We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Not Outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aurora Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel But Not Outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Overall hotel is nice but I'd probably book somewhere else if I return. Pros and cons are as follows:

Pros - very nice decor, incredibly comfortable mattress, free food and beverages available throughout the day, nice rooftop lounge area, Keurig coffee pods.

Cons - rooms are small (especially bathrooms), rarely ever able to get hot water, non-ocean view rooms overlook a dirt path/alley - not much privacy, hotel near top of a hill so quite a walk to get to if not driving, walls are paper thin.

I was really surprised to hear my neighbors entire phone conversation. The hotel isn't bad it's just not great.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the décor, our comfortable beds and other unique amenities. I’m so sorry to hear, however, that your experience at the Aurora did not exceed your expectations. Like many things on an island, our standard rooms may be smaller than hotel rooms in other areas. We are sorry to hear about the water situation and your loud neighbors. If you had brought these concerns to our attention when you were on site we could have addressed them, however since we have been unable to replicate the lack of hot water we have to believe this was an anomaly. We hope that you will give the island another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    48
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
119
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked this hotel for September 16th to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. It was a trip we had looked forward to for months and were looking forward to a romantic weekend get away and stay at this beautiful hotel. Then the unexpected happened - we found ourselves in the ER on Labor Day and Emergency surgery for my boyfriend. :-( Doctor said we can expect a 30-45 day recovery - and NO, no Catalina trip. I contacted the hotel today and spoke to Dianna - though she felt bad for us she must charge us a cancellation fee!! We had hoped to rebook for my birthday - not now. My bedridden boyfriend is livid that at 11 days out and under the circustances, they would charge us like this. We are on a fixed income so we don't book our trips on a whim. Really disappointed in their customer service policies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I’m so sorry that you and your boyfriend’s trip had to be cancelled. Emergency medical situations are always a difficult and emotional time and we are very sorry the two of you had to experience that. Although our policies are clearly described both on the web and via phone, we waived the majority of our cancellation fee due to the circumstances surrounding your cancellation. As Diana explained to you on the phone, we only assessed a nominal charge to cover our processing fees. Once again we’re very sorry you had to cancel your trip and we hope your boyfriend has a complete recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have to say that I booked this place for my girlfriends 30th birthday and would not have without the help from the other review on Trip Advisor.

I booked online from there website and decided on the bay view room, #213 to be exact. The called me the following morning to discuss the package (room, ferry and taxi) that I bought. They were very courteous on the phone and even did a follow up to make sure that everything was in order.

I need to point out though that google maps puts the hotel right at the ferry landing, which it is not. It turned out to be a very fortunate thing as there is not much right at the landing.

The room itself was a little small, but very cute. We had no problems with noise from the street traffic, but we are heavy sleepers while on vacation. The view was of the bay and was great. there is a house in front of the window, but didn't obstruct much. The price was great for the time of year and the view, in my opinion. The only downfall that i can see is that it is on a pretty steep hill (not that steep if your from San Francisco) but not enough to deter people away from the stay there.

Upon check out, we stored our bags at the front desk and ventured around Avalon some more. The gentleman who helped us on check out, James Blunt (like the singer), I feel deserves a mention as he was extremely friendly and genuinely cared how our stay was.

Overall a very positive experience and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 213 was ours (bay view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Glad to hear you had a great trip for your girlfriend's birthday and enjoyed your stay. Thanks for letting us know about James, we'll make sure and let him know he made a difference. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Great staff, service, location. Beautifully and tastefully designed. Very well appointed, great mattress, linen and towels. Lovely continental breakfast. Our favorite from now on for our Catalina trips.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We're honored to be your favorite and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to submit a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Friendly staff, convenient location, clean rooms, and breathtaking views make the Auroura a great place to stay. We stayed in a partial ocean view room and couldn't believe how good the view turned out. We had a great view of the harbor from our room plus could go to the rooftop deck and relax while looking out over Avalon. Definitely would stay there again if we are able to make it back to Vatalina Island.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Rooms were nice and so were clean and modern. Rooms were small but had amenities such as fridge and microwave and a Kurig coffee maker. We stayed in room 313 and the view was incredible as well as the view from roof top deck. There is a Von's within walking distance. Go buy your drink of choice and appetizer and enjoy the view! We got a package that included a couples massage, it was wonderful!

Room Tip: Pillows were not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel is clean and up to date. However, be advised THE WALLS ARE VERY THIN. During my stay I heard other guests talking on the phone, taking showers, and even going to the bathroom (kinda gross). Also, be advised there is no elevator, so pack light if you're on the 3rd floor. Additionally, the rooms are extremely small, about the size of an inside state room on a cruise ship. Take advantage of the sun deck.. the view is beautiful!

On a more positive note; The staff here is professional, kind and helpful, and the breakfast is clean and fresh.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aurora Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, introduces modern design to Catalina Island, embracing guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.