We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Two Night Summer Vacation
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Avalon
Temecula
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“5 stars for everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I took our team of realtors and their spouses who earned an awards trip and we had an amazing time!! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, pure enjoyment. The rooms are wonderful, all have views! The beds are memory foam or something...wonderful nights sleep. The breakfast is waaaay beyond a continental (bagels, muffins, oatmeal boiled eggs, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, cereal, yogurt). the garden with koi and firepit are a wonderful way to eat breakfast each morning. No rushing either...breakfast is 6:30-10am. Now....lets talk about the bathroom toiletries!! The Avalon has their own special blend of body scrub, body butter made by the San Diego Soap company. I bought some to take home it was so wonderful! Your right in town...Oh goodness, the rooms, their views, the quality, the amenities...we will most definitely be back with our team next year . (The ziplining and Cape Canyon hummer tours didn't hurt either! ) What a wonderful trip

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    34
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
260
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you visit Catalina Island an overnight stay at the Avalon Hotel is a must. The hotel is among the best I've encountered in many years of travel throughout the United States and abroad. The staff is most accomodating from securing both hotel and ferry reservations to the checking out procedures. The rooms are spacious, beautiful furnished, and filled with no-extra fee amenities such as a beach chair and towel, tote bag, bottled water, bottled fruit drink, and even sun screen. A breakfast buffet is served in a lovely garden replete with a fountain/pond stocked with overfed fish. Indulge yourself and enjoy the Avalon.

Room Tip: There is no elevator (as the staff reminded me as I made my reservtion); if climbing up/down stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at The Avalon - great ocean view, comfortable (although somewhat small) quarters, and nicely appointed. Not a fancy hotel, and not long on extras, but very friendly staff, warm hotel decor, and a great outdoor area for the complementary breakfast. I never tried the evening wine get-together, but seems like a very nice touch.

Room Tip: If you're on Catalina, seems like you should get a room with a view, so go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I had our first visit to Catalina Island and chose the Avalon Hotel with no prior knowledge. We had a balcony room with views of the harbor. The experience was very good. We looked around at other hotels while we were on the island and didn't see any place we'd rather have stayed. The hotel has a nice character and the staff is friendly. We enjoyed the courtyard with the fire in the evenings and just relaxing there in the afternoons. Having breakfast on the rooftop was spectacular. We enjoyed the Friday night wine and cheese and were pleasantly surprised by the complimentary champagne to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The room was a bit smaller than I expected but I got the impression this was typical if not big for Catalina. We'd stay there again. The 3rd floor balcony room is great.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great, 3rd floor is better than the 2nd but 2nd would still have an OK view. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a quaint little hotel full of character.. from the designer toiletries to little complimentary packets of coffee/tea/hot chocolate available in the lobby all through the day, this place really knows how to pamper it's guests! All in all, it was a lovely stay.. staff are attentive, decor is beautiful, and the view is amazing!! only drawbacks : no lifts, so we had to lug our stuff all the way up the stairs.. also, while breakfast is complimentary, there is no meat whatsoever.. Fruits, cereal, yoghurt and bread were pretty good though :) oh! and they pay for your taxi to and from the hotel.. it's part of the hotel fee!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a wonderful first visit to Avalon Hotel. We were surprised by a up grade in our room with beautiful wrap around views room 301. The staff was so nice, always ready too chat or help out. We enjoyed our continental breakfast each morning on their cozy patio, by the fire ring. They helped celebrate our Anniversary with great a bottle of wine. Our trip to Catalina to celebrate our Anniversary and our stay at Avalon Hotel was Fantastic.

Susan E. Miller

Room Tip: Room 301 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My daughter and I visited Catalina Island last weekend and had a wonderful time! We stayed at the Avalon Hotel on Whittley Street in room 102. The accommodations were perfect. From the comfy bed and robes to the continental breakfast, everything was wonderful! We had a balcony with partial ocean views....all you had to do was walk out and look to the right. If we wanted more, we could go to the rooftop deck and see for miles: bright sparkling turquoise water, yachts in the harbor, and the rest of the island around and to the back of us. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. There was even wine and cheese on the patio our first night. The Hotel Avalon reminded me much more of a B & B than a hotel. It was very quaint. Be sure to take a cab from the ferry over to the hotel. It is included with your reservation. Loved our stay at The Avalon Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be a little noisy with people bustling below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island's premier boutique hotel features breath-taking ocean views and classic Craftsman style. Amenities include a roof-top deck, garden courtyard, flat screen televisions, Supplepedic mattresses and an attention to detail that indulges hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you at The Avalon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel On Catalina Island CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.