We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic weekend away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Two Night Summer Vacation
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Avalon
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic weekend away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My boyfriend gave me a trip to Catalina for the weekend as a Xmas present. He chose a weekend in July, flew us over by helicopter and then booked the best room at The Avalon Hotel, 301. It has a wrap around balcony with an amazing view of the harbor and casino. The hotel staff was amazing, helpful and extremely nice. Morning breakfast in the courtyard of on the lighter side, Friday afternoon wine & cheese on the courtyard. Coffee, cookies and drinks all day along available. There is also a roof top deck with lounge chairs and BBQ. Full sun, no need to fight for a space on the small beaches.

Room 301 was a nice size. I did peak into other rooms that seemed much smaller, so I loved our room. They provided wonderful smelling soaps and shampoos in the bathroom. Everything was so clean, neat and warm. We sat out on our balcony to get some sun and enjoy some champagne that the hotel was kind enough to put in our room the first night. Diana was extremely helpful and made sure everything was wonderful. The Innkeeper, Lori, was gracious and just what you would want from a B&B owner.

Loved Catalina. Highly recommend the zipline on the island. Jake and Matt were the best guides. Had a blast and cant wait to return to the island and the Avalon Hotel. We will certainly be back for another adventure.

Room Tip: Must get Room 301. Book early as this room is worth the wait. Although on the busy street, the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    34
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
258
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I were trying to squeeze in a trip to Catalina around a demanding business trip schedule in late June. As I search for hotels, condos, b&b's, etc., I was lucky enough to find one night vacant between two longer guest reservations exactly when I needed it. I was delighted to find the avalon Hotel. Two days before my arrival, I received a call from one of the staff who was just checking to see when we'd be arriving. As it turned out, she made the ferry reservations for me, too.
After a day of cross-country travel that began at 3 a.m. EST we were exhausted. We were so glad that there was a free taxi from the ferry! Upon arrival at the hotel, we found that the staff made us feel like longtime friends who were coming for a visit.
We didn't realize that the hotel offered "happy hour" but we were so glad that they did! we needed a quick shower and then a glass of wine to relax. The views and the weather were wonderful!

We also didn't know that breakfast was included but we were so pleased that it was. At the cocktail hour and at breakfast, we met friendly people and chatted with them.... like you do at boutique hotels. Laurie and Marie (???) were very accommodating and kind. Our room had one little glitch - a toilet that didn't want to flush - but they took care of that as quickly as we mentioned it. The views from the rooftop were picturesque. Our room had a little balcony right on Whittley. We enjoyed coffee and a nightcap there. Although we are not "city dwellers" we found that the golf carts were quiet enough- especially later in the evening - that we kept the windows open during the night for the refreshing breezes.

On our way back to the ferry, we elected to walk. We had very litle luggage and the weather was spectacular, so we shopped and snacked our short distance from the hotel to the ferry for our return trip.
All in all, I heartily recommend this hotel. it is more like a friendly "inn" than a hotel. One caution... I didn't see an elevator and the steps throughout Avalon - not just at this hotel - are a bit steep.

Room Tip: For the best views, ask for a 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just had a 2-night stay and I thought it was AVERAGE. The biggest thing was the lack of communication. They never told my party about the "free" taxi ride from the dock. We thought the hotel was close to the dock so hauled all our stuff and it turned out to be considerably further than we thought...upon arrival they told our sweaty selves that there was free taxi service. We took advantage of it when we left.

If you stay here, DO NOT accept a room above Whitley Street. The gas-powered golf carts might as well be driving through your room. Intolerably loud. It is so bad that if they don't guaranty a room in the back, I wouldn't stay there.

The rooms are spacious though the queen beds are too small for my taste. The people are friendly and accommodating. I had a bad experience because I was stuck in a bad room. However, at $500+ a night there is no excuse for that kind of experience.

Room Tip: Get one that is away from the street. VERY noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in room 301 for 4 nights, 5 days, ocean view with wrap around balcony. It was a splurge but well worth it. From the moment we entered the room we were stunned by the beautiful views of Avalon bay and the hillsides. You are close enough to enjoy breath taking views but far enough off the main street as a buffer for the night life noise. The place is close and central for walking to everything in Avalon.
The outdoor balcony had a fridge with a freezer where we kept our frozen peas for the fish in Lover's cove and also our wine and booze. The interior of our room also had a fridge where they kept it full of water and snapple. All of the hotel folks were so nice. Laurie made sure everything was taken care of.
The room had everything we needed from cork screw to thick bath robes. The big catalina tiled bathroom was stocked with great coconut shampoos and soaps and even a hair dryer. The bed was so comfortable.
We woke up to the peaceful courtyard to a wonderful breakfast and the sound of the beautiful fountain with huge koi fish that they let us hand feed with koi food from the receptionist. I always was the early riser and they would light the fire pit to take the morning chill off. It was the most wonderful way to spent every morning planning our day's adventures.

Room Tip: 301 ocean view if you want to splurge but so worth it. Wrap around balcony was so nice to soak up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Avalon. We stayed for 2 nights and that included 2 Catalina Express tickets and a cab voucher, so it turned out to be a really good deal. We had a third floor courtyard view room with a King size bed. I will warn you - no elevators.The room was a nice size, and the bathroom was very large. The weather there is so nice, you can just open the windows to stay cool during the day. The bathrooms have San Diego Soap Co. products, and the smell of the orange/sage shampoo and lotions is awesome.

We found the staff to be helpful and friendly, suggesting the easiest way to get to a hiking spot and reserving a spot for us on the Airport shuttle. There is a expansive continental breakfast each morning, snacks and drinks in the rooms, and other refreshments available in the lobby. We would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The hotel is small and quiet but still right in the middle of all the Avalon action. We would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: There are no stairs, so if you don't want to climb with your luggage, this might be something to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Avalon Hotel was wonderful and relaxing. The patio area with
the koi pond and fire pit made you feel welcome. My twin grandchildren
loved feeding the koi each day. The breakfast each morning was ample
and yummy. Laurie Sanchez, the innkeeper was most helpful with everything.
We hope to return soon! Ann Vogel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This the 2nd year that my wife and I have stayed @ this hotel. The service,rooms,amenities and location are excellent. The hotel staff can not do enough for you. They have a continental breakfast that is great. We were there on the 4th of July and the hotel had a free dinner with wine and rooftop view of the fireworks. This hotel spare no expense to keep their customers happy. We will be back next year with our same friends!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island's premier boutique hotel features breath-taking ocean views and classic Craftsman style. Amenities include a roof-top deck, garden courtyard, flat screen televisions, Supplepedic mattresses and an attention to detail that indulges hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you at The Avalon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel On Catalina Island CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.