We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12th Anniversary, 1st Trip to the island and loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
The Avalon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 nights & 2 boat ticket
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“12th Anniversary, 1st Trip to the island and loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We really enjoyed the Hotel and would absolutley stay there again. The room was great and the ammenities were quite memorable. Super friendly service and a perfect location for needs around town.We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    40
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
53
301
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I surprised my wife with a trip to Catalina Island for our 35th wedding anniversary, so I wanted the experience to be great. The folks at the Avalon Hotel really made that happen. From the complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary to the assistance we received in getting our luggage up and down the stairs (no elevator), the staff was fabulous. The hotel is beautiful, the continental breakfast is excellent and the room was great. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend to anyone going to Catalina. Also, it is conveniently located, just steps off of Crescent (the "main drag" in Avalon). Thank you for making our trip memorable!

Room Tip: The garden view rooms don't have a great view - the hotel behind is not great. You do have a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Sherry and I found the Avalon Hotel on line and booked it for two nights. First night, our anniversary was complemented with a bottle of fine wine. Second night we were upgraded to room 301, the best in the Hotel. The rooms have been remodeled in African mahogany and are truly beautiful. Excellent view of harbor and close to activities in town. Walk anywhere. Start the day with a fine breakfast on the patio. We will be back.

Room Tip: Without out a doubt, #301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

In July 2014 a friend and I spent a wonderful 3 days and nights at the Avalon. We enjoyed a fresh and delicious breakfast on the patio each day and made new acquaintances from all over the country. Laurie, the manager, could not have been more helpful or more wonderful in making us feel welcome and and comfortable. She even lit the fire pit on the patio to keep us warm one foggy morning at breakfast, and let us help her feed the magnificent koi in the pond. The hotel and the rooms are extremely comfortable and nothing short of elegant. Pick up your favorite bottle of wine and take it to the rooftop deck at night!

-maureen

Room Tip: there are several rooms with balconies and ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This boutique hotel is owner managed and it shows. Great care was taken in the design and construction of this small hotel. This close attention to detail carries through to current daily operations. The rooms are spotless and staff keeps all facilities in perfect order.

A generous breakfast buffet is laid out in the mornings and complimentary snacks are offered in the evenings.

Situated just back from the harbor, you are a stone's throw from the new Spa and several excellent dining choices. All of Avalon is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Beautiful hotel. We enjoyed continental breakfast in the garden with the koi and the multitude of hummingbirds. The rooftop deck is beautiful. They have a wine and cheese gathering on Fridays which we enjoyed as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a deck. Alway call and speak with the innkeeper she is a wonderful s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent three nights in this hotel. Our room, #306, featured a private balcony with a wonderful and full view of the bay. There is also a common balcony one floor up with excellent views. The room was rather small but was equipped with a desk and refrigerator. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. In-room Wi-Fi was included in the price, and the refrigerator was stocked daily with complimentary bottles of Snapple and water, along with a variety of chocolates. We mentioned that we were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and found a chilled bottle of champagne and glasses waiting in our room. With the refreshing ocean breeze coming through the balcony door, the room was comfortable and relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is only very basic continental, but it is served in a pleasant garden area to the side of the building. The hotel is located a block away from the ocean side shops and restaurants. We spent one day hiking and the other kayaking, and easily walked everywhere we needed or wanted to go. If reading is a big part of your relaxation time, as it is ours, don’t forget to bring your clip-on book lights for the evening, since the lighting in the room is inadequate, even with the dimmer turned up all the way. Finally, this place is quite expensive; certainly one might expect more for the money. Nevertheless, we very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#7 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#14 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#17 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.