We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to stay with a friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mariquita Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa Mariquita Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Mariquita Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Avalon
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A decent place to stay with a friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Nothing fancy here, but good, clean basic rooms of a decent size. The staff was super friendly and interested in my family having a great time. The location a couple of blocks from the main strip is not ideal, but also totally fine. All in all, a solid option for tpur Catalina het away--and how much time are you going to spend in your room anyway?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we're doing -- we really appreciate your review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    35
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
28
53
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Christine made us feel like family. She was so welcoming and accommodating. The hotel is well cared for and is centrally located to all the shops and beach. We will definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is not a luxury property. But it IS a nice little hotel with a warm homey feel on Catalina. The staff go out of their way to help - want wine glasses? a hot pot to boil your eggs in? recommendations on where to go snorkeling? - the warm and welcoming personalities of the Assistant Manager and her staff are as first rate as I've seen anywhere in the world. The property is centrally located, but quiet and off the main drag, and it is very very clean. The continental breakfast is small, but there is nothing wrong with the coffee, juice and muffins. Relax and enjoy some island time. I would recommend this property to family and friends, but perhaps not for business or the ultimate in romance.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms do not have a view, so if this is important to you, be sure to ask for a view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. We greatly appreciate the review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

5/16/2012
This place is fine, unfortunately the staff is horrible. Staying here is like staying at someone's home that doesn't want you there and is passively aggressively tolerating you there. Only stay here if you have no other option and don't expect to feel welcome. The owner is a grumpy old man that probably doesn't realize that things like online reviews exist so he feels free to treat his guest like cattle and Christine and Kathy are the staff to avoid if you're unlucky enough to have to stay here.
Catalina is great and expensive, don't go through all the work and expense to get there and only to end up having your vacation ruined by staying at Casa Mariquita.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was our second stay at this property and lived up to our experience on the first. Consistent with even more bubbling personality from Melinda and Christine! You cannot go wrong with the hotel's personable qualities, its' location and ambiance. Nice muffins, coffee and orange juice wake up call. You're on island time and they make it a truly "island time" stay. Be forewarned, however (and they will forewarn you) room #1 across from the lobby is noisy per the residents at the time of our stay (Christine and I had a laugh about that complaint for the duration of the morning). Don't say you weren't told so! A delightful experience and extremely accommodating staff! We'll be back for the Spencer Davis Group exhibition in June!

Room Tip: 2nd floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! We love that you enjoyed your stay here, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have stayed here at least (5) times and absolutely LOVE it! The rooms are very nice size and are very clean! The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and "Lauren" is so wonderful and helped us have the best experience on Catalina!

Room Tip: Rooms with (2) beds are really lovely and get great sunlight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We always enjoy hearing from our returning guests, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting Catalina for over 20 years for family visits. This time, a resident recommended the Casa Mariquita.Well, THIS is the place we'll be coming back to! We can't say enough about Christine, Lauren, Evelyn and Melinda -- delightful and helpful! The room was lovely as was the hotel property. It's not for anyone with mobility issues -- lots of steps -- but otherwise it has our whole-hearted recommendation!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, Maggie! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Mariquita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariquita Hotel

Also Known As:
Casa Mariquita Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA
Address: 229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Avalon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Mariquita Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting beautiful Catalina Island, you will find a gem of a hotel called The Casa Marquita. Located a short walk from the bustling shops and restaurants on front street, Crescent Ave, the Casa Maraquita offers a quiet and comfortable place to stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Casa Mariquita boasts classic Spanish architecture keeping with the traditional charm of Avalon, Santa Catalina Island.Built in 1990, Casa Mariquita Hotel is among the newest built of all Catalina Island hotels. We offer a variety of Catalina Island hotel packages so that you can get the most out of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Casa Mariquita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mariquita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.