We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mariquita Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Mariquita Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Mariquita Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Lauren and Christine were very helpful accomodating my family of 5. They found the best deal possible and were almost 'too attentive' to our every need. The rooms were better than I expected ..... clean, well kept, smelled great!! Its a great place to stay and be off the main drag. The walk to the hotel is not far, but a great way to walk off all the calories from treats and drink. I was very surprised they had free Wi-Fi.
Our stay was just for 2 days and 1 night (New Years Eve).We had such a great time as a family. Took a kayak trip that was so fun we will return.
I can recommend this hotel without any problem.
Have fun!!

Room Tip: The higher the better. We were in 209 and 206. Kids across the walkway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We're glad that you enjoyed the rooms and had such a wonderful experience on Catalina Island, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    46
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
63
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Thanks to the various TripAdvisor reviews, my family and I stayed here for one night, mid week, between Christmas and New Years for a reasonable price compared to the other island options. We booked a package through the hotel that included the ferry and it worked really smoothly and we saved a few dollars that way too. The hotel is barely 2 blocks from the main street by the water and one block from Vons market. Basically in the center of the touristy part of Avalon.They have refrigerators in all the rooms and flat screen tvs. We got one of the only two connecting rooms they have. We were on the second floor and one room had a king bed and the other 2 queens. The rooms were really nicely furnished with solid wood pieces, not flimsy typical hotel style. . The sinks are really cool and modern design but the baths are very plain and aging but have great water pressure. My only complaints are that the remote in one room did not work and we were too tired to call the front desk and one of the clock radios were broken. The overall look of the place is lovely and spanish style with great views from the various public patios. Both women we encountered at the front desk were friendly and helpful. We didn't even try the continental breakfast that was included because it is basically just a shelf in the tiny lobby and no tables or chairs in sight. We did use the luggage room to store our stuff after we checked out, which was really helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a very nice, clean, well located, less expensive option.

Room Tip: they all seemed nice but there are a couple of penthouses that have private balconies and amazing vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Casa Mariquita was not my first choice of hotels in Avalon, but many of the other properties were booked so I thought we would give it a shot. It was great! The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful and gave us tips for hiking trails, tours, etc. The rate we received was much better than several of the properties in the area. The rooms and property weren't luxurious but were nice enough with a peek a boo views throughout property. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Very nice experience at the hotel. We would stay there again. Disappointed that morning breakfast started at 8:00, too late to get your first cup of coffee and it took forever for the water to get hot, but it was a nice room and very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is not a place you want to stay! Unpleasant experience and will not return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

The service in this hotel was o.k. , The room was very nice. Our room was on the street Metropole. It was very noisy due to the fact that the golf cart rentals were 75 yards down the street. So after the people rented the carts every single had to pass our room to exit the aera.The bed was fine, the room was clean. Reminds me of the old saying. "YOU CAN PUT LIP STICK ON A PIG" but it's still a pig. We booked this wonderful vacation Ha two months in advance and was given this room. We asked for our money back after we tried to let them find us another room. They said they were all booked. Sad story sorry to say...So we caught the last boat back to Dana Point after they refunded our money for both nights. We never spent the night...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We headed to Avalon on a whim for my birthday in June. I needed to find a reasonable price, which seemed to be a major challenge in Avalon! Not only where they very reasonable, but was a very pleasant surprise. The front desk lady must be the owner. She was SO helpful when we arrived very early, giving us a place to secure bags & offer anything else we needed. The room was very clean & well appointed. The layout gave a ton of privacy. The location was wonderful as well.

All in all, Casa Marquita made our weekend fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mariquita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariquita Hotel

Address: 229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Mariquita Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting beautiful Catalina Island, you will find a gem of a hotel called The Casa Marquita. Located a short walk from the bustling shops and restaurants on front street, Crescent Ave, the Casa Maraquita offers a quiet and comfortable place to stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Casa Mariquita boasts classic Spanish architecture keeping with the traditional charm of Avalon, Santa Catalina Island.Built in 1990, Casa Mariquita Hotel is among the newest built of all Catalina Island hotels. We offer a variety of Catalina Island hotel packages so that you can get the most out of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Mariquita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariquita Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mariquita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.