We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - stayed on the 4th floor an had a balcony facing the ocean, perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Catalina Island Inn to your Saves list
Catalina Island Inn
125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Avalon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel - stayed on the 4th floor an had a balcony facing the ocean, perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I would stay here again - great, clean hotel close to the main street of shops and restaurants. There was no elevator which wasn't a problem for us but might be for some. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    140
    49
    24
    11
See reviews for
51
225
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Catalina Inn is a charming hotel close to everything. The front staff was very helpful and allowed us an earlier check-in. We enjoyed wine and cheese in the upstairs balcony, very nice. The room was very small but had everything we needed. I will return again :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked 1 King balcony and 1 queen non view rooms. When we booked the King room for about $500 for 2 nights and Queen Room for about $400 for 2 nights (rooms only), we would expect something decent…at least a place we could have a good rest in the night. But NO NO NO!

First of all, we were given 2 extremely small rooms with shower and toilet in a tiny closet area. Sink next to the TV and bed. One of our rooms was facing the street and the other was close to the street and stairway. The traffic is just horrible during the day and night. You have a Vons market right next door, postal office and many business offices right across the street.

First night, we found it very noisy from the street noise even with all windows shut. Evening noise doesn’t go away until 2 to 3 am and morning noise start early around 6 am. As the street noise isn’t bad enough, we could hear guests going up and down the stairs all night and the walls were so thin that we could hear people talking next door. We’ve contact the front desk the next morning to request for rooms in the back and was told that they NEVER had anyone complaint about street noise issues and can’t change the rooms for us. What a BS! We should have checked the review before we booked the rooms. There were so many people complaining about the noise issues. You will need EAR PLUGS if you want to stay at this hotel. The front desk could really use some classes in CUSTOMER SERVICE and handle complaints adequately.

Well, the only good thing that I could think of the hotel is that it is clean and nothing else.

Would we stay here again? NO!
We would not waste money to book this hotel again. We were supposed to have a fun and relaxing vacation, and this hotel totally ruin it. We were all pretty exhausted after 2 lacking nights of sleep and didn’t enjoy our time at Catalina Island. VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Rooms are waaaay to small, there's no AC. We had to go to the front desk for toilet paper instead of them having room service deliver it. No closets which sucks since the rooms are so small. I woke up to a garbage truck everyday since we had to have the window open to cool the room down. Beds were extremely uncomfortable which was upsetting. Wasn't worth the money spent at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The room was very nice. Although you don't absolutely need air conditioning on the island, this means you have to leave your windows open, which means you're forced to listen to the air conditioner's of the neighboring hotels/buildings and you're also forced to listen to drunken 3AM shouting and early morning trucks at the nearby Vons. The hotel staff was great, and the hotel is in a good location, but the lack of air conditioning makes it a tough call for future visits.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed there for my birthday. Were given a room at the front of the hotel on the street. Found it a bit noisy and was immediately upgraded to a king at the back of the hotel at no charge. Thank you. Had a few noisy guests opening and closing the patio doors at night, some loud talking but the rooms were spotless. Will probably return during the off season for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Starting out with the positive, the Hotel has been modernized. It is very very clean, decorated in an understated classy manner. I loved that we were able to leave our luggage there until our ferry left...we actually rented a golf cart and went to botanical gardens then gathered our luggage and returned the cart by the ferry landing and we were there, which was NOT the way we arrived...Whew!, Catalina is not a large Island..until you drag your suitcases to the farthest street and then some to the Hotel only to discover there that there is NO elevator and you are on the 3rd floor and you have to now hump that luggage up those 3 flights of stairs..bummer! This property might want to consider installing some kind of dumbwaiter system just for luggage. We actually joked about throwing it off the balcony when we left. If I stayed here again, I would not waste my money to upgrade to a "partial" view as it only gave us a view of the roof of the next building and a tiny sliver of the bay.....but I would want a window as these rooms do not come with air conditioning and would get stuffy without a breeze coming in! Our room had a ceiling fan, which we kept on the whole time as it was. Our room was very very small..not impressive. Shower and toilet in a tiny closet area and the sink was next to our bed...kind of strange....very high ceilings...First night, hubby noticed a big wet spot on his side of the mattress..had to call the night manager, luckily I listened to the girl at check in..they close the office at 10:00 pm..you have to get the night Mgr. on a phone located in the hallway..so I was in my robe, down the hallway..after 10pm..Night Mgr came and helped us turn over the mattress and gave us clean linens and then they made the bed up right in the AM, so problem was handled. sidenote to Management:I figured out why the bed was wet..you really need a small table NEXT to that sink, as we were packing up..I found myself tempted to use the bed as a table for things and could easily see how an accident could happen. The little fridge was nice! We did not eat the offered continental breakfast so I can't comment on that. All in all we loved our time on Catalina Island and will be coming back...I cannot say with cetainty we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.