We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Two Night Fall Vacation
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Abilene, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the Avalon Hotel for our honeymoon, It was such a great experience! It is a very nice hotel with all the latest amenities, but still small enough to be cozy and intimate. The staff certainly exemplifies that atmosphere, and we were so well taken care of. New beach towels, drinks, and coffee everyday in the rooms, not to mention snacks and coffee any time from the Keurig in the lobby! The continental breakfast was extensive as well. We stayed in 301, with a full ocean view. Such a spectacle, overlooking Avalon bay! The rooms were very clean, the beds were very comfy, and the decor complimented the feel of the island and culture very well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and if we ever go back, we will certainly not think twice about calling on the wonderful ladies at the Avalon Hotel again. 5 Stars!

Room Tip: 301 is the room to stay in! Full ocean view on private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    35
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
264
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First time to Catalina. We narrowed down our search and chose the Avalon hotel. So glad we did! The location, views and rooms are excellent. Had 302- balcony with ocean view. Get the three night special. The 360* roof top view and lounging area is beautiful, as is breakfast in the courtyard with the koi pond, fire pit and hummingbirds! The decor is beautiful craftsman style wood. Amenities are generous- snacks, water, coffee, lotions. The innkeepers are nice- thanks Laurie and staff. The reason it's better than the others is because it is nicer, newer, smaller, and quieter than some of the other nice properties (except for construction right now) but still only a minute from the main street. Also more private and charming. The golf carts are fun. Get a free Von's membership card to save money at the grocery store. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: get a top floor balcony- 302 was perfect- but the rooftop area makes a non balcony room just fine! n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Located across the street from the beach, this boutique hotel is worth a short stay. We especially liked the roof garden with its sweeping views of the Avalon Harbour. It's about a ten minute walk from the Avalon Express - easy to get to with suitcases on wheels.

What we did not like was the noise of vehicular traffic which starts about 0530 and continues through late evening. Also most of the rooms, including ours, have no windows and are very tiny. But, heh, who spends much time in their room when visiting a lovely oasis like Catalina Island!

Room Tip: Great inn for a two-night stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelburne,VT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recently we spent an abbreviated trip to Avalon
First the hotel is beautifully appointed, wonderful modern bathroom and tub, delightful and clean room with a balcony. Breakfast garden is relaxing, tropical with sufficiently available breakfast essentials. Our first floor ocean view had a balcony overlooking the street. there was some minor street noise, but expected with first floor.
Our trip was shortened by a death in the family and the staff of Laurie and Ellen could not have been more understanding and accommodative. They refunded our unused day and helped with letting us use the room all day until 5.40 ferry.
This was not the least expensive we could have booked, but I find that you usually get what you pay for. On our next trip to Avalon we would unhesitatingly stay her.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went for our 30 year anniversary and took my parents also. The staff took such wonderful care of us. Our room was nice and clean. The lotion, body butter and body scrub is awesome. They also sell it and of course I bought some. There is water and snapple in your room. The room top has a beautiful view we spent alot of time just looking out at the boats and the ocean. The staff gave us lots of information on anywhere we wanted to go. The staff is so good to their customers. Thank you for a wonderful time and a very nice Inn. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I booked a Ocean View Room, when we arrived the front desk clerks were fantastic. The room was great and the view was nice. We were there for my birthday, and had a great time. They had wine and cheese on the patio in the evenings. Continental breakfast every morning on the patio. The Koi pond was nice. Would definitely stay here again next time we head to Catalina.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for the Ocean View rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My three girlfriends and I booked the Ocean View Room 201 for a two-night weekend stay. We were initially sold because the price was right; once we got there we were sort of bowled over by how truly awesome this place was. We were checked in by Laurie who was beyond accommodating. She gave us a tour of the charming breakfast patio and pointed out the generous continental breakfast, the unlimited supply of fresh fruit and snacks in the lobby, and the rooftop patio access. She also let us know that the rooms were stocked with bottled water and Snapple at no extra charge. As if that weren't enough, our room itself had an awesome view and an amazing bathroom. It was clean, and the front desk staff was consistently friendly and helpful. It was also perfectly situated so that it was close to everything but still quiet at night. Finally, the free taxi to and from the boat was a lifesaver.

My only criticism is that the bedding/curtains would benefit from an update. However, I'm really being petty by even mentioning it. You will not be disappointed if you book a room here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island's premier boutique hotel features breath-taking ocean views and classic Craftsman style. Amenities include a roof-top deck, garden courtyard, flat screen televisions, Supplepedic mattresses and an attention to detail that indulges hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you at The Avalon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel On Catalina Island CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.