We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Avalon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I previously stayed at Portofino for 2 years, then stayed at the metropole suite for 3 years during the Catalina Island Jazz Festival. Became increasingly disappointed with service and lodging of our ocean view suite and decided to look elsewhere. My I wished I had found this place before. The Customer service is outstanding. Laurie you are amazing. The front desk personnel go out of their way to make you feel special. Location is great and the suite was perfect. Had a Murphy bed to accommodate the 2nd person in my party. Morning breakfast and snacks throughout the day are great. Hands down this is the best place to stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable. On my 2nd day there I knew I wanted to book for next year and when I did was sad to find out that room was booked for 2014. Laurie booked another suite for me on a lower level. To my surprise I got an email saying the folks cancelled and I was booked in the room I wanted. That's what you call customer service. She did not have to notify me and could have given it to someone else. That's why I will be returning. Service is priceless

Rhonda

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    34
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
254
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

And the rooms and amenities are not all that delighted us. The Innkeeper, Laurie, and her staff were so gracious and helpful. Great breakfast included, then wine and cheese on Friday afternoons. The rooms are really clean and well-appointed. Our only beef was that the comforter on the bed must have been made of lead. It weighed a TON and we quickly jettisoned it onto the floor and grabbed the extra blanket from the bottom drawer. We will not stay in a different hotel on Catalina...ever.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so the less-fit may opt for a lower floor. We loved the view from the top/t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I would give it 3.5 bubbles. The Avalon is cute, more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. It's got character and much like with houses, you pay for that quirkiness with some annoyance.

Fabulous:
Ergonomic Foam pillow
Foam mattress (a little odd, but good sleep)
View from patio
Location

Likeable:
Nice staff
Homey feel
Free wine and water
Fridge
Nice bathroom

Nope:
20 pound bedspread/ comforter; not functional, ugly, waste of space
Showerhead strong flow, but hard to keep hair dry if you don't want to wash it.
Nothing in room smells nice. Towels smell bad. One had a bloodstain. I had a slight fresh paint odour in my nose all evening, but no pleasant scents. Not allowed inscense or candles, so no way to create a pleasant olfactory ambience.

I slept really well, which is rare for me, so I would probably stay here again, but I can't give it too high a rating because it has flaws that could be fixed if they wanted to.

I can see how people would be very disappointed coming in with high expectations or for a special occasion, but there are enough good points that one should have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the Avalon Hotel for our honeymoon, It was such a great experience! It is a very nice hotel with all the latest amenities, but still small enough to be cozy and intimate. The staff certainly exemplifies that atmosphere, and we were so well taken care of. New beach towels, drinks, and coffee everyday in the rooms, not to mention snacks and coffee any time from the Keurig in the lobby! The continental breakfast was extensive as well. We stayed in 301, with a full ocean view. Such a spectacle, overlooking Avalon bay! The rooms were very clean, the beds were very comfy, and the decor complimented the feel of the island and culture very well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and if we ever go back, we will certainly not think twice about calling on the wonderful ladies at the Avalon Hotel again. 5 Stars!

Room Tip: 301 is the room to stay in! Full ocean view on private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First time to Catalina. We narrowed down our search and chose the Avalon hotel. So glad we did! The location, views and rooms are excellent. Had 302- balcony with ocean view. Get the three night special. The 360* roof top view and lounging area is beautiful, as is breakfast in the courtyard with the koi pond, fire pit and hummingbirds! The decor is beautiful craftsman style wood. Amenities are generous- snacks, water, coffee, lotions. The innkeepers are nice- thanks Laurie and staff. The reason it's better than the others is because it is nicer, newer, smaller, and quieter than some of the other nice properties (except for construction right now) but still only a minute from the main street. Also more private and charming. The golf carts are fun. Get a free Von's membership card to save money at the grocery store. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: get a top floor balcony- 302 was perfect- but the rooftop area makes a non balcony room just fine! n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Located across the street from the beach, this boutique hotel is worth a short stay. We especially liked the roof garden with its sweeping views of the Avalon Harbour. It's about a ten minute walk from the Avalon Express - easy to get to with suitcases on wheels.

What we did not like was the noise of vehicular traffic which starts about 0530 and continues through late evening. Also most of the rooms, including ours, have no windows and are very tiny. But, heh, who spends much time in their room when visiting a lovely oasis like Catalina Island!

Room Tip: Great inn for a two-night stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelburne,VT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recently we spent an abbreviated trip to Avalon
First the hotel is beautifully appointed, wonderful modern bathroom and tub, delightful and clean room with a balcony. Breakfast garden is relaxing, tropical with sufficiently available breakfast essentials. Our first floor ocean view had a balcony overlooking the street. there was some minor street noise, but expected with first floor.
Our trip was shortened by a death in the family and the staff of Laurie and Ellen could not have been more understanding and accommodative. They refunded our unused day and helped with letting us use the room all day until 5.40 ferry.
This was not the least expensive we could have booked, but I find that you usually get what you pay for. On our next trip to Avalon we would unhesitatingly stay her.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island's premier boutique hotel features breath-taking ocean views and classic Craftsman style. Amenities include a roof-top deck, garden courtyard, flat screen televisions, Supplepedic mattresses and an attention to detail that indulges hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you at The Avalon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel On Catalina Island CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.