We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Avalon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Edgewater
Save
You added The Edgewater to your Saves list
415 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 1602, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Birthday Surprise
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Grass Valley, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Avalon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

Our expensive beachfront room was very spacious, with a separate bedroom. We were very pleased.....until we went to bed and realized our heads (Room #2) were about 10 feet from a rock band screaming just underneath our heads and over a couple of feet. Sleeping was impossible until after midnight. We complained and were moved to a little room in the very back of the hotel the next night, where we were treated to all the 2:00 a.m. noise of the bar closing plus very early garbage trucks in the morning.

The hotel has not returned our phone calls and has not credited out account, even for the difference in the cost of the rooms.

This was the worst hotel experience we have ever had after many years of extensive travel. We feel the presence of the noisy neighbor should have been disclosed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    16
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from June 3-17. Had three teenagers (2 mine) and my 7 year old with me. Stayed in room #4. Two queen beds and a trundle bed. Room was nicely furnished, a little tight for 2 weeks stay due to the way I pack (everything but kitchen sink), but comfortable. Owner Marcy was wonderfully accomodating and helpful. Carlton the dog stole my daughters heart. Staff very helpful and friendly. I can't say enough about the people who work here! Housekeeping did a great job, and everyone went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. Movies in office to check out (teens watch alot of tv!), beach towels and beach chairs to use, continental breakfast. Beach was just steps from front entrance. Loved our stay, will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Proximity to beach and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Needed a bit more closet space
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

My husband and i and our 5lb Yorkshire Terrier stayed at this hotel over the Christmas Holiday. This hotel is very old and is not fancy and mordern. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very nicely decorated. My only complaint was the bathroom sink area is kinda small and there is no shelf or place on the sink to put your toiletries or toiletry bag.
The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful if u need suggestions on what to do or where to eat.
This hotel is a very doggie friendly hotel. Most doggie friendly hotels that i have stayed in make u sign a contract saying u will not leave your pet in the room alone which makes it very difficult to go out to eat along with a bunch of other rules. This hotel does not make u sign anything and does not give u a list of doggie rules.
The problem is not the hotel but the town itself. This is not a doggie friedly town. U are limited in where u can take your dog in this town. Even the restaurants that have outside seating will not let u have your dogs with u outside. Most cities that i have vacationed at with my yorkie do not have doggie restaurant restrictions if u are eating outside.

  • Liked — I enjoyed the staff, very accomadating. Very clean old hotel
  • Disliked — the small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

My boyfriend & I went to Catalina for a weekend getaway with our dog. We stayed at the Edgewater because it was the only hotel in town that could take dogs. From their website & the postings listed here, I thought it would be a cute little B&B with some charm. Unfortunately it didn't turn out that way. The hotel states that they are "dog friendly" however the street that the hotel is on is NOT dog friendly. When we arrived to Catalina trying to get to our hotel with all our luggage we were immedialtely kicked off the pedestrian road and made to go around a few blocks, around an alleyway to get to our hotel. THis does not make sense. When we got to the hotel we got stuck with one of the back rooms- no ocean view, and our window looked out to a back patio where the receptionist smokes and stores old furniture. The blinds on the windows were a little bent so anyone sitting out on the patio could look in and see us. When I went to tell the receptionist, she really didn't care so I asked if I could have a bed sheet to tack up & cover the windows- so no sunlight for 3 days. The hotel is more of a motel, pretty run down. Continental breakfast consisted of stale danishes sitting on a table in the hallway- sorry- not edible. Rooms are simple & clean, but nothing to rave about. I know that Catalina is a touristy town and hotels are pricey, but for $165 a night it was not worth it. Only plus to this motel was it's location which is across the street from the water on the main strip with shops & restaurants, but Catalina is so small any hotel in town would have been fine.

  • Liked — only hotel in town that takes dogs
  • Disliked — overprices for what you get
  • Tips/Secrets — next time leave fido at home- catalina not so dog-friendly
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

We stayed in one of the front rooms with a vu out over the beach. Totally loved it. We had the bedroom, the kids had the front room. Marci was incredibly great and booked a few dinners for us, helped us with activity choices, etc... If you are looking for a casual, beachy place with an awesome location, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

What a lovely 2nd Anniversary with my handsome groom.
Our room had an enclosed balcony which overlooked the beachfront with views of the famous Casino, bobbing boats from a rubber dingy to 40 foot yachts and the bright green Pier offering a myriad of scenic tours around the island.
A high round table with bar stools afforded us the view of tourists lying in the sun, floating on an air mattress or relaxing under multicolored umbrellas.
French doors opened to our small living room area with a futon couch, glass table and fireplace for romantic winter visits.
A queen-sized bed dressed in white faced the French doors which we opened to hear the waves crashing onto the sandy shore.
The room afforded us a home away from home with a small refrigerator, sink, microwave, coffeemaker and supplies all contained on the balcony.
One evening we relaxed in two large chairs on the balcony while eating a late night pizza from Antonio's after returning from the Casino's theatre and the Pirates of the Caribbean.
The hotel owner, Marcy Kennedy and front desk clerk, Vicky were gracious hosts making certain we had everything we needed. Mercedes the hotel maid provided us with plenty of fresh beach towels to enjoy our time in the water
Each morning, my sweetheart and I enjoyed a delicious breakfast at the Pancake Cottage which is just around the corner from the hotel.
Definitely a beautiful three days filled with priceless memories!
SHB&JB

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Ca
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

My wife and I stayed in Room One - their best room - at the Edgewater, July 16 and 17. It has a fabulous view of Avalon Harbor, the beaches, and of course, the famous "Casino". This hotel is located on the beachfront street, Crescent Ave, and is close walking distance to most of the popular attractions, restaurants, etc. AND... it is located in the area where the city DOES NOT allow motorized golf carts... which are NOISY and create fumes! This is a major problem with most of the other hotels on Crescent Ave... which is another way of saying, "Keep your windows closed all of the time"! We enjoyed the fresh ocean air with no fumes, no flies, cool air, and no problem with people noise. The staff and owner Marcy Kennedy will bathe you in TLC!! We highly recommend the Edgewater Beachfront Hotel.

J & S

Arcadia, Ca

  • Liked — Great view
  • Disliked — lack of air con
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Address: 415 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 1602, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Edgewater is a boutique hotel located on the historic Santa Catalina Island. This family owned and operated establishment, located in the heart of Avalon, is just steps away from the water's edge, front street shopping, tours, restaurants and nightlife. Our boutique hotel offers two spacious deluxe Ocean view Suites, which can be connected, and six well-appointed Fountain-view rooms. Each room and suite features complimentary wireless internet, Ortho-pedic (R) beds, flat screen TVs, cable television, air conditioning/heat and luxurious down comforters. Our suites provide guests with custom built mini bars and indoor sitting porches that overlook picturesque Avalon Bay. The Edgewater offers kitchen access to guests, which is equipped with a microwave, U-Line (R) ice maker, and coffee maker, paired with a selection of coffees and teas. Continental breakfast is set up each morning in the lobby kitchen. During the summer months, complimentary afternoon wine and cheese is available, as well as beach chairs and towels, upon request. The Edgewater Team welcomes you to enjoy your stay at The Edgewater! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Avalon
Edgewater Hotel Avalon
The Edgewater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.