We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Catalina Island Inn to your Saves list
Catalina Island Inn
125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Misleading”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Queen bed, no, a double at the best. That;s because a queen would not fit in the small room. The bathroom was just as small. On the beach..not. Don't go there on a warm day, no A/C. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Check out other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    137
    49
    24
    11
See reviews for
51
220
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The room was absolutely beautiful but from the looks of the bed in the picture it was pretty uncomfortable (for the price they should invest in some good quality mattresses). The staff was fantastic. It was really nice that you can leave your bags with the front desk if you arrive early. There is no good outdoor view from your windows but the beach is only a couple blocks away and the grocery store is right next door. tiny cheap pastries and coffee for breakfast, opted for a restaurant instead. would definitely stay here again otherwise..
swimming pool?? fitness center?? didn't know there was one??

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor and didn't experience the noise others have referred to. no a/c in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the Catalina Island Inn. We enjoyed both visits. The hotel is very clean and all the employees are very nice. They allow you to leave your bags before and after check out. Last year we stayed in room 308 which was in the middle of the hotel with a little bit of a view of the ocean. This time we stayed in room 304 which was on the inland side of the hotel. No view and no breeze. Next year I'll try for room 308 again. Hotel has a great location and I would definately be staying there again.

Room Tip: I recommend calling before securing your reservations online and asking the employees which rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

careful for what you see on their website! we had the King harbor view room, what you don't see on website is the view of the rooftop and trash before you see the "harbor view"; a lot of delivery truck noise wakes you up each morning at 6 or 7:00 a.m. and this for over $300 a night. Rooms are actually well decorated and clean... but that view was anything but spectacular. it is close to everything but it appears all the hotels are. if we return to Catalina Island definately will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: are there any rooms which do not have truck noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Bedroom was small but clean enough. Public areas of inn are attractive and location is perfect for all the town's amenities. Like previous reviewers, we were disturbed by noise from bins being emptied early each morning which became very frustrating. Continental breakfast was a bit limited; better to try one of the diners in the town which provide a wide selection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Island Inn is in a great location, although almost everything is. The rooms are very small but quaint and if you really aren't planning on spending that much time in your room I think it works. The bed is comfortable and that's really what counts.

There is a lot of noise in this place. There is no air conditioning so you have to keep your windows open. We were on the 2nd floor facing the Hermosa Hotel (which is very close to being a hostel), so lots of noise. Also, if you are next to the Hermosa Hotel, they keep their garbage bins outside that you can see from the window (gross) and the garbage trucks come every morning at 7 am to dump them and its very, very loud.

If I were to stay here again, i'd get a higher floor on the Vons side (although i'm not sure what goes on that way either).

Oh and the walls are super thin, I could hear the guy next door coughing all night. And anyone passing by your room or going up and down the stairs you can hear very clearly.

Continental breakfast includes pastries and coffee (but no decaf).

Room Tip: Request a higher floor on the Vons side (not the Hermosa Hotel side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

October 2009
Aliea is always helpful. Juan was really nice on the phone today and very helpful with my new reservations and working with me to help with a package for our stay.

Thanks

Nick

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.