We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Save
You added Snug Harbor Inn to your Saves list
108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Favorites!
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Villa Park, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We took our family to Snug Harbor for the Friday after Thanksgiving. We had five of the six rooms. Every room was decorated really nice and had a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. The rooms were super clean and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Snug Harbor goes the extra mile with a cocktail and appetizer hour in the late afternoon and a wonderful in-room breakfast in the morning! They even have a coffee and tea station set up for early risers. Everyone we came in contact with, Juan, Alex and Jessie, were extremely helpful and friendly. We loved Snug Harbor!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    38
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
216
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escalon, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We went here to get away from it all and it was amazing. Donna and Alex both went out of there way to make us feel at home and pampered us with out question. We stayed in the Santa Barbara room and it was perfect for the two of us. The bed was comfortable and I slept good, I never sleep good. Waking up to coffee brewing was my personal thing I love to wake up early and enjoy my morning coffee and watch the world wake up. The breakfast kept us full most all day. The wine and cheese kept us from even wanting to eat dinner at night. We also met another guest Karen who was there and we became great friends. The trip was wonderful and we cannot wait to go back. There was too much to do on the island so we have to back again. We will stay here again it was so wroth it. Thank you Snug Harbor for making this a trip that I will brag about forever. I am so looking forward to going back to a place that made me feel special. Great job Donna and Alex!

Room Tip: The Santa Barbara was smaller but I liked the feel and I love the partial view of the ocean from my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our 1-year anniversary. More specifically, we stayed in the Anacapa room, and we absolutely LOVED IT!! It was clean, spacious, and wonderfully decorated with a nautical theme and colors. Breakfast was brought to us each morning in a basket and included more than you could ask for! Service was top of the line. Wine and cheese in the evening was a very nice perk. I would definitely stay here again if we go back to Avalon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I am a California native who had never been to Catalina Island. For my birthday in May I requested that my husband and I take a few days away to Catalina. What a treat! We looked for B and B's and found Snug Harbor Inn, From the start we felt very welcome and at home. There was an evening appetizer and wine gathering each night with some great choices. We met some very fun guests and enjoyed the snacks. In the mornings, delicious breakfasts were brought to our room. Boy, did I feel pampered! The location was perfect and centrally located. We enjoyed watching street performers nearby and strolling around the harbor. All of the staff members we encountered were friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We tend make reservations not too far in advance. For a choice of rooms, you might try booking fart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We arrived with anticipation to relax and take in the site. This B&B so cozy, that we did more relaxing than exploring. Its central location to shops and restaurants, outstanding staff, and the ever so good light morning meals, were even more encouraging to take it easy. Oh, did I fail to mention the 5 - 6 wine and cheese hour? It is a must for all the 'grown and sexy' folks who want to ditch the crowds.

Room Tip: We stayed in the St. Nicholas room for a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The location is primo on the island. We chose the middle of the week in the fall and it was lovely. The staff was as nice, friendly, and helpful as could be. The breakfast is brought to your room at whatever time you specify because there is not a large enough room to serve breakfast at tables. There is an intimate lounge where they serve wine and appetizers (yummy ones, too) in the eve and where you can chat with other guests. In the summertime and probably on busy week-ends, I'm sure it can get noisy because you are down among 'em in the heart of it all. That's why they furnish ear-plugs. The beds are wonderfully comfy. We had a room with bay windows, and the view is fabulous. It's so much fun watching the activity among the boats that are moored right i front of the B&B.

Room Tip: The two rooms with a bay window overlooking the main street are the best for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Snug Harbor Inn for a brief honeymoon after a big wedding celebration....exactly the right choice for a relaxed, slow-down couple of days. Our visit was exquisite - charmingly decorated room and bath, sumptous bed, great amenities, thoughtful staff, and lovely continental breakfast (fresh-out-of-oven banana nut bread to die for!). The location is ideal to the center of town, but somehow feels secluded and quiet. Could not recommend this more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#9 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, Bose CD / Radio, telephone with voicemail, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, luxury bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach towels and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snug Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.