We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, beautifully presented!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M Restaurant by Zest Catering & Events, Inc.

M Restaurant by Zest Catering & Events, Inc.
205 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-8404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: International, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A special events venue and pop-up restaurant, we create unique and innovative menus, wine pairings and signature cocktails to showcase our favorite cuisines from around the world. We use fresh, seasonal ingredients, grass-fed, natural and organic meats and fish from sustainable sources. Our menus include vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free options.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautifully presented!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

On a recent boat charter on Catalina Island for a family reunion, our food was provided by Zest Catering. Starting with delicious fresh fruit and then an amazing lunch of salads, grilled vegetables, chicken and beef skewers and yummy chocolate torts for dessert, everything was tasty and was beautifully prepared and presented. I also appreciated that they used sturdy, attractive, compostable plates! I would highly recommend this company!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chef Kathleen is the very best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Always a pleasure and a treat enjoying chef Kathleen's cuisine. Never a disappointment! Had the halibut from the Asian inspired menu and it was incredible. The mussels were cooked to perfection, and fresh squeezed lemmonade was delicious. Nothing but the best quality, and always something new and creative with every menu. The staff there is wonderful as well, can't beat it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and great staff..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited the "M" twice over 4th of July weekend. They offered a special drink and dinner menu for the weekend and we were so impressed the first night that we made reservations for the following evening. It was obvious from the menu that the chef put a great deal of thought into the flavor profiles of each dish. Nothing overly exotic...unless you consider quail or buffalo exotic, of course.. To me it was just perfect, elegantly prepared, comfort food. Before we ordered we literally studied each dish as they came out of the kitchen. The presentation of the food was beautiful, portion size generous, and prices reasonable. The wait-staff was great, knew the menu, and was very attentive. A portion of the sales from the special drink menu was being donated to the Wounded Warrior Project which really touched me as well. I'll be returning to Catalina in September and can't wait to see what's on the menu!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exciting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Others in my party were very disappointed. My husband ordered the burger medium and it came back well done (two times). Two others had the salmon burger and salad (both thought it was average at best). The chef/owner did come out and apologize, took it off the bill and gave us a dessert of his choosing, so he chose the espresso brownie w/ ice cream. All that had it thought Outback's was better.
I don't know why they were so hard to please, but my beef broquettes were AMAZING! The menu was exciting and creative too. She changes it up and has a theme each weekend. I know I'll be going back when I return to Catalina. The others just don't know how to order ;).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen V, Owner at M Restaurant by Zest Catering & Events, Inc., responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Niman Ranch Beef Brochettes! We too were disappointed that your husband was not happy with how his hamburgers were cooked.

When he informed the server that his burger was overcooked, our kitchen staff was also concerned so we cut the burger in half, it was still pink throughout. Based on our restaurant standards it was cooked to medium.

We understand that people have varying opinions on meat temperatures. Since our grass-fed beef patties are shaped by hand, it is possible that the edges are slightly thinner than the center and may cook a bit faster.

We always look for opportunities to improve the quality of our food and service. We have talked with our staff about how they should have asked questions to more clearly understand your husband expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Enjoyed a delicious meal on the patio.

The food was exceptional.
Staff were extremely personable, helpful and genuinely seemed to enjoy working there.

The only downsides were that the portions weren't massive. This wasn't a big deal as normally we find that restaurant portions are too big, so they suited us just fine (we had a starter to share).

There was just enough selection on the menu, although with the descriptions it was a little tricky to understand exactly what you would be served but the food did not fail to disappoint.

The cocktail menu was slightly limited although there was an excellent selection of beers and wines.

Our toddler was made to feel extremely welcome for the evening service and was given his own muse, plate and cutlery, even though he was only getting food from our plates (and not the children's menu, which incidentally looked to be very good).

I would visit this restaurant again and recommend other travellers to definitely eat here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Restaurant by Zest Catering & Events, Inc. also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to M Restaurant by Zest Catering & Events, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Restaurant by Zest Catering & Events, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.