We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey Little Hotel on Catalina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mariquita Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Mariquita Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Mariquita Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Corona, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Homey Little Hotel on Catalina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is not a luxury property. But it IS a nice little hotel with a warm homey feel on Catalina. The staff go out of their way to help - want wine glasses? a hot pot to boil your eggs in? recommendations on where to go snorkeling? - the warm and welcoming personalities of the Assistant Manager and her staff are as first rate as I've seen anywhere in the world. The property is centrally located, but quiet and off the main drag, and it is very very clean. The continental breakfast is small, but there is nothing wrong with the coffee, juice and muffins. Relax and enjoy some island time. I would recommend this property to family and friends, but perhaps not for business or the ultimate in romance.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms do not have a view, so if this is important to you, be sure to ask for a view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. We greatly appreciate the review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    47
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
65
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

5/16/2012
This place is fine, unfortunately the staff is horrible. Staying here is like staying at someone's home that doesn't want you there and is passively aggressively tolerating you there. Only stay here if you have no other option and don't expect to feel welcome. The owner is a grumpy old man that probably doesn't realize that things like online reviews exist so he feels free to treat his guest like cattle and Christine and Kathy are the staff to avoid if you're unlucky enough to have to stay here.
Catalina is great and expensive, don't go through all the work and expense to get there and only to end up having your vacation ruined by staying at Casa Mariquita.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was our second stay at this property and lived up to our experience on the first. Consistent with even more bubbling personality from Melinda and Christine! You cannot go wrong with the hotel's personable qualities, its' location and ambiance. Nice muffins, coffee and orange juice wake up call. You're on island time and they make it a truly "island time" stay. Be forewarned, however (and they will forewarn you) room #1 across from the lobby is noisy per the residents at the time of our stay (Christine and I had a laugh about that complaint for the duration of the morning). Don't say you weren't told so! A delightful experience and extremely accommodating staff! We'll be back for the Spencer Davis Group exhibition in June!

Room Tip: 2nd floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! We love that you enjoyed your stay here, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have stayed here at least (5) times and absolutely LOVE it! The rooms are very nice size and are very clean! The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and "Lauren" is so wonderful and helped us have the best experience on Catalina!

Room Tip: Rooms with (2) beds are really lovely and get great sunlight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We always enjoy hearing from our returning guests, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting Catalina for over 20 years for family visits. This time, a resident recommended the Casa Mariquita.Well, THIS is the place we'll be coming back to! We can't say enough about Christine, Lauren, Evelyn and Melinda -- delightful and helpful! The room was lovely as was the hotel property. It's not for anyone with mobility issues -- lots of steps -- but otherwise it has our whole-hearted recommendation!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, Maggie! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Room was okay, there was some left over trash; the desk attendees were nice. But I was not visiting Catalina expecting 5 star lodging. If you're simply looking for a place to stay while you enjoy doing outdoor activities then this place will suffice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Lauren and Christine were very helpful accomodating my family of 5. They found the best deal possible and were almost 'too attentive' to our every need. The rooms were better than I expected ..... clean, well kept, smelled great!! Its a great place to stay and be off the main drag. The walk to the hotel is not far, but a great way to walk off all the calories from treats and drink. I was very surprised they had free Wi-Fi.
Our stay was just for 2 days and 1 night (New Years Eve).We had such a great time as a family. Took a kayak trip that was so fun we will return.
I can recommend this hotel without any problem.
Have fun!!

Room Tip: The higher the better. We were in 209 and 206. Kids across the walkway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We're glad that you enjoyed the rooms and had such a wonderful experience on Catalina Island, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mariquita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariquita Hotel

Address: 229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Mariquita Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting beautiful Catalina Island, you will find a gem of a hotel called The Casa Marquita. Located a short walk from the bustling shops and restaurants on front street, Crescent Ave, the Casa Maraquita offers a quiet and comfortable place to stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Casa Mariquita boasts classic Spanish architecture keeping with the traditional charm of Avalon, Santa Catalina Island.Built in 1990, Casa Mariquita Hotel is among the newest built of all Catalina Island hotels. We offer a variety of Catalina Island hotel packages so that you can get the most out of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Mariquita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariquita Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mariquita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.