We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$1 Tacos are great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar

The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar
501 Avalon Canyon Rd, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-2505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 46 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“$1 Tacos are great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went here based upon the locals recommendation. Feeding a teenager can be a challenge on a budget! The tacos were great the pork and chicken were my favorite. Their burgers looked great and are regularly 1/2 the price of the other restaurants. Their margaritas are strong so beware. During happy hour a large pitcher is $19, whereas happy hour prices are $8 at other places. It isn't right on the water, but it does overlook a golf course. nice breezes. Lots of locals here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

While cruising in our golf cart coming back from the Wrigley Memorial, we found this little spot. Happy Hour every day from 2-5pm. $1 tacos and they are DELICIOUS!! Nice little outside patio to sit and enjoy the sunshine with a cocktail and a couple of tacos...you can't ask for better than that!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Awesome lobster claw sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I both ordered the lobster claw sandwiches which are made from as you guessed it, lobster claw meat with a tarragon sauce. The sandwiches were awesome albeit somewhat pricey at $17. With a beer our lunch bill was nearly $50; however, we are talking about REAL lobster claw meat, not imitation. A slightly expensive lunch but worth treating yourself. I imagine there other less expensive selections are just as good. Great customer service ! I heard their evening bar scene is the place to be too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“H & R Chacon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Longest happy hour from 2-7pm everyday. Worth it to upgrade to strawberry marguerita (ice blended) $25 for a pitcher or $19 for regular. $1 tacos includes hard or soft shell with 3 types of meat, carnitas, ground beef and chorizo along with toppings. Definitely pick carnitas for soft shells, and half chorizo and half ground beef for hard shells. Don't top off with onions (they are bitter). Staff is always running around so expect to wait at unattended bar and taco station.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, Ca.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We ate here during happy hour and had the $1 tacos and the machacha nacho chip plate with carnitas. The nacho chip plate was an experience by itself. A hugh plate piled high with chips, beans, lots of carnitas and topped off with guacamole and sour cream. It's across from the 9th hole at the golf course. The margaritas we excellent as well. There was so much food we passed on dinner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.