We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Two Night Summer Vacation
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Avalon
Fallbrook, California
2 reviews
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

After reading the reviews I booked a room here for Thanksgiving weekend. We were not dissapointed. Taxi service from the dock is included with the room. Our room was not ready when we arrived but they held our luggage while we went out and explored. The room was very comfortable. Great bed! I love the robes and the bath products were very nice. Breakfast in the garden patio was perfect. It was chilly in the morning so we sat by the fire pit. Continental breakfast with yogurt, granola, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, muffins and other bakery items, english muffins, bagels, orange juice, etc. etc.
The view from the rooftop is beautiful!
The staff was very friendly and very helpful. I had left something behind in the in-room safe and didn't realize it until I was already on the boat home. The staff retrieved it and sent it via UPS. I had it back in less than a week with everything just as I left it.
I will be back!
Oh- you have to do the Zip Line tour while you are in Catalina - AWESOME.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    34
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
259
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnolds Park, IA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer! The perfect blend of comfy relaxation and luxury -- from the incredibly friendly, helpful staff (thanks Scotty and Laurie!) to the amazingly comfortable beds and spotlessly clean rooms. The view from the top deck is breath-taking and also enjoyed the fire-pit in the lovely patio area as it cools off a bit in the evening. A wonderful experience down to the smallest detail - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Comfortable. immaculate garden room (although we stiill could see the ocean from our window) Welcoming and accomodating staff. If Catalina was not such a beautiful place, it would not be difficult to spend the day at the Avalon. Loved the rooftop terrace and its spectacular view! Lovely garden area for a nice complimentary breakfast. Books, DVDs and snacks and bevarages to occupy any down time. ( If relaxing on those comfy beds wasn't your thing!) The only criticism would be the small tags indicating each item in the room that could be purchased by inquiring at the front desk. Perhaps one notice on a table or on the door would suffice. Can't wait to return!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

From the great water pressure in the morning shower to the fire pit for wine and cheese in the evening, the Avalon Hotel had everything I could have asked for in a reasonably priced hotel. When talking about the experience, I have to start with the staff. They were courteous, helpful, and up-beat throughout the process, even helping with reservations for travel to/from the island. They were knowledgeable about the area attractions, and were always looking for our feedback on activities so they could pass along information to other guests. The location was excellent, close enough to the boardwalk for convenience, but far away enough and high enough to remain quiet and peaceful. The upper (roof) deck offered an outstanding 360 degree view of the bay and the island from a comfortable and private location...great for sipping morning tea or some private sun bathing. The room itself was well laid out with enough space for people, luggage, and amenities (fridge, microwave, TV, and personal safe) without having to step over things to get around. They even considered the little things in the bathroom, like a heated/lighted mirror to avoid steaming up, bath/shower shelves in places that actually made sense and could hold your stuff, and even a robe for your convenience in going to/from the beach or up to the deck in your bathing suit. But don't just stay in the room. The hallways are full of historical photos of the hotel and the island and well worth wandering for a few minutes to take them in. Tough to decide what I liked the best, the views, the service, and the entire environment were all wonderful. But what I really liked the best was the peaceful, relaxed feeling I walked away with at the end of the weekend that comes from a stress free and well cared for experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego County
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

The Avalon Hotel is a nice little boutique hotel, but is a long way from being the best. The rooms are small and cramped, the hall way carpets are dirty, and the stairs leading up to the roof are too steep with small foot pads. It has a nice accommodating staff, but they mislead me when they told me the hotel had wireless. It doesn't. The fine hotel experience just isn't there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Just stayed here this past weekend. Great service by (forgive me for massacring the spelling of your names!) Lori, Shadarcha & Scotty.

1st off, I highly suggest CALLING for a reservation. We attempted to do this by e-mail but our lines kept crossing. Once we decided to call, it was smooth sailing from there!

Room 306 was clean, well lit, strong central a/c (much needed during the heat wave this weekend), fan over the bed with a great view of the ocean, Casino Ballroom & the mountains. We had a private balcony with two chairs & a fridge outside. We were able to play card games & drink beers while watching the sun go down (yes - we are facing East but you know what I mean...it got DARK!). We had a great view of the sunrise each morning as well!

Only two small items that weren't perfect...the water pressure in the bathroom sink wasn't that strong (not surprising since we're on the top floor) but the shower had great pressure (a good surprise)! And the bathroom towels (1 out of 3 on both days) had this odd mildew scent to it. The towels were clean, fluffy & thick but I think whatever dryer they are using just isn't strong enough so maybe run the dryer another 5-10 minutes? I understand that we're by the ocean & the humidity doesn't help matters. Anyway, neither things made me want to lower this from a 5 star rating.

We got in early on Friday morning & they fully accommodated us not wanting to lug our bags around so we just left it with them until our room was ready in the early afternoon. Same thing for the Sunday check out at 11 a.m. Our boat left at 5:15 p.m. so we just left our bags as we went for a golf cart tour & laid out at the Descanso Beach Club and then came back to pick them up around 4:15 p.m.

They serve a complimentary continental breakfast each morning from 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. I saw fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal & milk, coffee, OJ, scones, croissants & English muffins. Everything was fresh, self serve & tasty!

They also had complimentary water bottles & Snapple bottles waiting for us in the interior mini fridge as well. They let you rent from a large collection of DVDs as well as provide you with an internet cable for free internet at the front desk.

We definitely will come back to this hotel on our next trip to Catalina!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

The room & bath were clean and comfortable. There didn't seem to be anything that was overlooked. Patio breakfast, extras such as hair dryer, robes; even a clothes steamer!
Scotty and Laurie gave exceptional service! Scotty was always there when you needed him, seeing to the lugage even as we docked at the Landing! Carried heavy luggage up three flights of stairs, smiling all the time! Laurie was extremely helpful at the desk, finding maps for us and checking on massage times and tips!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island's premier boutique hotel features breath-taking ocean views and classic Craftsman style. Amenities include a roof-top deck, garden courtyard, flat screen televisions, Supplepedic mattresses and an attention to detail that indulges hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you at The Avalon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel On Catalina Island CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.