We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Catalina Beach House to your Saves list
Catalina Beach House
200 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to get cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We arrived on a Wednesday it was peaceful & quiet part of town. Room was ready & well equipped with microwave, kitchenette, Jacuzzi tub & dishes. That way you can walk down to the store & prepare meals instead of having to eat out the entire time you're there. We stayed 3 nights & had no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    22
    14
    16
See reviews for
22
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

As Eva M says, very nice and quaint. Nothing fancy, but full kitchenettes. New flat screen TVs, free WiFi. I did not think it was dirty. I think it may have improved since others stayed there because there have been upgrades--TV, stove, refrigerator. Nice deck to BBQ and hang out. Excellent staff who were very helpful. Room was ready early (when we got there). Shuttle service from their sister hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Catalina Beach House. It has a cottage like feeling and is very quiet and quaint, just up the hill from the activity. It has a beautifu view of Catalina from the patio that everyone can share, just steps from your room. It has a nice table for two and a lovely bench swing and a barbecue area where you can gather with friends and barbecue if you'd like. The rooms were recently remodelled so everything looks nice and new and the bed was wonderful! It's also very affordable compared to other hotels in the area and the staff is very pleasant and accomodating. I would definitely stay there again!

Eva

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in a Jr. suite and it was just perfect with a kitchenette and a jacuzzi t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is in a great location that gives you a great view of Avalon on a nice deck. Here is the negative of this place. The rooms have gotta be the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. Its small for one person at best. Not to mention the TVs are 19" from late 80's early 90's. The rooms need to be cleaned a lot better. The place has potential just really needs a makeover and better maintenance.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is big enough to walk around in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermosaHotel, Director of Sales at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience. The rooms in Avalon, in general, are small, as our town in just over two miles large and space is limited. It sounds like you must have booked one of our Value or Standard rooms, which are our smallest. Next time perhaps try one of the Preferred or Mini-suite rooms, which have more space and more amenities and are still some of the lowest prices on the island. I appreciate the comment on housekeeping and will be following up to alert our housekeeping manager. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Signed up with a package deal which included several things to do but will stick to the room and staff for the review. The staff serves The Beach House, and the Hermosa Hotel and as for our interactions with the staff they were great and in fairness we did not complain about the items I will be listing because we got what we paid for. Now the room; we were upgraded because of off season to a room with a kitchenette and a king bed. The room although clean had more stuff placed in it than could fit the room. Others talk about the steep walk up hill which we did not find that bad. Everything was old which was to be expected but it did not look to be well maintained. The freezer in the small refrigerator was frozen over and the cook top was loose so cooking breakfast as we did each morning had to be done with care. Others mentioned the BBQ being in bad shape and it was but still worked, The bed was comfortable but flannel sheets in the summer really. The worst part of the room which I can not get beyond is the 1 hour timer on the air conditioner and in early September we needed air to be able to sleep, consequently I woke up every 2 hours to turn the dial due to the heat. In conclusion if you are there when it is cold enough to keep the windows open you might be ok but we would recommend you look else where.

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The pictures are deceiving. The size of the room we had with one standard and one king bed and a kitchenette and bathroom with only a stand up shower was smaller than my children's bedroom at home. We could have got over the size had it been clean or safe. My three year old cut her leg on the toilet seat when it slid off underneath her. The black mold growing in the shower was gross. The screens and window sills were so dirty that when my two year old leaned against it and then laid back down on the white sheets there were black marks left on the sheets and his forehead. There was something undescribable stuck in the carpet near the restroom door. On our second day after the cleaning person had left, the drawer in the kitchenette was filled with water which accentuated how much dirt and debris was built up in the drawer. There was a huge spider that came running down that wall the first night we were there and there were roaches on the patio in the evening.
Oh my...not to forget one seriously disgusting aspect...there is a luggage room at the Hermosa down the hill...when we arrived there was a dirty diaper on the floor, when we left three days later that same dirty diaper was still there.
The desk staff was great. They were all helpful and very nice. The hotel was disgusting and for what I paid...even with a 25% discount, I will never stay there again, even with their offer of a free upgrade to a suite (a room with more space to be dirty). I would not recommend this place to ANYONE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family and I recently visited “Catalina Beach House”, we spent 5 nights in rooms 10 and 11, they were located down a flight of stairs in the back of the building. It was what we expected, an older place with small rooms, small bathrooms and little kitchen areas with Clean plates, cups and silverware. TV was very nice, flat screen, didn't watch it much but it was nice. The patio areas were nice, grill was a little to “used” for my liking but worked. The Wifi, it was okay for most of the time, it worked best in the patio areas, from our rooms it was sketchy at best, no big deal we weren’t there to surf the internet but checking mail was important. I have an iPhone and hopping on the net with ATT was fast. Night time was quiet.

The hill wasn’t to bad, it will get your heart rate up for 30 seconds but it’s really a short walk.

The staff was great! They picked us up at the dock when we arrived and dropped us off for departure. We needed some extra towels and pillows after normal hours, called the # and within minutes we had what we were after. The maids were usually around if we needed anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermosaHotel, Owner at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you, we're delighted you enjoyed your time on the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Beach House

Address: 200 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Beach House Hotel Avalon
Catalina Beach Hotel
Catalina Beach Avalon
Catalina Beach House Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.