We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Casa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mariquita Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Mariquita Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Mariquita Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fillmore, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Casa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel and staff were very nice and helpful when asked. The room was larger than the very comfortable bed. Water was hot and pressure was very good.
Amenities included a refrigerator in the room and a good sized TV. The Casa does not have an elevator but the hotel brought our suit cases to the room. Every two rooms are on a separate level but the steps are easy for us senior citizens. Avalon is small and historic.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    49
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
34
69
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast Cali
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I went to Catalina Island Feb 13-15 to take advantage of the "Birthday Island" deals they are offering until April. I carefully researched the hotels in Avalon and saw that Casa Mariquita Hotel was offering specials for the days we needed and the reviews on here seemed higher than average.

First off, I need to point out that we arrived on the 13th (on my bday) and was greeted by friendly staff and they continued to be extremely helpful & welcoming throughout our visit. The manager and the front desk staff were excellent! We rate the customer service 5 stars!

The island seemed to be really quiet and mellow the day we arrived on the island. The hotel itself was very quiet as well. We thought that the hotel was very unique and the room was a decent size. We liked it a lot actually and enjoyed our stay there...the first night.

On Valentine's Day, a lot more people checked in and the hotel (and the island) was a heck of a lot busier. We spent most of the day exploring the island (biking, hiking, shopping, etc) so we were extremely exhausted by 9 pm that evening. When we got back into our hotel room, we realized just how thin the walls are. We were on the 3rd floor and unfortunately, we heard every footstep from the room above and heard ummmm "intimate" things going on next door. Needless to say, it was a rough night and we slept horribly.

It is a pretty unique hotel, it's affordable and the customer service is excellent so those would be good enough reasons to go back. But with the walls/floors being so thin...not sure if it would be worth it on a "busy" day. Also, they are building a huge museum next door so I am curious to see what it would be like to stay there once the museum is completed?

I suggest staying at this hotel on a weekday during the slow season of the island. Valentine's Day weekend (which happens to be a 3-day weekend) is NOT a fun time to be at the hotel or on the island. Wayyyyyyy too many tourists. It's crazy.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Even after reading previous (mixed) reviews, I felt it necessary to post about our experience the weekend after Christmas. The room was a nice size and clean. The desk staff were friendly, and knowledgeable about the island and what to do, and what not to do.

We enjoy our 2 nights there, and they even held onto our bags in a safe locked location before we departed on the third day on the boat back to LA. It's tucked away up the hill so if you can't walk I don't recommend staying there, but the new museum is being built right next door, which looks pretty cool. When we go back for another visit, we'll definitely consider staying there again. For as much as there is to do and see on the island, you don't need the fanciest of hotels when you won't spend much time there.

Room Tip: not too many rooms have a "view" because it's off the beaten path but we booked a &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

If I had to be in sour then Ca for any longer the a week then Catalina is where you find me. We always sail down the coast in the spring but on a lark we decided to take a long over due trip to this Island. First stay at Mariquita and it was better then expected. The out side looks a bit cheesy but the room was nice if not a bit to small for my liking. The public spaces are vary nice and the staff was top rate and more then happy to help with any questions. At first we were on the top floor but wife insisted on a fast change after walking up the stairs as there is no elevator. But as I said the staff was quick to make the change as it was in the slow season. All the room amenities were nice and come with a great price. We will be back now even when we sail into Avalon bay.

Room Tip: get a lower floor unless you like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth MN
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

This was our second visit to Catalina Island and both times we have stayed at Casa Mariquita. The rooms are very well furnished and a bit small, but by Avalon standards, they are rather large. The hotel is two blocks off the beachfront walk which was fine by me. I know others have been less enthusiastic than I am, but I really don't know what people expect in Avalon.

We'll return.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherrard, il
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Clean, modern, well-appointed rooms and friendly helpful staff. Spanish style hotel on hillside with modern outdoor walkways and patios. Rooms are plenty large with modern facilities. Highly recommended. Don't bother bringing your laptop. Wi-fi is intermittent at best plus hotel is uphill from the main street and there are multi-level walkways without elevators. So you will not want the additional weight, although the staff will help with luggage. Breakfast was minimal but coffee was good and small pastries and fruit were available to help absorb it. Overall a great place to stay in Avalon.

Room Tip: If you are not in good physical shape, ask for a lower room. There are numerous sets of stairs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Perfect weekend getaway! Location is ideal - a few blocks off the main beach area, within walking distance to everything (including ferry pier). Hotel is a little older, but fine for a weekend. Be aware that there is no elevator. We were on the third floor and the stairs are rather steep. Bed was comfortable. Glad to have air-conditioning as it was unusually warm for this time of year. Continental breakfast consists of instant oatmeal, coffee, tea and some fruit served in the very small front office, which then has to be taken by tray to your room (no place to sit). Unless you have kids, I suggest skipping this and going to one of the really good breakfast restaurants in town (Jack's or Pancake house).

Room Tip: First or second floor less of a climb, especially with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mariquita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariquita Hotel

Address: 229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Mariquita Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting beautiful Catalina Island, you will find a gem of a hotel called The Casa Marquita. Located a short walk from the bustling shops and restaurants on front street, Crescent Ave, the Casa Maraquita offers a quiet and comfortable place to stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Casa Mariquita boasts classic Spanish architecture keeping with the traditional charm of Avalon, Santa Catalina Island.Built in 1990, Casa Mariquita Hotel is among the newest built of all Catalina Island hotels. We offer a variety of Catalina Island hotel packages so that you can get the most out of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Mariquita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariquita Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mariquita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.