We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Positioned in Avalon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Save
You added Snug Harbor Inn to your Saves list
108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly Positioned in Avalon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

If you haven't been to Santa Catalina Island, you must do so. The Four Preps weren't kidding when they called it the "island of romance". Avalon is without a doubt the prettiest most easy going place we have visited in forty years of traveling. Though it's not for children (little to do for them), it is a couples paradise.

And right in the middle of it on the water is the Snug Harbor Inn, a six room quite elegant B&B where breakfast is served in your room and it is fantastic! The rooms have wonderful fireplaces for the winter traveler, and each room bears the name of one of the Channel Islands. We stayed in the Anacapa Room two nights and in the Santa Catalina for one night. They are both excellent, but the more expensive Santa Catalina is a corner room facing both the harbor and town and is worth every penny of the extra cost. You will see that there is no more centrally located hotel room in Avalon.

Go to the cab stand one block away and ask for #23 Jose. For less than $100 he will take you on a complete tour of Avalon and the surrounding hills; and he is an excellent tour guide. Great pictures.

Last, but particularly not least, the staff at the Snug Harbor offered the best service we have ever experienced anywhere, B&B or hotel. Way yo go Alex, Donna and Jesse! They will make you feel at home and help you in any way possible.

Room Tip: The Snug Harbor is all on the second floor and it is a walk up, no elevator; but the guys will be gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    40
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
238
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Snug Harbor Inn was perfect in every way--spit-shine clean rooms, high quality furniture and in-room entertainment, beautiful decorations, and impressive amenities and perks such as complimentary room-service breakfast and evening wine and cheese. Location in the heart of downtown right on the beach didn't hurt either. To top it off, I experienced the most impressive and courteous service from the staff I ever had at any hotel. For the price I paid, I would rate the hotel value a 10/10. I know where I'll be staying the next time my girlfriend and I go to Catalina!

Room Tip: The Santa Cruz room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Based on reviews I saw on Trip Advisor, I planned a 10-year anniversary weekend at Avalon and chose the Snug Harbor Inn for the lodging. We arrived after 8PM and checked in. Our room was comfortable, tastefully furnished and we were greeted by a bottle of champagne (as I mentioned this was a special occasion). Our room overlooked Sumner, but had an amazing view of the Avalon Casino. The amenities that were provided in the romantic island setting made for the perfect weekend, that really made us forget the workweek we finished. The staff was friendly adn their continental breakfast that included fresh baked breads, granola, yogurt, coffee and juice gave a great start to the day. There are six rooms and I understood all were occupied, but it was so quiet and relaxing, we felt we had the place to ourself.

Room Tip: All of the rooms include fireplace and jacuzzi bath, but for views, two rooms actually overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The experience was awesome. The room was very nice and set up for a very romantic experience. Enjoyed the whirlpool tub, the fireplace in the room and especially enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese and continental breakfast. The Inn made our brief stay on Catalina Island very special. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. If we ever make it back to Catalina Island will definately stay there again and will recommend it to anyone who goes to Catalina. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The Snug Harbor Inn seems to have thought of it all--there is too much to mention. The king-size beds are the most comfortable with goose feather pillows and comforter. The fireplace and jetted tub was our primary attraction, yet the continental breakfast and complimentary wine and cheese (four types of wine, crackers, dips, and grapes etc) added a really nice touch as well. The breakfast was delivered every morning on time. My wife and I could have probably enjoyed the entire stay locked up in the room without ever touring the island. It is centrally located and only has six rooms (maybe 8?), so it doesn't really matter what time of year you stay--a full house, which was the case even during our stay in the off-season, still felt like we almost had the entire place to ourselves. Very nice!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This charming hotel is located perfectly which enables guests to walk throughout the picturesque town easily. It's a 5 minute walk from the boat so one does not even need to taxi. The place is immaculate, staff professional and friendly. Lovely surprises await new guests! You'll love the attention to details.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here in early February - our second trip to Catalina. It's a second floor walk-up eight-room inn/B&B in an older building centrally located and just steps from the harbor, shops and restaurants. The staff were all welcoming and friendly. It's nicely done and in like-new condition. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit compact but decorated and furnished nicely. Each room has a gas fireplace, heat and A/C and the bathrooms have granite sink counters and oversized tubs with water jets. There's a small lounge where wine, cheese and other snacks are served daily at 5:00. Breakfast is pr-ordered the night before and served in your room at the time you select. We took advantage of the mid-week deal that includes two ferry tickets (worth $70 each) in the $170 room rate so the bill for two nights came to just under $400, which seemed very reasonable given the quality of the experience. I would reccomend and will probably repeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#15 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snug Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.