We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mac Rae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mac Rae
Save
You added Hotel Mac Rae to your Saves list
409 Crescent Ave., PO Box 246, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Beverly Hills, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So cute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I loved this hotel! They are certainly the best deal in town. Their location is EXCEPTIONAL-literally ON the beach and attached to all the restaurants and shops you could want! Now, don't go expecting all modern and 4-star amenities-this is an old-fashioned, quirky little inn. The entrance looks like Pirates of the Caribbean at Disneyland, and the rooms are cute and quaint. The skylights in the bathroom are really cool. Everything was clean and lovely. They give you huge beach towels and DVDs...but plan on buying breakfast, as the one that's included is literally coffee and a plastic container of mini muffins :P But overall I highly recommend this hotel for its convenient location and old-town feel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    18
    5
    9
See reviews for
21
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is a "no frills" hotel in a great location that's easy on your wallet. The courtyard is very relaxing and the morning coffee is good. The only drawback is the stairs. A plus that not everyone cares about is the brightness of the bathroom-----great for applying makeup!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean. A little more expensive, but the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My husband and I spent our 1 year anniversary in Catalina and booked the Mac Rae for 2 nights stay. It was among the cheaper hotels in the area but we didn’t expect to stay in the room very often so we booked it. The room was not bad but I prefer a tad bit more amenities. The room was clean and decent but lacked the usual coffee maker, closet, list of things to do, places to eat, etc. The bed, to my standards, was good, but I prefer the firmer type-bed anyway. The continental breakfast was not a breakfast at all. It consisted of mini-muffins, OJ, and coffee, nothing more. If you want a real breakfast, you may want to go somewhere else. On the plus side, it was in the middle of everything and either way you go, you’ll have access to all the main stores and beaches/pier. I did, however notice that there is a bar/restaurant next door, so if you get the rooms towards the ocean, you may hear the bar scene all night. We did not get those rooms but we still heard it in the courtyard until well after 1:00 am.
Overall, this hotel was acceptable but has its negatives, as mentioned above. If you don’t expect to be in the room often, don’t expect many amenities, and just want a basic hotel/room, then this will be fine for you. Luxury is not an option here but it’s a good place to lay your head down.

Room Tip: Ocean view may not be as cracked-up as it sounds. Loud bar-hopping sounds MAY be a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

A group of us stayed in September for a birthday celebration, we picked Hotel Mac Rae since it was one of few hotels that offered one-night bookings. Everyone loved the location; within walking distance of everything on the main side of the island. The courtyard was a perfect gathering place; we even managed to play few rounds of flip cup there with other guests of the hotel. Having booked 6 rooms between the group of us, I have the benefit of having previewed more rooms than the average hotel guest. All of the rooms felt very drab, dated, dusty and small. I realize you do not go to Catalina to stay at hip, modern hotels but I seriously doubt the owners have purchased new bedding or décor in the past 20+ years. None of our rooms were lacking in the dusty rubber plant department, the beds and pillows were all hard and uncomfortable, the walls were paper thin and the bathrooms seemed to come straight out of a standard tract home from the 80s (and used every day since). All of which are not serious offenses, (I’ve stayed in plenty of European hotels that were much worse) but when I pair that with the fact that we each paid $238+ for one night, I can’t help but feel slightly disturbed and a bit cheated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here last month. It is the first time we have stayed at a hotelright on Front street. It was very clean, close to everything and I loved the little court yard in the center. The court yard is quiet and a great place to have your morning coffee and an afternoon bottle of wine. We also took a look at the ocean view rooms that go on sale in November for $69 a night. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Did the research, Hotel Mac Rae had the best rates. Didn't know what to expect, since the room was so inexpensive, I thought there must be a catch. Finding the hotel was no problem since it's right in the middle of the main drag along the beach. A nice, well lit stairway led us up to a courtyard and the front desk. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was PERFECT. Small, yes. But very clean and comfortable and safe. Great lighting, not dark and dreary like some hotels. New fixtures in the bathroom. Very quaint. Lots of character. Turned out there was no catch after all, just a great deal and a pleasant time. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I took my wife and 10 year old son here for a one night stay in mid july. We did not go to catalina island expecting a 5 star hotel, we wanted a clean comfortable room close to the beach for a competitive price. This hotel was perfect, The property was clean and well maintained, the room was very clean and just right for what we needed. We loved the location and the staff was awesome and very helpful. In fact they shipped an inexpensive item to us that we left in the room without even asking if we wanted them to or not. if you are in catalina to experience the island and not sit in a room, this is a great place. If you expect extras and ammenities you'd better look elsewhere. We will stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mac Rae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Rae

Address: 409 Crescent Ave., PO Box 246, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4th generation Mac Rae family invites you to our centrally located beachfront hotel. Our hotel features panoramic ocean view rooms, continental breakfast, an open-air courtyard, complimentary beach towels and DVDs, after check-out shower facilities and luggage storage. All rooms are non-smoking and offer air conditioning, wireless internet, cable TV/DVD, and hair dryers. Come and enjoy our relaxing, quaint Mediterranean atmosphere right on the beach, in the very heart of Avalon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mac Rae Hotel
Mac Rae Avalon
Hotel Mac Rae Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mac Rae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.