We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Catalina Island Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
The Avalon Hotel
124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Transportation
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Tübingen, Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Catalina Island Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We have stayed at the Avalon Hotel in Early March and simply loved it. We had a room with a balcony and a view of the sea. The room is beautifully done, fully equipped with microwave (and popcorn!), fridge and you get a complimentary Snapple. There is a great coffe-maker on the groundfloor and they serve a great breakfast every morning out on the patio.
The staff were very helpful, especially Martha. If we should come back to Catalina, we would love to stay at the Avalon Hotel again!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we'll thank Martha for making sure your stay was especially exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    35
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
47
271
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Avalon Hotel. We will be back and we will stay with them! For what this island has to offer, a stay here at The Avalon is awesome! We stayed in the first room at the top of the stairs and was never woke up by noise! The room is narrow (easy to adapt to!) with top-notch bathroom fixtures. I could stay here for a couple of weeks and feel like I experienced all of the ambience that the island has to offer! 15 years ago I was here and experienced Antonio's on the water. 15 years later the restaurant is so good that we even had breakfast there the day of our departure! Our servers there, at Antonio's and front desk people at The Avalon Hotel were much more than accommodating! Thank you Laurie, Heidi and the tall, young guy at the Avalon Hotel for a wonderful 50th birthday memory!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

If you like staying at a place that feels like Home away from Home, this is it. Laurie and Scottie took great care of us. The morning meal was superb, sitting in the patio by the fire on the cool January morning. They treated us like family during our entire stay. They hooked us up with wonderful things to do and good places to go. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We make an annual trip to California. This was our first visit to Catalina Island, and we were not dissappointed. We stayed at the Avalon Hotel. We chose a room with a partial view, balcony, and king sized bed. Room was comfortable, clean, and included a microwave and small frig. The host of the hotel, Laurie, was awesome. Very friendly and helpful. She made us feel at home. You have the option to book a package deal with the hotel, which I would recommend. The package we chose included the Ferry ride over to the island, and the cab ride to the hotel. The hotel offers a beautiful courtyard, with a nice continental breakfast: cereal, muffins, fruit, yogurt, toast, etc. Enough to get us to our next meal. The rooftop view of the hotel is the selling point to us. The view was awesome! You are a short distance to the beach, restaurants, and shops. The only drawback is the steps. There is no elevator, so if this is a problem, I would recommend staying on the first floor. The cabbies will bring your luggage to the front desk. The staff was so friendly, accomodating, and made us feel welcome. They put a personal stamp on our visit. Doesn't happen at alot of hotels we've stayed at. Not only that, I had left some small articles of clothing in the room. They immediately mailed it to me....no charge. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I came to this hotel because a friend recommended it to me and I couldn't have been happier. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful and nicer. They made you feel very welcome! The rooms were very cute and comfortable. Loved the newer looking bathrooms. I NEVER can sleep in hotels but I got a great night sleep here. It was super quiet which is a huge plus for me when staying at hotels. Loved the free breakfast out by the Koi pond. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This was our first trip to visit and stay on Catalia. Everything about the Avalon Hotel was perfect. The staff treated like good friends and provided excellent service. Not often do we sleep well while traveling but we did at the Avalon. The mattress and pillows were the best and the sheets are of such high quality that sleeping at night was delightful. Each morning we enjoyed the continental breakfast that featured fresh baked goods, fruit cereal, coffee and juice. Ourt trip passed quickly and when we return to Catalina we will definitely stay at the Avalon Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was our second visit to the Avalon Hotel, and we will be there again. The views, service, breakfast, cleanliness, memory foam beds, bathrooms, and little luxuries--well, I could go on and on. What is especially important to my husband and me is good service. The employees at the Avalon Hotel go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.