We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Catalina Island Inn to your Saves list
Catalina Island Inn
125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Avalon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Porterville, California, United States
1 review
“Family time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We recently took our two girls to Catalina. The hotel was reasonably priced, very clean, and located within walking distance from everything. We had a family room which included a queen bed, double bed and a twin bed. There was lots of room for everyone. The bathroom and shower was very clean. We will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    140
    49
    24
    11
See reviews for
51
225
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelseyville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We loved the inn, it was a great seven day vacation.We stayed in room 308 and had a wonderful room. The staff was very friendly and our room was always clean. It was our first visit to the island so we stayed very busy trying to see it all. You have to rent a golf cart, its a must to really see the island. We also went to the plaza and took the city tour (with Bear) enjoyed his humor and all the interesting facts.The location is fantastic, a half block to the main street and all the shops and beach.We were sad to leave, as the inn felt like home. Yes we will return and stay there again and again. Thank you Catalina Island Inn. Jack and Nina

Room Tip: We loved room 308,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Reasonably and competitively priced,, excellent location (in the center of town and one block from the beach), very friendly and highly responsive staff. I would not hesitate to stay at this inn the next time I am in Avalon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It's my first time going to Catalina Island and stayed @ Catalina Island Inn Hotel on Feb.23,2013 for our anniversary. We got the King bed w/Harbor view. The view was awesome it was fantastic place and the hotel is very clean, impressive and the staff and people there was very very friendly! The hotel is almost close to everything such as restaurants, gift shops and the Von's market. Hubby and I was very pleased and we plan to go back again and stay @ the same hotel. ^_^ ^_^

One more thing....

PS. No elevator, so if that's a problem for you; you better ask or book for the first floor but it was not a problem for us at all even though our bedroom is in the last floor which is the fourth floor :P We never regret staying in this hotel (Catalina Island Inn). Checkout their website and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The amenities at the hotel were nice enough, but the room was EXTREMELY small. We also paid for a "room with a view," when in reality the view consisted more of the rooms across the way and the rooftop of the nearby buildings, with a small view of the water. More than anything was the size--the shower was extremely small as well as the room. Overall, I wouldn't stay there again but it was an OK stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capistrano Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This little charmer is clean and sports very nice finishes; upgraded recently. My sister and I booked room #208 which is about the size of a stateroom on a cruise ship. We each had a comfortable twin size bed, a very clean bathroom and a dressing area with a compact refrigerator to keep our beverages cold. Every morning from 8 - 10, the office provides danish pastries, coffee and juice. It is enough to get your "motor" started before a day roaming Avalon or taking in other adventures. We knew what we were getting as we stayed in a King-size balcony room on our first trip here, which was a larger room but noisy with the street traffic and trash trucks early in the morning. Also, with the Von's market next door, delivery trucks broke-up the peaceful quiet of the morning. Crescent Avenue is a mere half-block walk from this lovely hotel. There is NO elevator...so if that will be a problem, don't check-in and then complain. I think of the folks who join gyms for exercise, then whine about stairs. These stairs are wide and carpeted. It's all part of the historic building.

Room Tip: The hotel's website has a table of which rooms are available on your planned travel days. It al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room was the size of a small closet. asked to be moved for the second and third night of our stay because they had put us in a room overlooking the alley where trash was being dumped and employees were hanging out in the early morning, very noisy!! They would not move us to a new room without charging us the difference of a room upgrade, no customer service here!
Needless to say we will not be satying with them again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.