We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh to Stay Longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
The Avalon Hotel
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Celebrating?
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Oh to Stay Longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

To start off with, Diana was a superior host. She is a gem herself. The property was recommended to us by a new friend of ours, Pat, and it was as gorgeous as he described. The patio below is gorgeous, and the rooftop patio is stunning with a panoramic view of the harbor. The rooms were elegantly finished and had plenty of room. My wife loved it more than I did, and I thought it was superb.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    40
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
53
299
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

the mid-week special package is a terrific value for bed and breakfast alone but it's the staff that makes the experience so wonderful. I took my mom (who is a senior) to Catalina...it was her first visit and she loved it. We found the staff took a real interest in the quality of each guests experience. The room was spacious with a queen and murphy bed and the view was beautiful. There was a separate desk area which allowed me to connect to the internet and work at my leisure.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

My wife and I traveled to Catalina for our honeymoon. When I told the front desk that it
was for our honeymoon on the phone, they spread rose petals throughout the room, and gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne. Everything was lovely; everything was super clean, the staff super helpful, and they treated us very well. In fact I work at a retreat center/hotel myself so I can tell when someone is just being nice because they are being paid. The staff here was genuinely helpful and nice. As far as amenities we were provided a laptop for use during our stay, a beach bag with towels, binoculars, lots of nice stuff . We had a great honeymoon. I'm planning our vacation now , and I plan on a return trip to this splendid hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I went for my birthday this May, was upgraded from a nice roon with a partial ocean view to a nicer room with a full ocean view with a balcony, at no extra charge. Kathy was a very sweet and caring host. She was thoughtful to keep her eye out if an upgrade became available, and I appreciate that.It made my birthday a really special one for me and my husband.
Thanks!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Guys, if you're looking to score big points with your gal and not have to spend hours pinning down all the details, this place is a no brainer. The location is perfect since it's just off the main street which runs along the shoreline which is where 90% of things are happening. We went on the off season and it was quite. The hotel is, as my wife put it, perfect, cute and romantic. The rooms (only 24) are small, but super clean, very comfortable (especially the bed) and nicely decorated. But the most important thing was the staff. Kristen and Ruben are amazing. They put together a package which included the boat ride, a few attractions and most importantly, the champagne, roses and chocolate covered strawberries that were waiting in the room for us when we arrived (score big points!!!!!!!) They also called ahead so we would have a terrific table at the resturants. The cleaning staff kept our room spotless and always had fresh towels and night time bed turn down service ready before we came back for the evening. OK, so if I have to find something to complain about, it would be the low water pressure in the shower (blame that on the draught and water conservation) and it's a little on the pricey side, but well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

The Avalon was an amazing place to stay. We stayed in room 301. The view was spectacular. My husband and I woke up to clear skies and enjoyed our lounge chairs on the deck just off our room. Very private and I felt like we had the world at our feet. The hotel was so beautiful. The decor true to the island Art Nuvoue style. Down to the silver ware and fiesta plate ware. The staff were helpful and really treated the hotel as if it were their own. Ruben and Juan went out of their way to make sure our visit was the most enjoyable. We went over to the sister Hotel for our couples massage. WOW, Barbara is the best. Her technique's were off the charts" Best massage every " . Our boat was delayed and Ruben made sure we where taken care of with a late check out and even a personal wake up call on the roof top deck where we waited for our taxi and off we went. Ruben made our visit seem like we were visiting an old friend. He is a keeper and took his job very seriously. We will be back and look forward to seeing the staff again. Oh, I can't forget Kristen. Thank you for the complimentary champain it really made our last day even more enjoyable and the sweet note you slipped into our bag. The trip kept going. Thank you again " The Avalon is a great place to stay ! Nathan and Karyn Dilworth

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

This was my second trip to the Avalon Hotel and I definitely plan to go back again. Everything is really new and great quality - they didn't skimp on anything when they remodelled this place. I particularly loved the memory foam beds - for many reasons, including it was the best night's sleep I ever had - I immediately bought myself one of these beds when I got back to the mainland. Anyway, the staff were really friendly and helpful - they gave us lots of info about what to do and arranged a golf cart for us. Would definitely recommend this place :-)

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#15 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.