We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Midweek Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Palmdale, California, United States
2 reviews
“Great Midweek Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Loved our three day - 2 night vacation on Catalina Island. Best part was a marvelous hotel/art experience - the Avalon Hotel. Friendly and knowledgeable staff made for a perfect mini-vacation. Loved the design details, wonderful California Impressionist art and historic photos on display throughout the Avalon. Also highly recommended: Lunch at the Airport and hike the loop trail - see a movie at the "Casino" (get there early to view the murals) - enjoy Catalina "endemics" at the Botanical Gardens - visit the Conservancy "Explore" Store on Clarissa Street - and end your day on the rooftop deck of the Avalon Hotel with a bottle of wine. Catalina Conservancy shuttle service and shuttle driver/tour guides were another big plus for us. Thank you Laurie, Tim, Richard, the Avalon Hotel and the Catalina Island Conservancy!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    35
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
262
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

One would think that being a Native So Californian, that I would have been to Avalon... I have looked with curiosity from the mainland for many years. It is with this background, that I planned a last minute trip to the Island.
On Wednesday, (two days before our trip), I called the Avalon hotel, asked if they had any rooms for Friday and Saturday night. They had a nice partial ocean view room on the 3rd floor... and with a two night reservation, they even offered including the transportation from the mainland as well as the Taxi ride as part of a Package. About 5 minutes later, I had an emailed confirmation of the entire plan.
Everything was as promised. The room was very nice, had an ocean view from the balcony, and the staff was great.
What to expect:
1. great views... from the balconies on the 3rd floor, as well as the rooftop!
2. great service
3. simple but filling breakfast
4. Stairs (there is no elevator) as well as a modest uphill walk from the shore. As long as you are aware of this, there is no problem. Just remember that the 3rd floor is three flights of stairs.
5. Comfortable beds.

The ONLY negative we had was some very noisy people out in the street coming in from a party at midnight. These people were NOT at the Avalon, but were staying at the hotel across the street. They hung out on the front porch for a while until someone finally shut them up. This was quickly fixed by us personally by just shutting the door and window of our room. Again, this was not the fault of the Avalon Hotel, and I only mention it to show that you can still give an "excellent" rating for a hotel while having one negative comment.

Overall, our stay was supreme. We really enjoyed our 2 day respite from the mainland.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best views. room 301 is the best (we were in room 302).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay for our 25th wedding anniversary at Catalina Island's Avalon Hotel!
When we arrived at the island we took a taxi to the hotel, which was complimentary of the hotel. We were greeted with a welcoming smile from Laurie at the front desk and a nice bottle of champagne was awaiting us in our room!

The craftsman style hotel has an intimate feel to it, very quaint, with it's beautiful woodwork throughout the hotel, a peaceful courtyard with a beautiful garden and koi pond, where you can enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast. The coffee and scones were delicious!

You can enjoy the beautiful sunsets from the rooftop deck on which you see the town of Avalon and the Pacific Ocean.

The rooms were nice, very clean, with interesting tile work in the bathroom, flat screen TV, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The only thing that could use improvement was the bed. They offered complimentary bottled water and Snapple in the refrigerator in the room, along coffee, tea, hot chocolate & popcorn. In the lobby area they also provided coffee, tea, hot chocolate and plenty of snacks, including peanuts, pretzels, cookies, etc.

The entire staff was absolutely wonderful! They were all very kind, attentive, offering ideas on places to go and restaurants to eat at. We enjoyed a nice conversation with Laurie and one of the co-owners of the hotel while relaxing in the courtyard, they made us feel like we were 'part of the family.'

We also enjoyed delicious food at an unassuming local restaurant, Lobster Trap, that was recommended to us by several of the locals. They serve the freshest shashimi and lobster that they catch daily themselves!,

Our stay at Avalon Hotel and Catalina Island was very lovely and I look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: They have really nice rooms with large balconies facing the Pacific Ocean with views of Avalon in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad you enjoyed your anniversary trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My fiance and I spent a wonderful 3 day weekend at The Avalon Hotel. The hotel was within walking distance (3-15 minutes) of everything we wanted to do on the island. Unfortunately, we didn't venture out to the island as much as we wanted because it was hard to get away from the plush and confortable room and it's amazing view (Room 306). We probably spent 3-4 hours a day looking over the pier from our balcony and concluded that it had to be the best spot in Catalina.

BTW.. They had a posturpedic mattress and pillows in our room. Having stayed at many 5star hotels that do/did not offer that before (Palazzo LV, Bellagio, Wynn Resorts, NYC Plaza, 4 seasons everywhere, La Fonda Santa Fe....) it was quite a treat.

Booking the room was incredibly easy. Having never been to Catalina before and being naive to the logistics of getting to island, the hotel's staff answered email fast and arranged transportation from the Long Beach Airport. They could have not made it more easy.
Not only did they offer an incredible place to stay, they pretty much helped plan the vacation.

The Avalon Hotel is the perfect destination for those who want to relax. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We didn't know much about Catalina and had no idea where to stay when we started looking. We chose the Avalon Hotel because it was rated #1 by TripAdvisor. We are very glad we did. From the first phone call where they staff answered our questions to working with us to book our boat reservations, they were always helpful. When we got there, they took us up to our room personally and were avaiable and helpful the whole time we were there. We enjoyed our room, the breakfast, the patio, the koi in the pond, and the fire ring on cool mornings and cold nights!!! Come to Catalina, stay at this hotel, and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
I'm glad to hear we were able to make your trip to Catalina memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City NV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our stay was perfect from the first moment when Cindy showed us to our room to the last second when we left feeling as if we were leaving family! The hotel is immaculate, the patio breakfast was beautiful! If you're looking for a big box hotel, this may not be for you. But if you're looking for a lovely, Craftsman style boutique hotel with an amazing staff, gorgeous views and great location, you'll love the Avalon. Laurie, our friendly and helpful innkeeper, Cindy, Melissa, Ken and all the others made this one of our best vacations ever. And we've traveled a fair bit in the US and Europe. We're already making plans for our next trip to Avalon. This is a view of early California at its unspoiled best!

Room Tip: Room 301 has the best view and I believe is the most expensive, but we thought it worth the addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My wife and I were lucky enough to celebrate our 30th anniversary at the Avalon last week. Our staff was perfect. Even though it was off season the Hotel was perfect. accommodations were just right and the staff was warm and helpful. Hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Try to get room 301! But even if you do not the roof top patio make the stay panoramic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island's premier boutique hotel features breath-taking ocean views and classic Craftsman style. Amenities include a roof-top deck, garden courtyard, flat screen televisions, Supplepedic mattresses and an attention to detail that indulges hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you at The Avalon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel On Catalina Island CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.