We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place for a decent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Catalina Beach House to your Saves list
Catalina Beach House
200 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent place for a decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Catalina Beach House last June. This hotel is not fancy, but has a very cozy patio with a barbeque grill and a glimpse of an ocean. We were lucky to be all by ourselves on a patio one night and enjoyed a very romantic sunset in quiet privacy. This hotel has amazingly comfortable beds with heaven-like mattresses and pillows. We never slept so well at any hotel before! Another bonus was a bath tub with jets in every room. It was nice to relax in a massaging Jacuzzi tub after a long active day on the island. All of the mentioned features, plus a very friendly hotel staff, made our stay even more enjoyable! We’re looking forward to go there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    23
    14
    18
See reviews for
22
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

if your looking for luxury accommodations this is not for you. If your an adventurer, like it simple, don't mind walking up a hill to get to the hotel, & like inexpensive rooms, then this is the place for you. I always stay here when i visit Avalon because I don't spend much time in my hotel room when i'm there anyways except to sleep & shower. You can do both of those things comfortably. Its quiet, the staff is helpful/super nice, its quant, clean, & affordable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

It was our second time staying at the hotel. We found it to be a complete disappointment. The cost was not worth it. On our arrival there was no one to greet you and there was breifly office hotel personnel for the three days of our stay. Our shower had mold in the grout and the maid refused to clean it. In the next room was a bachelor party that came back to the hotel and woke us up at 2:30am to continue with their party. The room definitely needed new mattress's,sheets and comforters. I give the hotel two stars because I feel the office staff are friendly and were trying to be helpful. I now regret recommending this hotel to people I met on the Catalina Express.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The staff here is one of the friendliest I have ever encountered. Very helpful and accommodating! We chose the place because it had a kitchenette, but to be honest, the room was so small that we never used it! Our friends booked one of the suites and that room was perfect (although obviously more expensive!) Next time we go back I will splurge on the suite. It is located up a hill, so we did get a great workout every time we went back to the hotel, but of you have no interest in that, this is not the place for you. We happen to be there on the hottest weekend of the year, which meant getting up every hour or so at night to turn the AC back on, but I am sure typically you do not need it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The staff was nice, no doubt about it. But the room was very expensive (175 p/ night). It was a very small room (no issue there), but really dirty. The carpet stunk, the bathroom smelled like a bathroom and the mattress was dirty.


I would expect to pay far less for such a place and recommend to any interested visitors that they search hard elsewhere before they book here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a package offered through a "groupon" type deal. It included 2 nights at the hotel, 2 round trip tickets on the ferry to/from Catalina, 2 hour bike rental for 2 people, 2 Casino Museum tickets, and 2 tickets to the Botanical Garden/Wrigley Memorial. It was a great value, and we used everything in our package. Our room was right off the patio, with a small kitchenette and a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows left much to be desired and should be replaced. The decor is dated, but everything was clean and overall the hotel is a terrific value. Scotty and Chris (staff) were extremely friendly, helpful and accomodating. And yes, the hotel is up a short, fairly steep hill, but we just considered it part of our daily exercise. Definitely would stay here again for the value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, Calif
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I searched for months to find a place to go with my husband for our 36th anniversary.I picked the Catalina Beach House because it had a little kitchenette and jaccuzzi tub, nice views,has a very nice patio with a bbq to use. It is walking distance to main street. Also when I called to reserve a room I got a great package with ferry for 2 and some tours. Staff (Scotty) was super friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again as we enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Beach House

Address: 200 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Catalina Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Beach House Hotel Avalon
Catalina Beach Hotel
Catalina Beach Avalon
Catalina Beach House Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.