We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a mini getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Save
You added Snug Harbor Inn to your Saves list
108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Favorites!
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a mini getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for a night and thought Catalina would be a great spot. Snug Harbor Inn was perect for the night - we really felt like we were on vacation far away from LA. The staff and other guests were all super friendly. We'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: San Clemente is quaint with a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    38
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
216
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

First time on Catalina & I didn't know what to expect. We booked a little late so ended up paying a bit more and staying in the Saint Nicholas room (full ocean view). Room was a little compact but the room offered good amenities, jacuzzi tub, and outstanding view of the main street & beach. Nice chairs by the window were a perfect place to relax after a day of hiking or in between outings. Allowed us to be in the comfort of our room, but still feel 'part of' what was going on right outside.

Bed & pillows were better then average for hotels I've been at. The 'breakfast basket' was a great perk each morning - a good amount of food & a rather healthy option. Though there are some good breakfast places on the island so I'd suggest skipping it on one of your days and trying one of them out.

And service - all of the folks who worked here were warm, friendly & helpful. We went for my wife's birthday and they put balloons & wine in the room for us when we arrived - a nice surprise for her. On the way in & out they will hold your luggage for you all day so you can walk around town w/o your luggage while waiting to check-in or for your ferry to arrive.

Great place to stay & I'd definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay that really made our trip to Avalon the best! They have a birthday special that we were trying to get but realized as we booked that you had to arrive on your birthday which while we would be there for it did not arrive on the day. However, they did work with my husband and so I was surprised when we arrived to see birthday balloons and wine for us to enjoy. These little touches are what makes the difference! We were in the San Nicolas room and the second we walked in we were blown away by the views! There is a bay window and you can see the whole harbor from the Casino to where the ferry's drop you off. It was breathtaking. Then in the morning you are given breakfast in a basket, which they actually set up for us on our table. It was such a great way to start the day. Eating our granola and drinking our coffee and tea and we looked out along the harbor was just amazing. The decor was also just spectacular and I wish I could take it all home with my for my guest room! They also are very helpful in holding your bags when you arrive before check in and also held them after we checked out as we had a late ferry and let us use a bathroom when we returned to collect our bags to change in as we had just gone snorkeling! One other bonus is the jacuzzi tub which came in very handy after a long day hiking, coming back to that was pure joy!

This place just exceeded all expectations and it was all the little touches that added up to one amazing experience!

Room Tip: The San Nicolas Room has amazing views! It can get a bit noisy as the windows do open up to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Very nice place to stay. Cozy and relaxed atmosphere. Makes you feel at home but someone else is doing all the work :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Great location well decorated rooms nice staff. Only problem is when you fill out the time you want breakfast it should say between 8:30 and 9 because that's when it is delivered. By the way it is very tasty

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Snug Harbor Inn with my husband and 17 month old daughter! The hotel is quaint and has the feel of a B&B while still maintaining your privacy. We stayed for three days and didn't see any other guests, it felt like our very own home. The staff was tremendously sweet and helpful. Snacks at five were elegant and delicious, and they were more than willing to prepare extra of anything. Breakfast in bed arrived at the requested time with a friendly smile. It came in a giant picnic basket which could be set up if you so wished and smelled like freshly baked pastries which it held along with other delightful treats. We enjoyed our room so much we did dinner in the room twice and enjoyed the ocean view. It is located just above the drug store so sundries are only a staircase away to the right along with the pizzaria to the left. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Three rooms have an ocean view, check before you book as it is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I loved the location of the snug simply because after reading a few of the other hotel reviews in Avalon the golf cart noise sounded like an issue. But the location of the snug was nice since it was surrounded by walking only areas which was nice although I did not see what the big deal with the golf cart noise was, if you want silence go camping..I didn't get my breakfast because I wasn't told and forgot to fill out the paper for it. The only thing I didn't like about our stay was the fact the walls are a little to thin. I don't mind outside noise but when you can hear the people in the halls and rooms next to you, adds for awkward moments. But the room/service/comfort was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#9 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, Bose CD / Radio, telephone with voicemail, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, luxury bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach towels and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snug Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.