We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Unforgettable Experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snorkeling Catalina

Snorkeling Catalina
107 Pebbly Beach Rd, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
5 6 2 - 5 4 7 - 4 1 8 5
Website
Improve this listing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Two Unforgettable Experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Thank you Catalina Snorkeling for two unforgettable experiences: a great seal and dolphin tour with Capt. Brian and my first open water dive with Ron Moore. I look forward to going back and getting my certification!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A fun time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very accommodating . Good instruction and all equipment, including wet suits, provided. Instructor goes with group into water which was calming to us with 3 grandkids participating. Talk to Connie - very nice, friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovers' Cove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had fun last weekend snorkeling at lovers' cove. The pacific was icy so a spring suit was a must for us. The water was reasonably clear and we saw a huge number of fish in and around the kelp. Primarily we saw calico bass, but also a few garibaldi, a ray, and a couple others I could not identify. You can rent gear on site or bring your own. There is no admission.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

WE had a great time snorkling in Lover's Cove among the giant kelp, garibaldi's and lots of other fish. They gave ample instruction for beginners, provided all the equipment, and had two guides for our group of 7 people. a very informative friendly group

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome first time experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My friend and I did snorkeling for the first time yesterday. We did the guided eco tour, which was about $42 per person which includes wetsuits and equipment. We were kind of scared and nervous, but our guide (I think his name is Rob) was great--very patient, supportive and showed us really great stuff. One of us swims and the other is bad at swimming. But they said you don't have to be a good swimmer to snorkel. We're both scaredy cats, but we eventually got used to using the apparatus with his guidance. What we saw in the ocean was amazing. Lots of cool-looking fish! Our guide wore extra big fins so he can hold both our hands and still propel us forward. Highly recommend this company! For the price of $42, you get a 1 hr guided tour, and an extra hr on your own with the equipment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snorkeling Catalina also viewed

 

Been to Snorkeling Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snorkeling Catalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.