We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steve's Steakhouse

Steve's Steakhouse
417 Crescent Avedddd, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-0333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We tried this place twice based on other reviews. We went for lunch first and the hostess seated us as far from the window as she could. We were surprised because there were plenty of open tables in our area with great views. The staff were confused the entire time. Two staff members exchanged words in front of us. We were uncomfortable. Later that evening we decided to give it another try, assuming it must have been a a bad afternoon. We sat down, ordered a drink and left after the drink. We didn't stay for dinner because we observed the exact same events. The staff snapped at each other and generally appeared unhappy. Not the atmosphere we wanted for a happy vacation. We moved on to another, much better restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevecat, Owner at Steve's Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Leigh D
I am sorry that you did not have a good time at our restaurant . To get seating by the window , you have to make reservations or tell the hostess you will wait for a table up front . We do not sit you in the back unless all the tables are full & we have no choice . Your comment about people bickering by your table is not professional on our part , but you saying you saw it in the day & saw the same thing at night is unheard of . We have a very professional team & if you look at all our reviews , every one is commenting on a great staff we have . We are a very busy restaurant & the waiters and waitresses are VERY happy to work in a restaurant where they can make good money . We thank you for coming & wish you will give us another chance to prove our happiness to you ! Thank you for coming to Catalina , happy travels . Steve Bray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    165
    73
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Feeling like a steak (or fish) on the island? -search no more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We get there on a busy nite, no reservations. They were able to accommodate the 12 of us!!! Drinks were good, food was great, but really, Johnny makes it!!! He's a server that really gives you a premium experience, I'd always go back there for him! We had 2 birthdays plus my accident's anniversary, and sure enough, the desserts came with candles! So, again, if you're feeling like a steak (or fish) on the island, search no more - Steve's Steakhouse is your spot!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good restaurant- not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a reservation and still had to wait for awhile. We watched while a couple of walk-ins were seated ahead of us. Frustrating when you've got a hungry 6 year old. We figured we would then wait a little longer for a table by the window which was really worth it. A beautiful view of the harbor.

I thought for sure my husband would order steak, but he had the seafood shish kabob's and said they were very good.I ordered the ahi and it was good, not great though-

They have very good cocktails and my husband was thrilled with his desert martini. My daughter loved her chicken strips and the waiter was very good with her!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“jon q”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This restaurant is the finest one I've been in in a long time..JON Q ,OUR WAITER WAS SO HELPFUL, KIND,CARING.He spent about 2hrs with us .never neglecting his other customers.we met him on the ferry over and he was promoting his restaurant all the way.The food was fantastic..we had the rib-eye and the blackened swordfish..melt in you mouth good.i would difinitally recommend Steve's Steakhouse to all I MEET....We loved the place ..It was quite and romantic .The owner Steve is so gracious ...we will go back...THANK YOU JON Q ....WE LOVED YOU.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This steak house was filled with male waiters and they were so professional and courteous! The seating was great minus the very large drunk group behind our table. The food was not as good as I had thought, but I would try another dish and go again the staff is worth the second visit! Thank you to all the staff!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve's Steakhouse also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Steve's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steve's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.