We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in catalina!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Avalon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay in catalina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and we had a great time. The service was exceptional. Room was and entire hotel was very clean. We loved the location as well. Short walk to everywhere; we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    33
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
253
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were there in Aug 2013, and the hotel and its staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a very nice B&B feel to it as well. The room was clean, spacious, and I would recommend the rooms with a balcony and view of the ocean (it's well worth the price). I echo the others who write about the no elevators - not an issue for us at all, but for those who can't climb stairs - it may be an issue. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Aside from the hotel being at such a beautiful location (with views, views, views), it's about the experience. The staff are most gracious (seemingly effortlessly, Diana got our group checked in -- including special requests, room swaps, and who knows what other "craziness" . . . and Ellen is practically their onsite tour guide). The breakfasts in the well-groomed garden (with a wonderful koi pond) were so blissful, and with flare, they "turned up the dial" to a festive garden dinner -- including a rooftop reception with wrap-around vistas. The front desk extraordinaires took care of everything -- no inquiry was too small (or impossible). Thank you, thank you for a fabulous . . . just fabulous experience!

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are sunny / warmer, while northern rooms are cooler. Southern rooms have the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

More like 4 1/2 stars
- Loved the location, its a short walk to the main areas in town. However the climb is uphill from the main street and they do have a flight of stairs to the main level. No elevator access.
- If you have roller bags you can totally walk to the hotel from the boat landing. (1/2 mile or so)
- Clean rooms, comfy & vintage feel with the decor. Our room wasnt modern which was fine by us.
- 302 had a nice balcony with 2 chairs and a view of the pier.
- Bathroom had good toiletries. Loved the body scrub, body butter,& body lotion . The sunscreen had 30 spf, but on reading closer they said it was to be used to protect skin during tanning. Complete oversight on our part!
- We liked that they had ceiling fans and bedside controls.
- Comfortable beds and pillows. Comforter was heavy.
- Loved that the bottled water and Snapple was complimentary.
- Loved that they had organic raisins, fresh fruits and small snack bags in the reception.
- The continental breakfast was the usual with a variety of carbs (dry cereal, instant oatmeal, danish, muffins, english muffin breads, croissonts).
We loved the addition of hardboiled eggs, honey, and the assortment of teas, peach nilgiri tea was my favorite.
- Roof deck was great. Would love to see some umbrellas there.

The only 1/2 ive taken away for minor loose ends
-Beds were made fine and so were the bathrooms cleaned, but used kleenex, 1/2 filled water cups werent taken care of.
- The water pressure in the showers were weak
- toilet roll holder that was broken and hanging loose. We tried to get the attention by removing the toilet roll but it was simply placed back on the loose holder.

All in all we had a comfortable 2 night stay.

Room Tip: 302 good view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Service and hospitality was outstanding. All staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Quaint hotel - everything we needed was provided for a very pleasant stay. Don't recommend to those with problems climbing stairs. No elevators. We were on 3rd floor and in good health, so no problem for us. Also, hotel is on steep sidewalk, set back from the main street with several steps to the entrance as well. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a great time here. The staff is friendly and attentive. I've never stayed at a hotel where I've been greeted every single time I left and returned until here, and we were in and out all day. The room was great, the pillows and mattress were amazing. Very beach like feel. The stairs will give you some exercise going to the 3rd floor, but we welcomed it. The roof top deck is awesome, especially at night time. Tons of stars out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was great - garden view. Continental Breakfast in garden courtyard was lovely, Koi pond was nice, along with all of the vegetation and flowers in the courtyard. Friday night wine and cheese was fun, along with all of the snacks available in the lobby. The only thing we would change was the coffee packets in the room - the coffee tasted much different in room than at the continental breakfast. We will definitely stay again when we return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island's premier boutique hotel features breath-taking ocean views and classic Craftsman style. Amenities include a roof-top deck, garden courtyard, flat screen televisions, Supplepedic mattresses and an attention to detail that indulges hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you at The Avalon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel On Catalina Island CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.