We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atwater to your Saves list
Hotel Atwater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Midweek Escape Package
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Newbury Park, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just fine for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

We just spent one night at the Atwater, but I found nothing at all to complain about. If you want some nitpicking... the bathroom door handle only worked when turned to the left. How's that for nitpicking? The room was fine. Nicely painted, clean and quiet with an un-dramatic view, but we did pick one of the cheaper rooms on the third floor, (we could have been on the second floor for the same price) and there's no elevator. The staff was just fine. The beds and pillows were comfortable. No complaints! I'd go back, but for me Catalina is kind of a 'if you've seen it once...' kind of place.

  • Liked — Clean and simple- just what we wanted
  • Disliked — Some wouldn't like the stairs, but we all need exercise!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    139
    58
    21
    14
See reviews for
86
142
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

We stayed mid-week and chose this particular hotel for the accomodations they had for divers. We payed a little extra for the upgraded rooms with airconditioners. The hotel is very clean and the room was very nicely appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable, and I am a hard person to please that way. The room style reminded me of a cottage in the country until you looked out your window at the magnificent mountain view, felt the cool ocean breeze coming in through the window, and realized this is as close to a Hawaii experience as Californians can get. We really did not need the airconditioner because the sea breeze was always going. For some guests the stairs may be challenging as the hotel is multi-level and has no elevators. For divers, they had a rinse-off shower in the back and they stored all of our wet gear for us with speedy service. It is extremely close to Crescent Avenue and for the price, there is no need to pay so much extra at other hotels just to be on the main drag.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

Hotel Atwater suited our needs perfectly. The hotel is older and as such has a lot of character, which I appreciate. The location is extremely convenient and central to everything in Avalon. We stayed in a deluxe queen sized room on the third floor. I recommend upgrading to the deluxe rooms, as they are much nicer than the standard rooms. The deluxe rooms have wooden furniture, nice bedspreads and extras like a hair dryer. The room was a bit small, but the bed was comfortable, the bathroom and room were very clean and everything fit our needs just perfectly. The staff is friendly. Hotel Atwater is a great value on Catalina and we will definitely go back. Note: apparently no elevator, so be prepared to climb a few stairs.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

My wife and I just stayed here for 3 nights last weekend and were very happy with our choice. We stayed in a non-view room (hey, you're just there to sleep).

This is an older hotel which means no elevator, the rooms are fairly small, and they don't have some amenities (notably A/C and phone, for which a fan included in the room and our cell phones replaced just fine). But the room was clean and neat, the bed was very comfy, and the bathroom perfectly functional. The location was excellent, front desk staff very friendly and helpful, and the rates reasonable (at least for Catalina).

Our room was booked as a package deal through their website which included round trip ferry transportation and an undersea tour, which was a pretty good deal. The front desk staff is able to book tours through Discovery Tours, and you also get a "credit card" which can be used for free admission to Descanso Beach and to charge food/drinks/rentals there to your room. I thought that was a pretty cool feature.

If you're looking for fancy high end accomodations, this isn't the place for you, but for nice basic accomodations with a great location, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2006

We had originally been scheduled to stay at the Pavillion Lodge but it was not available until the second night of our stay, so we were to stay at the Atwater for our first night, then switch. The manager, Scott, gave us a suite for the same price of our double room at the Pavillion which was so much better for our family of five. We had the best location in the Plaza Suite with a view of Wrigley mansion and in the heart of Avalon. Mr. Pings Chinese restaurant is adjoining the lobby and has great food. Our stay was much quieter during the week. The party crowd moves in on the weekend and there is LOTS of drinking...we were awakened both Friday and Satuyrday by loud drunks shouting in the street.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2005

This hotel is nothing fancy, but it was only $100 or so a night.

The check in was fast and polite.
Room was clean and well maintained.

We were booked on the second floor and outside our window was the roof of a neighboring building (or our building - not sure). I would guess for safety reasons the windows would not open. Not very comfortable and stuffy.

I asked the front desk attendant if I could switch room and he happily moved us up to the 3rd floor. Windows opened and all was well.

One not of caution - If you're hauling your dive equipment remember they don't have an elevator so you'll have to drag your grear up the stairs.

Again, nothing fancy, but cheap rates and polite service.

We would stay again.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Atwater for a weekend. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is not a grand 5-star but by no means is it a dive either:)A nice and cozy room with basic amenities eg..coffee, fan, tv, walk in closet, iron+board..etc
Our luggage was transported back and forth from the boats. The dinner and lunch recommendations were great.
Overall we had a great time on the island and we were able to get a great room at a VERY REASONABLE price.
If you are looking to have a great time on your vacation but need an inexpensive lodging..go for ATWATER..!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#10 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Atwater 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.