We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mardi Gras All the Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Galleon

El Galleon
411 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-1188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mardi Gras All the Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I came here for lunch after a morning tour. The inside was overwhelmed with Mardi Gras decoration galore. We were seated right away and got our drink orders. The food was good and plentiful. My husbands sandwich was too hot and he waited for almost a half an hour for it to cool. He finally gave up and boxed it up to take it back to our bed and breakfast. The service was a bit slow, which was interesting because there was almost no one in the restaurant to serve. Although the servers were nice and the food was good, once it cooled.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    148
    80
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Catalina kitschy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Charming if somewhat dated throwback, this place will remind you of Twiggy and shag carpet. It's well located with an extensive menu but often suffers from inconsistent food and service. Worth a shot if you're in town for a few days, but quickie visitors have better options.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Went for Catalina for daughters birthday and decided to go for dinner. We were going on the Catalina Ghost Tour so just wanted a quick meal. We had the Scallop Chowder and the Roasted Artichoke. They also had hot fresh sour dough bread which was wonderful with the soup. They were both really good. The restaurant is right on the main street facing the beach and has out door seating.so really nice for sunset. They also have Karaoke if you like that kind of thing. It is a little pricey but no more than most of the restaurants on the island. They also have a early bird menu which looked pretty good but we arrived right when it was over and were not that hungry for a full meal. I am sure they can also accommodate large groups if needed with an upstairs area too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food was ok, service rushed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The food is ok, service was rushed and waiter not friendly. Not good for a tourist spot. My wife had talaria which was excellent. Other food was average. Sort of TGIF catalina style.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CALAMARI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I are vegetarians, but must admit we love an occasional delicious calamari, El Galleon?! YES!!!!! You nailed it! Gracias

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Galleon also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to El Galleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Galleon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.