We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once-in-a-lifetime experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mariquita Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Mariquita Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Mariquita Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Once-in-a-lifetime experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend during the summer season with a couple of friends and did not regret a single penny spent (and this is coming from an LA college student living on somewhat of a tight budget)! One of the main reasons I had never visited Catalina Island earlier was because I had always believed that such a trip would be well outside of my price range. I couldn't have been more wrong! Catalina Island offers an experience incomparable to anything else in the immediate area, almost to the point where price is nearly no longer of any concern to me. We had the chance to do dolphin watching, ziplining, and scuba diving all in just 2 days! The rest of the time was spent enjoying the delectable food offered by the various cuisines around Avalon and simply relaxing at the hotel.

The Casa Mariquita is not like any hotel I had ever stayed at; unlike most places, it seems to pride itself most on its unique interior design and homeliness afforded by its small size and quiet location. The hotel is modeled in a distinctive Spanish style complete with patios and open walkways that give a refreshing, wide-open feel throughout. You won't even need to leave the hotel to experience the beautiful weather that Catalina Island offers. The rooms themselves are reminiscent of something more familiar, so much so that it felt like a home away from home after just a two night stay. Another contributing factor is the friendly staff - they are extremely helpful with booking tours and recommending restaurants and such. Their joviality and simple willingness to strike up a casual conversation did so much to make us feel more at home. Thank you Mark, Lauren, Tiffany, and housekeeping! All in all, the Casa Mariquita Hotel offers an authentic atmosphere perfectly fitting for a trip to L.A.'s own mini Costa Del Sol.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Repeat guests are our greatest compliment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    44
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
60
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel really tries to remember my name and make me feel special. They have a lot of information ready of all the best things to see and do and all the special discounts and deals on the island. I never felt more welcomed to stay at a hotel. The style is very nice for couples, the patio on the 3rd floor is beautiful to see the ocean and is open to everyone to relax. Also it is close to everything, but on a quieter road than by all the restaurants. I love Lauren the manager and this hotel!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm surprised that this hotel has such a great rating, my experience was not as great. We had to change hotels on our 3rd day on the island because rooms were not available on Friday at our previous hotel. I booked a room at this hotel, because it was nearby and seemed to be pleasant enough for our last day. It is located right next to an empty dirt lot and is on the golf cart route. When you walk up the street to the hotel from the main drag you see a huge yellow wall, no windows or balconies on this side of the hotel, the side closest to the ocean. Our room was advertised as a partial ocean view room, it also had a view of another wall and down to a smoking patio. The patio had no view of the ocean at all just a high wall that should have been lower. Our room was small and dark, with paper cups and little baskets with hotel amenities. We luggage was stored during the day in a small dark closet because our room was not ready when we arrived, understandably since we got there around 11am. This hotel has no elevators, but plenty of stairs, if you are on the 3rd level it can be quite a hike with suitcases. They have a card request to conserve water which is fine, however the fancy granite sink they put in has knobs that are difficult to turn off if your hands are soapy or even wet. If you are going to stay here, book a room on the highest floor, with a window facing the ocean, there are a few, if you can handle the stairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are very sorry that your experience was not outstanding. We are taking your concerns under consideration and we appreciate the feedback. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at Casa Mariquita for two nights September 5 and 6, 2013 and was very impressed with the combination of great rooms, wonderful and friendly service, reasonable price, and terrific location. The new owner was on-site and very active in the day-to-day functioning of the hotel. The front desk staff was helpful and fun. The room was very quiet (we were on a lower level and had no noise at all from the rooms above) and clean (a new tile floor had been installed everywhere). I enthusiastically recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: our room itself did not have a view, but the two sunny decks provided plenty of private sun and view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review, and we want you to know that we so enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had the pleasure of working with Lauren at the front desk and she was so wonderful, helpful and accommodating. It makes a great hotel even that much better. The hotel has a variety of regular rooms and suites so there is something for everyone. They were nice enough to put champagne in our rooms since we were celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, Alice! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stay in this hotel when I first visit the Catalina. I really recommend this nice place because it is quiet for sleep and it is the nice location. It only takes me about 1 min to the Vons and just a few mins to the main famous restaurants in Catalina.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We like this lovely hotel so much!!
This is our second visiting--right upon our first pleasant stay in April, we had booked for this stay right away, afraid that its popularity will block us out in summer!
As the newest built hotel on the island, it's Mediterranean style building is so relaxing and cozy. You can actually see scene at even every corners of the outdoors stairway.
I heard the within-a-year-new owners just wanted to create a new atmosphere and they really do a great job on that-- the staff are not only welcoming and helpful, they actually do their every efforts to make people feel like home!
The room is very neat, bright & clean with very good quality beds and is so quiet that we slept so well like never before. There is even an empty small fridge that can keep our two days food & drink really cold and freezing, and you can find everything for a good breakfast at the small breakfast bar even egg burritos! When we eat and enjoy the nice breeze at the patio, the view made us feel like on the islands of Greece.
Also its location is perfect for walking to everywhere--beaches, stores, restaurants, golf car rental and the only supermarket Vons is just around the corner.
By the way, in spite of the newest built status and very nice new management system, their price is very friendly, so we have highly recommended it to all our friends & family!

Room Tip: The rooms at 3rd floor are very quiet and the patio is so nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review, Evelyn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mariquita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariquita Hotel

Address: 229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Mariquita Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting beautiful Catalina Island, you will find a gem of a hotel called The Casa Marquita. Located a short walk from the bustling shops and restaurants on front street, Crescent Ave, the Casa Maraquita offers a quiet and comfortable place to stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Casa Mariquita boasts classic Spanish architecture keeping with the traditional charm of Avalon, Santa Catalina Island.Built in 1990, Casa Mariquita Hotel is among the newest built of all Catalina Island hotels. We offer a variety of Catalina Island hotel packages so that you can get the most out of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Mariquita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariquita Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mariquita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.