We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few improvements would go a LONG way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Edgewater
Save
You added The Edgewater to your Saves list
415 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 1602, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Birthday Surprise
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A few improvements would go a LONG way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The rooms are clean and the extra alcove with a twin is a bonus if traveling with kids. The only window looks out into a cement patio with a small cement patio - so no fresh air flow. Positive is that rooms do not connect directly to another room so it is very quiet.

The rooms are clean and very well kept. The bedding was nice but the towels were like see thru sandpaper - an investment in towels would go a VERY long way. The water in shower is lukewarm - never had a hot shower.

The breakfast bar is very, very basic - fresh fruit, yogurt and fresh danish from a local baker would be a HUGE improvement over pre-packaged danish that is weeks old. Not a huge deal but for $250 a night one should expect towels and higher quality items.

Staff is very nice. No elevator - so not good for elderly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgewater, Owner at The Edgewater, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts about The Edgewater. Your positive comments about our clean, kept establishment and nice staff will be shared with The Edgewater Crew!

For our Continental Breakfast we offer fresh fruit, orange and apple juice, coffee and tea if desired as well as either fresh bagels, muffins or danishes.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

-The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    16
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We were recently over on Catalina Island in mid- June. We decided to book a return stay at The Edgewater and loved our visit! Everyone was very welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel at home. We had a long conversation with the owner, who is very personable and knowledgable about the island. As usual, our room was immaculate and the complementary wi-fi was much appreciated. You cannot beat The Edgewater's great central location, crisp charming rooms and Steve's Steakhouse just steps away! We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I can't stop going here. Great get away weekend which we desperately needed! Gorgeous views. Outstanding service at the hotel. The staff(Barbara and Esperanza) is always asking what we need. We love the rooms, especially the ones overlooking the Avalon Bay. We enjoy sitting and have some wine and cheese and watching the boats and activity. We look forward to our next trip!
You guys are outstanding! Thank you!

Room Tip: There are two rooms overlooking the bay that are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed at The Edgewater several times and always enjoy it's location and Island charm.
Love coming down the stairs and being right on the main street with shops, restaurants, the pier and beach right there. The rooms are clean and modern, with very comfortable beds, but the small hotel retains a vintage and Island vibe. Try to book the ocean view rooms, as the scenery
From them is fantastic. We could sit there and enjoy the view for hours, and it's a perfect way to unwind and relax. The manager is always friendly and helpful in suggesting local sights and restaurants to visit. It's fun to talk to her and hear about Catalina's fascinating history and find out more about the locals. I recommend this hotel to my friends for a romantic or family weekend. It's really a unique find!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Best kept secret or so I thought! According to the reviews The Edgewater and been discovered over and over again. If 5 Star service, location, charm and romance are what your're looking for, The Edgewater won't disappoint! Dozens of moored boats, relaxing ocean breezes and beautiful sunsets are what you experience sitting behind the picture windows of the oceanview rooms.Though The Edgewater offers a modern hotel stay with it's free internet and flat panel televisions it is also vintage romantic Catalina. The rooms are clean and have a beach cottage feel. They serve a light breakfast with coffee and juice which offers the guests an option for a lazy morning. The minute you enter The Edgewater we challenge you to not hold hands and fall in love!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We've stayed at The Edgewater in the past and loved our experience--went back and found it just as wonderful as the first visit! The rooms are updated, very clean and the manager was extremely helpful in recommending activities and restaurants. The Edgewater has the perfect location and we have recommended it to friends and family--whether you are going for a family getaway or a romantic weekend, The Edgewater can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose the Edgewater based on TripAdvisor ratings giving the hotel a 6 out of 18 rating. Are you kidding!! This hotel was not worthy of its 6 rating!! Perhaps a 15 out of 18 would have been more appropriate!!

First of all, I knew there were potential problems when the person who took my reservations (turns out she was the housekeeper) wasn’t able to communicate in English very well. When we first arrived, we had problems finding the hotel itself. The sign over the hotel and entryway is so small and inconspicuous it gets lost with the other hotel, restaurant and souvenir shop signs. Not clearly marked or easy to find. The hotel sits above the main street over a very popular bar/restaurant. So, expect a lot of noise (karaoke till 2:00 A.M.)! After we arrived, we discovered the toilet didn’t flush properly. We notified the Housekeeper/Innkeeper and asked to speak to the Manager. We were told that that Owner managed the hotel and was in fact downstairs looking after her souvenir shop which she also owns/manages. When we found the owner/manager we asked her if she was the owner of the hotel. She wouldn’t admit to being the owner but said she “managed the property.” We expressed our concerns about the toilet not working properly and her response was “well you know we’re on an island and it can be hard sometimes to get a plumber.” The toilet eventually got fixed to our satisfaction.

Besides being small, the furniture is old and the room was quite dirty. The toilet, bathroom sink and the bathtub all had dark smudges. The bathroom walls had old soap stains on them. Even after we had our room cleaned, which wasn’t until after 4:00 P.M. the floors were still dirty and there was loose hair all over the place. We never had enough soap, towels or other toiletries. In addition to the noise from the bar and street, we also had noisy guests with kids who slammed their doors, screamed and spoke loudly when coming and going and made a lot of noise at 7:00 A.M. when going for their complimentary coffee. They were also smoking in the hotel which supposedly is a non-smoking hotel (Turns out these were friends of the owner).

This was not our first bad hotel experience on Catalina. Our last time was about 16 years ago when we had a very similar experience. It seems that Avalon has a shortage of “Good” hotels. Due to it being Memorial Day Weekend, the “Good” hotels such as the Hotel Vista Del Mar or the Snug Harbor Inn were all sold out weeks in advance and those that were available wanted to charge an arm and a leg above average cost.

I’ve never stayed in a hotel where the Innkeeper and the Housekeeper was the same person. Truly a sign of a very poorly managed hotel by an Owner who it would seem, isn’t too proud to be the Owner and isn’t concerned enough with the management of her property to admit to being the Owner. I'm certain this will be the last.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgewater, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Edgewater. It is unfortunate to learn of your unfavorable experiences on the island. We at The Edgewater assume no titles and work hard as a team for our guests to have a pleasant stay and enjoy Catalina Island. One can see from our many positive reviews that our main goal is to please, while maintaining a clean establishment. We also realize that guests need their privacy, especially when a do not disturb sign is on their door.

We are sorry that your Catalina stay was not to your liking. The Edgewater Team truly values their guests and are excited when they return!

Respectfully,
The Edgewater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Address: 415 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 1602, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Edgewater is a boutique hotel located on the historic Santa Catalina Island. This family owned and operated establishment, located in the heart of Avalon, is just steps away from the water's edge, front street shopping, tours, restaurants and nightlife. Our boutique hotel offers two spacious deluxe Ocean view Suites, which can be connected, and six well-appointed Fountain-view rooms. Each room and suite features complimentary wireless internet, Ortho-pedic (R) beds, flat screen TVs, cable television, air conditioning/heat and luxurious down comforters. Our suites provide guests with custom built mini bars and indoor sitting porches that overlook picturesque Avalon Bay. The Edgewater offers kitchen access to guests, which is equipped with a microwave, U-Line (R) ice maker, and coffee maker, paired with a selection of coffees and teas. Continental breakfast is set up each morning in the lobby kitchen. During the summer months, complimentary afternoon wine and cheese is available, as well as beach chairs and towels, upon request. The Edgewater Team welcomes you to enjoy your stay at The Edgewater! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Avalon
Edgewater Hotel Avalon
The Edgewater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.