We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Awesome Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mariquita Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Mariquita Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Mariquita Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Lake Forest, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Awesome Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just stayed there for 2 weekend nights 9-28 and 9-29. I have been traveling to Catalina for over 15 years and lived there for 5 summers. The hotel is very nice and quaint. I am a diver and was attending a diving conference, which entailed lots of gear. The owner allowed us to store the gear in the luggage room on the first floor (our room was on the third) which saved my back. The staff never failed in assisting us with anything.

Room Tip: Room 10 on the 3rd floor was very nice, wood floors, two queen beds, etc. It was nice. If you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review, Peter! We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    47
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
65
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a great place to stay!!
We had a very nice relaxing time here.
Staff was so friendly. Christine is a gem. She is such a great lady. She gave us many recommendations about what to do on the island. She helped us with everything we needed. The rest of the staff was great too Lauren Lilly and a few others. Lilly was happy to give her recommendations as well. The staff was very upbeat and genuine. I'd say Christine and Lilly went above and beyond. In any business that is what matters and brings people back.

The room was very nice and super clean. We enjoyed hanging out on the patios through out the hotel. Nice tables set up with beautiful plants everywhere. The plants are all so well taken care of. It gave a nice tropical feel. We saw Christine tending to the plant feeding them some special food. We came home with ideas for feeding our yard,

I would have to say this is the best hotel experience I have ever had. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review, Susan! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiego,CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The property is very nice and Christine at the desk is a jewel. However, when I left a pair of capris on the end of the bed (they must have fallen down with the bedspread at nite), they disappeared. We left the hotel at about 11:00 am the next day, and later that day when I was trying to get dressed for the evening, I realized that I had left them there. I immediately called the hotel and talked to Christine who said she would look into it. She checked but the maids were gone for the day and she didn't see anything. She said she'd check the next morning. I didn't hear so I walked over. I personally confronted the maids, one in particular (the shorter one of the two) who of course at this time denied she knew anything. The taller one of the two maids, in Spanish, asked her point blank if she had stolen them. She of course said no even though she is the one who makes the beds. I was promised, by Christine, an email from the manager, Cathy Lopez, which I never got. I called and she never called back. The clothing was not terribly expensive, but that obviously was not the point. They were the only ones, besides a pair of shorts I had for the week. For this reason, I would not recommend that ANYONE stay here.
They are very proud of the fact that Trip Advisor reviewers have responded favorably about this hotel. In fact, they have a very nice letter posted in the lobby. Trip Advisor is how I found them. I say BEWARE--THE MAIDS ARE DISHONEST!!!!!

Room Tip: higher floors have a better view. however, as I have said the maids are dishonest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Nothing fancy here, but good, clean basic rooms of a decent size. The staff was super friendly and interested in my family having a great time. The location a couple of blocks from the main strip is not ideal, but also totally fine. All in all, a solid option for tpur Catalina het away--and how much time are you going to spend in your room anyway?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we're doing -- we really appreciate your review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Christine made us feel like family. She was so welcoming and accommodating. The hotel is well cared for and is centrally located to all the shops and beach. We will definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is not a luxury property. But it IS a nice little hotel with a warm homey feel on Catalina. The staff go out of their way to help - want wine glasses? a hot pot to boil your eggs in? recommendations on where to go snorkeling? - the warm and welcoming personalities of the Assistant Manager and her staff are as first rate as I've seen anywhere in the world. The property is centrally located, but quiet and off the main drag, and it is very very clean. The continental breakfast is small, but there is nothing wrong with the coffee, juice and muffins. Relax and enjoy some island time. I would recommend this property to family and friends, but perhaps not for business or the ultimate in romance.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms do not have a view, so if this is important to you, be sure to ask for a view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. We greatly appreciate the review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

5/16/2012
This place is fine, unfortunately the staff is horrible. Staying here is like staying at someone's home that doesn't want you there and is passively aggressively tolerating you there. Only stay here if you have no other option and don't expect to feel welcome. The owner is a grumpy old man that probably doesn't realize that things like online reviews exist so he feels free to treat his guest like cattle and Christine and Kathy are the staff to avoid if you're unlucky enough to have to stay here.
Catalina is great and expensive, don't go through all the work and expense to get there and only to end up having your vacation ruined by staying at Casa Mariquita.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mariquita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariquita Hotel

Address: 229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Mariquita Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting beautiful Catalina Island, you will find a gem of a hotel called The Casa Marquita. Located a short walk from the bustling shops and restaurants on front street, Crescent Ave, the Casa Maraquita offers a quiet and comfortable place to stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Casa Mariquita boasts classic Spanish architecture keeping with the traditional charm of Avalon, Santa Catalina Island.Built in 1990, Casa Mariquita Hotel is among the newest built of all Catalina Island hotels. We offer a variety of Catalina Island hotel packages so that you can get the most out of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Mariquita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariquita Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mariquita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.