We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Monica, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good price, good place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

If you're looking for a higher-end stay at a good price (romantic especially) in a great location. Yes, the rooms are very small but you shouldn't be spending all day in your room anyway on Catalina. That said, the room (standard, non-oceanview) was very comfortable, very clean, typical nice stuff in the bathrooms (nice soaps, modern design, etc. but again very small) and the inroom DVD player and flatscreen TV with cable was a big plus. Easy walking distance to the main street & beach/harbor but far enough away to avoid the noise (make sure you close your windows if you're on streetview and want to avoid hearing the occasional and surprisingly loud golf carts drive by, don't worry the rooms have full climate control). The breakfast was good, nothing crazy but certainly good and satisfying. Staff was friendly. The upper deck is great with great views and comfortable furniture although gets very hot of course in the day and there aren't many umbrellas.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    48
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
119
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

This is a great, new hotel in Avalon. Everything else in Avalon seems cheesy or dated. This is very modern with a wonderful roof top deck looking out over Avalon Harbor.

The only downside was our room was tiny. It was the size of our hotel room at the W in NYC. They do make great use of the tiny space though.

  • Liked — Modern Rooms
  • Disliked — Small Rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We went to Catalina for the day and ended up deciding to stay here at the Aurora Hotel. It really is a perfect place to stay at. The rooms were amazing. BED WAS VERY COMFORTABLE. We had a ocean view room. Room 213. There is powercords in the middle of the view. But it was still amzing and very enjoyable. If that would really bug you, i would recommend you ask for the next floor up. They have a awesome upstairs to sit and lay and watch the ocean. Very romantic. They also had a contential breakfast. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful! Very clean hotel and I would RECOMMEND this hotel to everyone.

The pictures are exactly what you get.

  • Liked — the room and view of ocean
  • Disliked — nothing it was perfect
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

The Aurora is unique, modern, and fun! We stayed for three nights in the junior suite which had two large windows with views of Avalon Harbor, a jacuzzi tub, a large pull out flat screen TV, a king size tempurpedic bed, and all the bells and whistles you would expect from a nice property such as this one. They thought of everything when it comes to the comfort and beauty of this wonderful hotel. We slept on average of 9 hours a night. The room was quiet and the bed was perfect! The staff was very accomodating and always had a smile and friendly greeting. Make sure to check out this property next time you come to Catalina.

  • Liked — cleanliness, friendliness, location, great vision of a modern hotel or B&B in Avalon.
  • Disliked — That we had to go home and couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Right from the start I could tell that this was an awesome hotel. Everything flows. The colors used, the furniture, the art...it all fit together to give it a perfect oceanic feel. The receptionist walked me straight to my door and I felt very welcomed. The room also matched the overall feel of the hotel and everything from the fabrics to the fixtures was so modern and hip. I loved it. They have an outside patio that was a really great place to chill. Even the robes at this hotel are the best! The room I was in had a balcony with a view of the bay and it was so gorgeous watching the sun come up the next morning. They even had a really great selection for their continental breakfast. They had everything you could think of. Anyone would be satisfied. This hotel is perfection. The staff is the best. I definately recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The comfort!
  • Disliked — That I had to leave!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

The Aurora was one of the most magnificent hotels i have EVER stayed at. The rooms were amazing from the flat screen TV's to the most comfortable bath robes. This hotel is definitely one of the best on the island, i would recommend any one to stay at this one of a kind hip and modern hotel.
The customer service was amazing and all the employees had a smile on their face when they greeted me.
No complaints at all this hotel is amazing!!!!!

  • Liked — Bath Robes!
  • Disliked — The Uphill Walk
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Great new hotel in Catalina, was able to get a last min reservation and they were nice enough to not require a 2 night stay.

Its on the far side of the main downtown strip about block up, but was a very easy walk with our luggage. The block uphill is a little bit of a workout but nothing that bad. If you got large heavy bags that don't roll i would recommend a taxi.

Very close to everything you would want to be too, plus by being slightly up the hill there is not a lot of night time noise.

The basic rooms are on the smaller size but that isn't too surprising for the island. They gave us a tour of the larger suits which are very very nice if one wants to splurge. All the rooms are very modern and very nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable, lines very soft, and loved the bath products. Bathroom is small and only had a shower, no tub, the larger suits have tubes, but again not a huge issue. bathroom was very nice overall.

Bottle water was free, and they had a small snack area in the lobby.

Did not get a chance to see the roof top deck.

This place is only a month or 2 old, so try to visit it before others find out about it. Price was cheaper then many other hotels that i had called.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aurora Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, introduces modern design to Catalina Island, embracing guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.