We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best service, but I keep coming back!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant

Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant
111 Claressa Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-1772
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not the best service, but I keep coming back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I really like the margaritas here and that this place isn't on the main street because it seems a little less crowded than some other places. When we visit we almost always order margaritas and enjoy the chips and salsa. The food is average but still good. The major thing lacking in this place is the service. The staff isn't always paying attention and are sometimes slow. I have gotten great service there before though; it just depends!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    56
    31
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Mexican on the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Mi Casita feels like a Los Angeles local spot on the island. The food is delicious and authentic. the staff are friendly and helpful. The place is large enough for big parties. This is a recommended food stop if you like Mexican food while on the island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food was ok, service was a bit lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Food was ok, service was a bit lacking. Didn't get any refills on our drinks until we were about to get the check and when I asked about something on the menu, they weren't even sure what it was and had to get a manager to tell me they didn't have it anymore. Probably wouldn't go there again, but really enjoyed some of the other Mexican restaurants there like Pete's Cafe and Catalina Cantina.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Huge Drink & Food Portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had dinner here Saturday night and it was very good all around...no wait, great service, huge drink portions, huge food portions and the food was very tasty, would go back again for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodlake, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The service was very good. The food was more than we could eat. Fast service----kept coming to fill our iced tea and soda. There are many dishes to pick from. We had a burrito and fried shrimp and cod. Very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.