We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
The Avalon Hotel
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Transportation
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Sancerre, France
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A 2 night stay in November was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is about a 5 - 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal and they have vouchers for taxis if you decide to take one.

Rooms are not huge but they are very nice, comfortable and quite. Breakfast buffet in the courtyard is simple yet elegant and delicious. Wifi is solid.

A good choice.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    35
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
47
271
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I have stayed at the Avalon and coming back was a great call. The place is, as ever, beautiful - lovely rooms, a heated pool, great restaurant. Once again though - the total stand out was the service - Alessandro from last time was there (and recoginsed us!) and he and every single person we came across just looked after us as if we were the most important thing in their day - AMAZING. We felt refreshed and cared for - thanks guys!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had the pleasure of staying at this gorgeous little gem in the heart of Catalina Island recently for a couples getaway. My husband surprised me for my birthday and our 2 night stay could not have been more perfect.
Starting with the simple check in and the surprise bottle of wine they brought up to our room, The rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds and linens are very comfortable as well. We slept like babies both nights. The rooms have a pretty little balcony off of them where you can sit and enjoy the view.
The hotel provides lots of special little surprises like wine and cheese hours, complimentary breakfast each morning etc. They also provide in room coffee and tea as well as coffee, bottled waters and teas etc downstairs. They also have a snack bin where you can choose different snacks to take with you on a day trip or up to your room for snacking at night...all complimentary as well.
The location is perfect. Right in the heart of everything and within walking distance to all restaurants, the beach, marina and zip lining. Couldn't ask for a nicer location. There is also a rooftop deck where they provide a BBQ area and chairs for sunning as well as an amazing view.
But, what makes this place the best in Avalon is the employees. Everyone we dealt with was super sweet but Erika was outstanding. She went above and beyond for us and for her, we are truly grateful. She made our stay perfect. Thank you for everything Erika.
Be sure to book this little gem...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Wow, thanks so much for your compliments, Julie! From the amenities to the location, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with your husband on your birthday. We're really proud of our staff, and we love telling them that. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Erika, but she probably has already seen your post! I hope to see you again soon!

Until next time,
Kathleen - Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a very nice place. We loved everything about our stay. We lived the location, view from our room, the service and hospitality, the breakfast in the courtyard...everything was very nice.
We will definitely stay here again.

Thank you again Avalon Hotel!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
"We loved everything about our stay" -- that's music to our ears, Dan! The location, view, service, hospitality, breakfast, and courtyard are all amenities we hope for every visitor to enjoy and we're glad you were able to experience them.

See you next time,
Kathleen - Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We are very torn rating this hotel and writing a review. We had a fantastic time in Catalina and the hotel is in an excellent location. The staff at the hotel are very warm, friendly, responsive and helpful.

If you are a light or even medium sleeper, this isn't the hotel for you. We instantly loved the old feel of the hotel until we tried to sleep the first evening. We were on the 2nd floor and you really can hear everything going on above you and when people walk down the hall or up/down the stairs. In fact, the stairs continue to settle and creak well after the person is gone. But - that's what older buildings do, so I can't fault anyone for that.

The worst was the mattress. It was like a sway back horse with nodules all over it. The last night my husband slept in the bed and I opted to pull down a Murphy bed just to try and get some relief. We did let the hotel personnel know when we checked out and she was surprised saying normally people compliment them on how comfortable the beds are. So - perhaps no one else mentioned this room (201) and hopefully the bed is replaced and the next guest will be happy.

Should we return to Catalina we would most likely look for a quieter hotel, if that is possible. However, again, you can't really expect much more from an older building.

They did give us a bottle of wine for my birthday which was delicious, had a great continental breakfast in the morning with lots of hot coffee, and our room was always cleaned spic and span each day, complete with chocolates.

So, like we said, it's difficult to write this review. While we would love to give it five stars, the noise level and horrible bed cause us to only give it a three.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Being torn or confused about your stay is definitely disheartening to hear for us. We're glad you enjoyed the location, atmosphere, and staff. However, we're sorry to hear about your quality of sleep. All of our mattresses are Supplepedic memory foam, in hopes of a good night's sleep for all. If you would like to further discuss any matters of your stay, please feel free to give us a call.

Best wishes,
Kathleen - Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days last weekend. It was the best hotel experience we've every had. So many little touches made this trip one we'll remember. Complimentary snacks, water and Snapple in the frig, and it was decorated very nicely for Halloween. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and also stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 306 is a smaller room but has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Wow, Lisa, we're so honored that you and your husband had the best hotel experience you've ever had with us! So many things make this review one we'll remember. We hope to see you again soon.

Until next time,
Kathleen - Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Have been attending the Catalina Island Jazz Festival for several years. Just spent the first weekend in the Avalon Hotel and found it to be amazing… already booked the same room for next year. Amazing touches provided like water in the refrigerator every day, beach bag in the closet, NICEST people ever… THANK YOU Avalon Hotel for a perfect weekend!

Room Tip: Third floor with a balcony!! And buy a bottle of wine to sip on the rooftop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
THANK YOU, Elizabeth, for noticing all of the little things we love to do to make your stay amazing. Your stay in a hotel should be a home away from home, so we're happy to make you feel welcome in ours. Yes, the Catalina Island Jazz Festival is a great reason to come visit us. We will see you next year!

All my best,
Kathleen - Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.