We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avalon Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
The Avalon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Avalon Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a lovely place to stay! The hotel is close to the main part of Avalon, but away from bustle. It was quiet, comfortable, and the amenities were great. The staff is very friendly and helpful without getting in your way. When you have a concern, they respond quickly. For example, the first evening my husband and I wanted to read, but found the lighting in the room inadequate. In the morning I asked if they perhaps had reading lamps, and by the time we came back to our room, there were two great lamps on the tables beside our bed.

There is a patio area where the continental breakfast is served. They lit the fire pit, and our table was between that and the koi pond. We sat and watched the woodpeckers and other birds, and were able to relax and enjoy the morning.

Overall, this is a great place to get away, relax, and let go of stress.

Room Tip: We were in room 305. No direct view of the ocean, but you can open the sliding glass door and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We found this hotel an Snique Away and booked a balcony room for a night. We arrived at a lovely, quaint hotel, a half block off the beaten track, and checked in with an enthusiastic and helpful desk clerk, who took us to our room.
The room was reasonably sized and the amenities were very nice. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom nicely appointed.
What made the stay memorable is that there were several small amenities, such as coffee and snacks in the lobby and in the room, made available at no extra charge. I really dislike hotels that "nickel and dime" you for everything, and although I am sure I paid for these little extras, it was nice to have them available for the price of the accommodations.
There is a large roof deck which a panoramic view of the harbor and most of the City of Avalon as well as an ample balcony adjoining the room. All of these made for a really positive experience.
The room included a small continental breakfast which was also quite nice. The only drawback was that we were there on Feb. 28, and it was a bit too cold to have the breakfast on their private ground level patio, so had to eat in the small lobby, which can only seat 2 or 3 people at a time, but I'm sure most of the year when you can sit outside and have your breakfast, this also is outstanding. I highly recommend the Avalon Hotel if you go to Catalina Island.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room rather than a "no view" room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike_wexler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff were very helpful and gracious. The location was nice and slightly offset from the main street which we liked.. The views were great and the little eating area was quaint. We would come back here for future trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagiedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Though it was a bit chilly in the air, the hospitality of the staff at the hotel as well as the people on the island kept us warm. We had a lovely stay of two nights and this island feels so exotic, not like anything else in the US. I can really recommend everyone a trip here, and of course you just have to try the beds at this hotel. You don't want to go home!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank USAfantast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband surprised me with a surprise trip to Catalina, and no kids. When we got to the hotel I was exteremly pleased. Everyone was so sweet and the accomodations were exceptional! I can't wait till we can return to the island and stay at The Avalon Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hvcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hubby and I took 2 nights/3 days off from the kids to come to Catalina, and decided early on the Avalon. The staff was super friendly and warm, and we feel like we got exactly what we had planned - a clean, nicely done room with a beautiful view of the harbor. The only reason I didn't give more stars was simply because the room was so incredibly tiny we barely fit (we are both over 6'). But otherwise I would say to travelers that you wouldn't be disappointed at the Avalon. It is bright, cherry, and very well located.

Room Tip: We had 306 - which was teeny. I think some of the other rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FL_BabyMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, Ca.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

What a delightful hotel. Just off of the beaten path but close enough to everything. A short walk from the ferry or take a golf cart limo. The rooms were beautifully laid out with comforts abound. We love the African mahogany wood that decorated the room and entry door. We stayed in room 301 that faced the harbor and I think is the best room in the hotel. We were treated to the full moon rising up between the palm trees for a surreal view. They have roof top viewing with bar stools and tables available. We enjoyed the company of the owners at the wine and cheese party on Friday night. They were gracious hosts. The only problem is the visit was too short. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helodriver2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#7 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#12 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#15 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing