We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an incredible place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Avalon
Death Valley Junction
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What an incredible place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is your home away from home. The beds are so comfortable plus the bath amenities are fantastic. The hotel accomidated our small group of friends as well. The balconies are so wonderful only to be topped by the staff's friendliness and cleanliness. You have not taken a bath until you have bathed in the fabulous bathtubs and sea salts. Look no further, this is truly your second home with a full staff to help you.

Room Tip: This is a perfect hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    32
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
46
242
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, Utah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a lovely place to stay! The hotel is close to the main part of Avalon, but away from bustle. It was quiet, comfortable, and the amenities were great. The staff is very friendly and helpful without getting in your way. When you have a concern, they respond quickly. For example, the first evening my husband and I wanted to read, but found the lighting in the room inadequate. In the morning I asked if they perhaps had reading lamps, and by the time we came back to our room, there were two great lamps on the tables beside our bed.

There is a patio area where the continental breakfast is served. They lit the fire pit, and our table was between that and the koi pond. We sat and watched the woodpeckers and other birds, and were able to relax and enjoy the morning.

Overall, this is a great place to get away, relax, and let go of stress.

Room Tip: We were in room 305. No direct view of the ocean, but you can open the sliding glass door and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We found this hotel an Snique Away and booked a balcony room for a night. We arrived at a lovely, quaint hotel, a half block off the beaten track, and checked in with an enthusiastic and helpful desk clerk, who took us to our room.
The room was reasonably sized and the amenities were very nice. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom nicely appointed.
What made the stay memorable is that there were several small amenities, such as coffee and snacks in the lobby and in the room, made available at no extra charge. I really dislike hotels that "nickel and dime" you for everything, and although I am sure I paid for these little extras, it was nice to have them available for the price of the accommodations.
There is a large roof deck which a panoramic view of the harbor and most of the City of Avalon as well as an ample balcony adjoining the room. All of these made for a really positive experience.
The room included a small continental breakfast which was also quite nice. The only drawback was that we were there on Feb. 28, and it was a bit too cold to have the breakfast on their private ground level patio, so had to eat in the small lobby, which can only seat 2 or 3 people at a time, but I'm sure most of the year when you can sit outside and have your breakfast, this also is outstanding. I highly recommend the Avalon Hotel if you go to Catalina Island.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room rather than a "no view" room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff were very helpful and gracious. The location was nice and slightly offset from the main street which we liked.. The views were great and the little eating area was quaint. We would come back here for future trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Though it was a bit chilly in the air, the hospitality of the staff at the hotel as well as the people on the island kept us warm. We had a lovely stay of two nights and this island feels so exotic, not like anything else in the US. I can really recommend everyone a trip here, and of course you just have to try the beds at this hotel. You don't want to go home!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband surprised me with a surprise trip to Catalina, and no kids. When we got to the hotel I was exteremly pleased. Everyone was so sweet and the accomodations were exceptional! I can't wait till we can return to the island and stay at The Avalon Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hubby and I took 2 nights/3 days off from the kids to come to Catalina, and decided early on the Avalon. The staff was super friendly and warm, and we feel like we got exactly what we had planned - a clean, nicely done room with a beautiful view of the harbor. The only reason I didn't give more stars was simply because the room was so incredibly tiny we barely fit (we are both over 6'). But otherwise I would say to travelers that you wouldn't be disappointed at the Avalon. It is bright, cherry, and very well located.

Room Tip: We had 306 - which was teeny. I think some of the other rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel On Catalina Island CA
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island's premier boutique hotel features breath-taking ocean views and classic Craftsman style. Amenities include a roof-top deck, garden courtyard, flat screen televisions, Supplepedic mattresses and an attention to detail that indulges hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you at The Avalon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.