We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank God for this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co.

Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co.
205 Crescent Ave, P.O. Box 306, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
+1 310-510-2447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Description: Open at 5 am daily, we offer the best gourmet coffee and tea selection in Avalon! Espresso, Latte, Cappuccino,Ice Blended Drinks, Smoothies, Pastries, Homemade Cookies and more! Avalon's only Fresh Fruit Fro-Yo Bar and Hot Breakfast served daily. Our closing hours vary daily between 8pm and 11pm seasonally.
California Cilty
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thank God for this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I'm an early riser and Catalina isn’t except for this place, great coffee nice friendly people and the cookies are amazing too! This placed saved me until we could go get breakfast :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaCoffee C, Owner at Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co., responded to this review, November 7, 2013
This place is for the early riser since we are open daily at 5 am! We are happy to tide you over until everyone else is up to have a full sit down breakfast :-) Come see us again next time you are on the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    20
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“love the mocha, not the chocolate, pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Not sure what the hoopla is all about. Being a big dessert person, I was really looking forward to their selection, but this place is pricey. Your average cookie is 2$ & 3.75 for a rice krispy treat!!!

I dont mind paying the price for some good stuff ,I have paid $$$ for some good choc. And I love dark choc. But the dark choc pistachio bark just didnt do it for me, the choc by itself was ok, a tad salty (which sometimes works),but it just wasnt worth it. BTW its 6$ for .25lb which is the min quantity you need to buy, I wish i couldve tasted it before buying it.

the Best thing that happened to us was the hot mocha which was divine. Its one of the best mocha's that we have ever had, just right touch of sweetness and creaminess and coconess.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaCoffee C, Manager at Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co., responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We're so happy you enjoyed the mocha - your description was great!

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the dark chocolate pistachio bark as much - it is saltier than traditional chocolate as the pistrachios add some salt to the flavor.

Our goal is to provide the best possible product for the lowest possible price. We try to keep costs down as much as possible, however we do live on an island and all of our ingredients for our baked goods do have to get shipped over. We will continue to do our best to provide proper pricing for the size and value of our baked goods to the best of our ability while working with our shipping vendors and their costs and fuel surcharges.

We hope that you will consider trying some of our baked goods the next time you are in the shop.

Thank you again for your review.

The Staff of the Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little cafe with great baristas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I came here on a family vacation on a cruz and the lady who made my cafe mocha was adorable and made a beautiful little heart in my cup... it is sometimes my screensaver. She was able to give me a taste of some great coffee as well as the great hospitality that Catalina has to offer!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaCoffee C, Owner at Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co., responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are so glad to hear you had a great experience with us! We hope you will come back and see us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the best place to grab a quick bite early in the morning...the only place that is open really! Great if you want to grab the sunrise.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaCoffee C, Owner at Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co., responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We agree :-) Glad to get your day started just right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Coffee House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent coffee, the baristas were knowledgeable and competent. We would recommend this coffee house to all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaCoffee C, Owner at Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co., responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the kind review!

We will pass on your compliments to our baristas. Thank you for choosing to visit us.

The Staff of the Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co. also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Coffee & Cookie Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.