nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#15 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mariquita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariquita Hotel

Address: 229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Mariquita Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting beautiful Catalina Island, you will find a gem of a hotel called The Casa Marquita. Located a short walk from the bustling shops and restaurants on front street, Crescent Ave, the Casa Maraquita offers a quiet and comfortable place to stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Casa Mariquita boasts classic Spanish architecture keeping with the traditional charm of Avalon, Santa Catalina Island.Built in 1990, Casa Mariquita Hotel is among the newest built of all Catalina Island hotels. We offer a variety of Catalina Island hotel packages so that you can get the most out of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Mariquita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariquita Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mariquita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.