We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Cocktails - Divine View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluewater Avalon Seafood Restaurant

Bluewater Avalon Seafood Restaurant
306 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
+(1)310-510-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Fish & Chips, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Thousand Oaks, California, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy Cocktails - Divine View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had cocktails in the bar while we waited for a table. My margarita was delicious I could have had several! We sat outside on the water side which had to be the best table in all of Avalon. You are right over the water overlooking the harbor. It really is a fantastic location for afternoon cocktails and dinner. The food was average by mainland standards but really good by Avalon standards since we've yet to find a really good restaurant on the island. We actually went 2 days in a row. Fried calamari and artichoke apps were really great. The sauce on the seafood pappardelle was watery. Would have been perfect if they simmered the sauce down to intensify the flavor, or maybe drained the pasta more.

Service was great, friendly accommodating staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    116
    30
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food and Cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great place for groups or solo. Loved the margaritas and delicious seafood. Recommend the Seafood Louis Salad.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great view and Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food was wonderful, especially LOVED the crab cakes. The view can't be beat for a wonderful place to sit and relax. Service was quick and friendly too. Really enjoyed this place and will be back for sure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“OKay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went here on a saturday evening to grab food prior to returning mainland.

Ambiance: Pretty decent spot for Avalon

Food: I would rate 3 out of 5. We ordered clams/mussels as a starter which was not the best. Main courses were okay. I had Grilled swordfish with tropical fruit salsa which compliments the somewhat dry taste of swordfish. I will be very honest, the food nor the service does not deserve the min $25 we paid for each course.

Service: I really liked our server. Friendly, kind, attentive server.

Price: not worth - quite expensive

Drinks: We had wine, they have a very limited selection of wines which is interesting from a business stand point since alcohol is the highest margin item on any menu - so providing limited option is not the wisest business decision. What they had was super sweet wine wines. Whatever I tried, were all on the sweet side. Also one really weird and not so cool thing was that water comes in plastic glasses. It is pretty poor approach to service when you charge $25 on avg. for your entres.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food, fast service, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped here for a cocktail and had the mussels in a bucket appetizer. A nice size serving, delicious broth. Impressed, we returned for dinner. As we had tickets to the jazz festival and on a bit of a time crunch we mentioned this to our waiter. Our wine was delicious, food came out quickly, fresh and hot. Lovely presentation. Enjoyed a grilled artichoke, enjoyable smokey flavor. Chowder was tasty and homemade. Scallops (3) were cooked perfectly with a bit of a spicy sauce. Mahi mahi was well sized, perfectly done and very tasty. Seared ahi, not the largest portion was cooked perfectly as well. Our waiter was efficient, friendly, and had our food to our table in record time. We enjoyed a leisurely meal rather than a rushed one due to the fast service. Restaurant had been refurbished since my last visit, look was modern. Outside seating on the water provided a beautiful view. Our party returned again the following night! Thank you for a great meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluewater Avalon Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Bluewater Avalon Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluewater Avalon Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.