We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doug Marshall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Save
You added Snug Harbor Inn to your Saves list
108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Favorites!
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Doug Marshall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Snug Harbor was the most hospitable, friendly,The bed and blankets you just sunk into the mattress. I will recommend Snug Harbor to my associates.

They bring in brekfast every morning with a fresh hot loaf bread. 1 morning they brought in Bannana Bread my wife is allergic to Bannannas. They went back and cooked her a new loaf of bread.

Room Tip: choose rooms with a view it's beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    38
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
216
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our 20th Anniversary. What a treat, windows open to hear the waves. Great room with fireplace, fabulous in room continental breakfast and great staff. Hotel location right on the water and near everything. Would highly recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We came to Catalina to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had champagne balloons and flowers in our room for our celebration. The view was fabulous, we stayed in the Santa Catalina room. loved the breakfast delivered to our room each morning and visiting with other guests at wine and cheese reception each evening. The staff was very helpful. Our only complaint was the noise due to nightclub across the street. I had to sleep with earplugs which wasn't fun, plus you could hear people talking outside at nite and again in the morning. so I didn 't feel rested after 4 days, and it wasn't the Jazz trax concerts we were there for that made me tired. I hope they put in better windows to cut the noise, then it would be perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Santa Catalina is largest room with views of ocean, windows on 2 sides of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We should have taken the first clue when we noticed earplugs and a sound machine on the table next to the bed. As it turns out the hotel is across the street from a nightclub and if you want to sleep prior to 1am good luck. Also trash pickup was at 7:45 each morning. Nice accommodations but horrible rest. Hotel should also serve something besides Gallo jug wine for their cocktail hour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

There is not one bad thing I can say about our stay here. Everything was so perfect! The location could not have been better, right in the middle if it all. We stayed in the Santa Catalina room, great room with a spectacular view. The little details were wonderful too! It was raining the first night we were there so we picked a couple movies from their up to date collection, turned our fireplace on and enjoyed the movie along with the complimentary bottle of champagne left in our room, because they new it was my husbands birthday! Another wonderful touch was the complimentary, in room breakfast that was so delicious! One more thing too add. Turn down service with chocolates in your room every evening.
No doubt my husband and I will be staying here for every future trip to Catalina!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This property will exceed your expectations. From great views to breakfast in your suite, you can't go wrong, Quiet, clean and beautifully decorated. Amenities galore in every suite. A quick walk from the ferry with restaurants and tours right out the door.
Enjoy the wine, chees and snacks at happy hour!

Room Tip: Go to Catalina for your birthday; almost every business will give you a freebie or a great discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is lovely, quaint and exceptional. We were given a complimentary upgrade to their corner room with a view of the ocean. It was clean, cool and comfortable. There are only 6 rooms in the hotel, with a nice lounge area where they have evening wine and appetizers and fresh coffee in the morning. In room breakfast is served at the time of your choosing, brought to you in a basket and set up by the staff. At night we slept with the windows open and were rocked to sleep by the sound of the waves. I have already made my reservation for next year! Thanks SHI for a wonderful stay in Catalina.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#9 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, Bose CD / Radio, telephone with voicemail, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, luxury bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach towels and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snug Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.