We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but would suggest an upgrade!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Boat House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Catalina Boat House to your Saves list
Catalina Boat House
200 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Catalina Beach House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not bad, but would suggest an upgrade!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The staff here is one of the friendliest I have ever encountered. Very helpful and accommodating! We chose the place because it had a kitchenette, but to be honest, the room was so small that we never used it! Our friends booked one of the suites and that room was perfect (although obviously more expensive!) Next time we go back I will splurge on the suite. It is located up a hill, so we did get a great workout every time we went back to the hotel, but of you have no interest in that, this is not the place for you. We happen to be there on the hottest weekend of the year, which meant getting up every hour or so at night to turn the AC back on, but I am sure typically you do not need it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    23
    16
    18
See reviews for
22
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The staff was nice, no doubt about it. But the room was very expensive (175 p/ night). It was a very small room (no issue there), but really dirty. The carpet stunk, the bathroom smelled like a bathroom and the mattress was dirty.


I would expect to pay far less for such a place and recommend to any interested visitors that they search hard elsewhere before they book here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a package offered through a "groupon" type deal. It included 2 nights at the hotel, 2 round trip tickets on the ferry to/from Catalina, 2 hour bike rental for 2 people, 2 Casino Museum tickets, and 2 tickets to the Botanical Garden/Wrigley Memorial. It was a great value, and we used everything in our package. Our room was right off the patio, with a small kitchenette and a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows left much to be desired and should be replaced. The decor is dated, but everything was clean and overall the hotel is a terrific value. Scotty and Chris (staff) were extremely friendly, helpful and accomodating. And yes, the hotel is up a short, fairly steep hill, but we just considered it part of our daily exercise. Definitely would stay here again for the value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, Calif
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I searched for months to find a place to go with my husband for our 36th anniversary.I picked the Catalina Beach House because it had a little kitchenette and jaccuzzi tub, nice views,has a very nice patio with a bbq to use. It is walking distance to main street. Also when I called to reserve a room I got a great package with ferry for 2 and some tours. Staff (Scotty) was super friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again as we enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

As long as you don't expect luxury accommodations, this is THE place. Nice views, great patio with bbq. We had a decent-sized room with a little kitchenette and jaccuzzi tub. The decor is atrocious, but the beds were like pillowy clouds of goodness. Staff (Scotty) was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My boyfriend took me to Catalina Island for our 2 year anniversary. He got a "package" deal online which included 2 nights at the Catalina Beach House for 2 people, 2 round trip tickets on the ferry, 2 hour bike rental for 2 people, 2 Casino Museum tickets, and 2 Botanical Garden tickets. We used everything in the package over our stay. The Catalina Beach House is a short walk from the ferry landing. It is a short distance up a hill, but you can arrange transportation if necessary. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Scotty provided a lot of insight to local attractions and restaurants. We stayed in the only room with a view of the water. The room was very "mom and pop" style which included a king bed, stove top for cooking, a microwave, and a jacuzzi tub. Nothing fancy, but not necessary when you are only in the room for a short amount of time. We had 2 private lounge chairs on our deck and a private table which we used to eat breakfast each morning. It was a very pleasant experience. Scotty made us feel very welcome and because of him we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Got a good deal online for 3 nights in Catalina at the Beach house and included 2 return tickets on the ferry, 2 two hour bike rental, 2 Casino Museum Entrance Tickets , 2 Botanical Garden Tickets.

I was expecting someone to pick us up at the boat from previous reviews, but no one was there so we had to walk it to the Beach House. Not a big deal, we'd be doing a lot of walking anyways. The place was very clean and well kept. Just the furniture was a bit dated. We got the preferred room which had a queen size bed and a twin, along with a gas mini-stove, bar fridge, microwave and sink. Flat screen TV was also in the room. Decor and bedding were a bit dated, but clean. Bathroom had a nice size tub.

Here's the run down (please keep in mind I have nothing to compare this place to in Catalina as it was our first time there):

The Good:
- Great package that included a lot of activites in the price
- Nicely kept property and rooms
- Staff was accomodating to requests and very friendly
- Common area/patio with barbeques
- In-room free wireless internet

The not so good:
- Location: It's located up a hill with a fairly steep grade so if you less than fully fit, you'll tire going up.
- Lack of on-site staff: Most (if not all) of the staff are usually at the sister hotel (The Hermosa Hotel). I had to call the sister hotel if I needed anything ... including checking in. Usually the wait is 15 minutes, but took more than an hour to get an iron.
- Ironing boards are in the room, but no irons ... but hey, your on the island who cares about ironing! (Unfortunately I do for those dress up dinners).
- Paper thin walls ... I could hear the conversation in the next room over, even when they were whispering to each other.
- No in-room phones ... good thing I had my cell otherwise it would have been a pain to try to call the staff for things.
- Lack of ventilation in the rooms ... it was stuffy and since it was cold outside when we visited, we couldn't keep the windows open. Not even the bathroom had a fan to move the air.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Boat House

Address: 200 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Catalina Beach House)
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Catalina Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Beach House Hotel Avalon
Catalina Beach Hotel
Catalina Beach Avalon
Catalina Boat House Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Boat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.