We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacos and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar

The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar
501 Avalon Canyon Rd, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-2505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Hamburgers
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Tacos and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This tiny local place is off the beaten path. Locals seem to know it or people with golf carts. I go for the $1 tacos and beer. It's a fun outdoor local place on an expensive island. I wouldnt say you could get a snack cheaper on Catalina. I have heard that breakfast is good too. This is a family owned and run place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Monte, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great $1.00 taco's !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

When ever we go to Catalina we stop at the Sandtrap! It really is a hidden gem. Off the beaten path but worth the walk. It is across from the golf course and on the way to the nature center and the Wigley botanical garden. If you have a golf cart it is an easy quick ride up the hill..if you decide to walk it is a nice little walk past the park. Happy hour has really good prices...and the best taco's around! It is always nice to sit out in the patio and see the island all around you. Just a relaxing place to sit during the day. Those who work there do a great job and food always comes warm to the table.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We walked from town for breakfast. about a mile or 20 minutes. we were the only people there in the morning on both days but they had great fresh omelets with potatoes & toast. big menu, served fast & great price. nothing fancy but good. never tried the lunch there. close to the bus stop for the trolley (trolley runs on cruise ship days).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Locals eatery doesn't disappoint ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The happy hour is great. Can't beat price, ambience and good eats. Just a short walk from the harbor. Nice outdoor patio and covered dining area. Lots of locals while we were there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS CRUCES
Top Contributor
510 reviews 510 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Good place to stop for something cold to drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a "rustic" place, There is some inside seating, but mostly outside seating, some under a roof, some in the sun. They advertise breakfast and lunch and have "happy hour" tacos for $1 each. We were walking up to the botanical garden, but didn't quite make it, so turned around and got a coke and muffin here, while resting up for the hike back down to Avalon town. There are, in the back, some "rustic" restrooms.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.