We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in Avalon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mariquita Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa Mariquita Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Mariquita Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Avalon
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay in Avalon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at Casa Mariquita for two nights September 5 and 6, 2013 and was very impressed with the combination of great rooms, wonderful and friendly service, reasonable price, and terrific location. The new owner was on-site and very active in the day-to-day functioning of the hotel. The front desk staff was helpful and fun. The room was very quiet (we were on a lower level and had no noise at all from the rooms above) and clean (a new tile floor had been installed everywhere). I enthusiastically recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: our room itself did not have a view, but the two sunny decks provided plenty of private sun and view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review, and we want you to know that we so enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    40
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
31
58
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had the pleasure of working with Lauren at the front desk and she was so wonderful, helpful and accommodating. It makes a great hotel even that much better. The hotel has a variety of regular rooms and suites so there is something for everyone. They were nice enough to put champagne in our rooms since we were celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, Alice! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stay in this hotel when I first visit the Catalina. I really recommend this nice place because it is quiet for sleep and it is the nice location. It only takes me about 1 min to the Vons and just a few mins to the main famous restaurants in Catalina.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We like this lovely hotel so much!!
This is our second visiting--right upon our first pleasant stay in April, we had booked for this stay right away, afraid that its popularity will block us out in summer!
As the newest built hotel on the island, it's Mediterranean style building is so relaxing and cozy. You can actually see scene at even every corners of the outdoors stairway.
I heard the within-a-year-new owners just wanted to create a new atmosphere and they really do a great job on that-- the staff are not only welcoming and helpful, they actually do their every efforts to make people feel like home!
The room is very neat, bright & clean with very good quality beds and is so quiet that we slept so well like never before. There is even an empty small fridge that can keep our two days food & drink really cold and freezing, and you can find everything for a good breakfast at the small breakfast bar even egg burritos! When we eat and enjoy the nice breeze at the patio, the view made us feel like on the islands of Greece.
Also its location is perfect for walking to everywhere--beaches, stores, restaurants, golf car rental and the only supermarket Vons is just around the corner.
By the way, in spite of the newest built status and very nice new management system, their price is very friendly, so we have highly recommended it to all our friends & family!

Room Tip: The rooms at 3rd floor are very quiet and the patio is so nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review, Evelyn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE US
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pro's:
- Newer building
- Adequately clean
- Staff allowed checkout 15 mins late without extra charge
- WiFi
- Quiet area of Avalon, and hotel is adequately quiet, and close enough to the center of town (I don't get the people complaining about location - it is just 1/2 block from the main street!)
- Free luggage storage
- Decent breakfast
- Friendly staff
- Hardwood type floor so that is clean; no grungy carpet

Cons
- Overpriced for what you get, but it is Catalina Island
- No elevator; you need to carry your luggage up & down the stairs to your room
- Mirror in room is on closet, giving view of bath door from anywhere in room; disconcerting
- Breakfast does not start until 8

Room Tip: Get a high level so noone is walking around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate that you took the time to let us know how we are doing and are considering your suggestions to improve our guests' experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to the Catalina Island & staying at this hotel made the trip all worth a while. They are located literally right up the hill from downtown and Vons is within 1 min walking distance. When I addressed to the management about the wifi issue, they took care of the problem right away! Their complementary breakfast consisted of homemade breakfast burritos which was delicious! I'm definitely staying here again for my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Public Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are always happy to help our guests in any way we can, and have recently upgraded our Wi-fi to improve reliable connectivity for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time this hotel. We got a double-bed room on the third floor, the hotel had an intriguing staircase that obtained a unique style of architecture. Our room was very clean, it had hardwood floor, and the furniture was very nice. I also enjoy reading at the patio which has the view of the ocean, it’s a shared area but rarely anyone else is there. Overall, it gives you the privacy and coziness as if you were residing in a vacation house, with a much more affordable price tag. The location is perfect for me, a couple of minutes walk to the beach but much more quiet (it’s also very close to the grocery store making it a convenient hotel).
Yeah, the front office people are very nice and helpful, they help me book the boat trips and they even offered beach towels to our kids after we already checked out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay! Please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Mariquita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariquita Hotel

Address: 229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Mariquita Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting beautiful Catalina Island, you will find a gem of a hotel called The Casa Marquita. Located a short walk from the bustling shops and restaurants on front street, Crescent Ave, the Casa Maraquita offers a quiet and comfortable place to stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Casa Mariquita boasts classic Spanish architecture keeping with the traditional charm of Avalon, Santa Catalina Island.Built in 1990, Casa Mariquita Hotel is among the newest built of all Catalina Island hotels. We offer a variety of Catalina Island hotel packages so that you can get the most out of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Mariquita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariquita Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mariquita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.