We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"First time to Catalina, and the Avalon Hotel, we'll be back"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
The Avalon Hotel
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Celebrating?
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, California
2 reviews
“"First time to Catalina, and the Avalon Hotel, we'll be back"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spur of the moment trip. Overall nice, romantic, quiet place to stay. The rooftop has amazing views. Laurie at the front desk was friendly and pleasant, took the time to accommodate our stay. Staff very friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences. Isn't it great when a last minute getaway becomes an experience to cherish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    40
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
53
299
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay at The Avalon during the Catalina Jazz Festival. I can't say enough about the hotel, the staff and the Island. Although it has a subdued look from the street it is actually a very well appointed hotel with a wonderful courtyard and rooftop deck. The staff were amazing especially the manager Lori. A group of guests, some of which who didnt know each other before arriving, ended up becoming friends and no doubt because of the fun atmosphere of the hotel. The management not only allowed us to use the BBQ on the roof for a group dinner but helped out with plates, utensils, etc. making it truly a party for all.

The rooms come with a continental breakfast which I usually write off as being danishes, corn flakes and toast. In this case it was first class with scones, fruit, granola, hard boiled eggs, breads...served in the courtyard with the waterfall and koi pond....just awesome.

Our room, 301, had a spectacular view of the harbor with a wrap around deck, outdoor wet bar and nice wooden chaise lounge chairs. No question an expensive stay but given the event and the ambiance I don't regret spending the money for a second.

I cant recommend this place enough. Will certainly be back for next years festival and another stay at The Avalon.

Room Tip: When getting a view room the view is great but you do pay more. I think worth it but up to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay for JazzTrax. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After searching multiple properties on Catalina (all of which I am sure are also great)....we were delighted to check into the Avalon and find friendly service, a first class room with a lovely balcony with an ocean view and all inclusive amenities. The innkeeper couldn't have been nicer and her staff was most accommodating as well. The roof top terrace provided 360 views of the harbor, the mountains and everything you could want on lovely cloudless nights. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear that you had such a great time and enjoyed the hotel and our roof-top deck. Hope you'll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was looking for a quick relaxing vacation out of the city for my sweetie and me. One of our must go places was Catalina island so I looked up and compare a number of places. What I like about the Avalon was the smaller hotel idea and great packages. The package included a great view on the top floor, two round trip tickets from any port to Catalina and paid taxis to and from. We arrived on the first boat ride and arrived to check in luggage when they told us we could check in now since our room was ready ( at 10:00am). To make a long story short the service was super friendly, inviting and helpful. They are a great breakfast setup still available about 11 am, a cheese and wine testing for guest around 4pm. The trip was a must needed escape, and this hotel was a big part of it. Check it out, it's away from the main street so it's great I'd u want a chill environment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Glad to hear you had a great stay. Thanks for sharing your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Avalon hotel is the place to stay when you are in Catalina. It is a beautiful, upscale, boutique hotel. When I am on vacation, I want to feel pampered. The Avalon delivers a sense of elegance and relaxation that I appreciate. We are looking forward to our next trip back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Glad to hear you felt pampered at The Avalon. That's the experience we try to create for everyone. We're looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Every year, we "gift" our parents with an experience as their Christmas gift. Upon their suggestion of a family trip to Catalina, we researched places to stay on the island for our group of 14. What a find! Between us, we reserved 6 rooms...ocean views, connecting balconies, wine and cheese on the patio, breakfast on the patio and relaxtion on the roof. To keep us trekking, there were always bottles of water, ice tea and cookies to enjoy. The staff were fun and helpful and totally added to our very fun weekend. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
What a wonderful family tradition. I'm sure your parents appreciate it. Glad everyone enjoyed The Avalon and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a GREAT place to stay; from the very pleasant staff, great rooms, AWESOME rooftop patio, convenient accessibility to the beach and main strip, most comfortable beds I've ever slept in at a hotel, and the delicious continental breakfast out on the patio - I could go on & on....the Avalon Hotel is a MUST stay when visiting Catalina and wanting to stay in Avalon!! Again - kuddos to Laurie S. the "Innkeeper/Concierge" - she makes all the difference. She made it feel more like a bed & breakfast with her outstanding customer service and hospitality skills!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Glad you enjoyed everything. We'll be sure to share your kudos with Laurie. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#15 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.