We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Avalon
Victorville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went for our 30 year anniversary and took my parents also. The staff took such wonderful care of us. Our room was nice and clean. The lotion, body butter and body scrub is awesome. They also sell it and of course I bought some. There is water and snapple in your room. The room top has a beautiful view we spent alot of time just looking out at the boats and the ocean. The staff gave us lots of information on anywhere we wanted to go. The staff is so good to their customers. Thank you for a wonderful time and a very nice Inn. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    32
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
46
242
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I booked a Ocean View Room, when we arrived the front desk clerks were fantastic. The room was great and the view was nice. We were there for my birthday, and had a great time. They had wine and cheese on the patio in the evenings. Continental breakfast every morning on the patio. The Koi pond was nice. Would definitely stay here again next time we head to Catalina.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for the Ocean View rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My three girlfriends and I booked the Ocean View Room 201 for a two-night weekend stay. We were initially sold because the price was right; once we got there we were sort of bowled over by how truly awesome this place was. We were checked in by Laurie who was beyond accommodating. She gave us a tour of the charming breakfast patio and pointed out the generous continental breakfast, the unlimited supply of fresh fruit and snacks in the lobby, and the rooftop patio access. She also let us know that the rooms were stocked with bottled water and Snapple at no extra charge. As if that weren't enough, our room itself had an awesome view and an amazing bathroom. It was clean, and the front desk staff was consistently friendly and helpful. It was also perfectly situated so that it was close to everything but still quiet at night. Finally, the free taxi to and from the boat was a lifesaver.

My only criticism is that the bedding/curtains would benefit from an update. However, I'm really being petty by even mentioning it. You will not be disappointed if you book a room here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was my husband and my 10 year anniversary and he took our family to The Avalon on Catalina. Laurie and the other staff were so helpful with recommendations for us, accommodating our busy three year old son (feeding the fish in the koi pond was a big hit) and our baby daughter, and we found the entire hotel experience here to be so relaxing and inviting. Our large corner room had beautiful views, two balconies, and an updated bathroom, and the location is fantastic. Right near everything without being on the noisy main street. The Avalon feels more like a bed and breakfast, much more personal than many other hotel experiences. We loved it so much we bought two of their signature coffee mugs. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and we had a great time. The service was exceptional. Room was and entire hotel was very clean. We loved the location as well. Short walk to everywhere; we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were there in Aug 2013, and the hotel and its staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a very nice B&B feel to it as well. The room was clean, spacious, and I would recommend the rooms with a balcony and view of the ocean (it's well worth the price). I echo the others who write about the no elevators - not an issue for us at all, but for those who can't climb stairs - it may be an issue. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Aside from the hotel being at such a beautiful location (with views, views, views), it's about the experience. The staff are most gracious (seemingly effortlessly, Diana got our group checked in -- including special requests, room swaps, and who knows what other "craziness" . . . and Ellen is practically their onsite tour guide). The breakfasts in the well-groomed garden (with a wonderful koi pond) were so blissful, and with flare, they "turned up the dial" to a festive garden dinner -- including a rooftop reception with wrap-around vistas. The front desk extraordinaires took care of everything -- no inquiry was too small (or impossible). Thank you, thank you for a fabulous . . . just fabulous experience!

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are sunny / warmer, while northern rooms are cooler. Southern rooms have the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel On Catalina Island CA
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island's premier boutique hotel features breath-taking ocean views and classic Craftsman style. Amenities include a roof-top deck, garden courtyard, flat screen televisions, Supplepedic mattresses and an attention to detail that indulges hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you at The Avalon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.